Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/27 15:20:26
Subject: Stormraven Reserves Question
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
|
I am curious as to whether I can start a stormraven on the board rather than reserves. The rules for flyers say that it has to start in reserve. However, if i claim that the stormraven is in Hover mode, and hence treated as a fast skimmer, can I start it on the board?
Thanks in advance, and sorry if this is a duplicate post. Automatically Appended Next Post: sorry this should have been in you make da call.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/27 15:25:34
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/27 15:56:05
Subject: Stormraven Reserves Question
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
Fond du Lac, Wi
|
The problem is that even if you hover, you still are a flyer, you are not a fast skimmer, just treated exactly as one. There currently is no way to have a flyer start the game on the table.
|
“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe.”
-Einstein |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/27 16:48:35
Subject: Stormraven Reserves Question
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
|
Thanks for the answer. I was hoping it would go the other way, but flyers are flyers.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/27 17:00:31
Subject: Stormraven Reserves Question
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
Fond du Lac, Wi
|
Yeah, the reason the hover mode doesn't work is that at the start of the first turn the vehicle is a flyer. It doesn't get the chance to hover until after the game has begun, thus it is a flyer and must have started the game in reserves.
|
“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe.”
-Einstein |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/27 17:53:57
Subject: Stormraven Reserves Question
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Lone Dragoon wrote:The problem is that even if you hover, you still are a flyer, you are not a fast skimmer, just treated exactly as one. There currently is no way to have a flyer start the game on the table.
Not exactly true.
The Flyer is treated exactly as a Fast Skimmer; the Flyer rules are not in the fast skimmer rules.
But the answer you gave(no) is still correct, just for a different reason.
Upon deployment(the set-up step) no matter what you do the Storm Raven(or any other Flyer with the Hover sub-type) is always a flyer.
You do not declare a flyer with the Hover type to be a fast Skimmer until just before it moves in your movement phase(or just before you set it on the table for coming in from reserves).
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/27 18:26:15
Subject: Stormraven Reserves Question
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Except that it is still a Flyer.
If you are trying to claim it loses its flyer and is just a fast skimmer, then it can never zoom, as the fast skimmers can not zoom. So it must retain the Flyer type or you would be stuck in hover mode.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/27 19:57:41
Subject: Stormraven Reserves Question
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
|
Thanks all for the clarification. At least the stormraven does not count against the 1/2 reserves count, I like that rule. However, the units that are being transported inside still do.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|