Switch Theme:

FW Storm Eagle assault gunship  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Hey guys,

I had a quick question for the storm eagle from forgeworld! It says it can carry 20 models, which to me reads as 10 terminators (cmon who would transport anything else ). My question is whether it can carry two separate squads. For example, the GW stormraven can carry a squad AND a dreadnought - does the Storm eagle specifically need to say it can transport more than one squad (such as two different 5 man deathwing terminator squads), it is understood that it can (its not a dedicated transport so its not linked with a squad), or no - it can only transport one 10 man squad, anything less and its your loss

What do you guys think (I REALLLLLLLLYYYYYY hope its the first case that it can transport more then one squad as long as it reaches cap)
   
Made in us
Tough Tyrant Guard





Pg78
"A transport cancarry a single Infantry unit.."
So only one squad.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Gloomfang wrote:Pg78
"A transport cancarry a single Infantry unit.."
So only one squad.


So it would have to be a rule specifically saying it can carry two squads (aka the Stormraven from the Blood Angels)?
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

fidel wrote:So it would have to be a rule specifically saying it can carry two squads (aka the Stormraven from the Blood Angels)?

Yes, just like it needs an allowance to carry Jump Infantry or a Dreadnought.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





DeathReaper wrote:
fidel wrote:So it would have to be a rule specifically saying it can carry two squads (aka the Stormraven from the Blood Angels)?

Yes, just like it needs an allowance to carry Jump Infantry or a Dreadnought.


So... ridiculously... STUPID! Why would they build a flier that can carry 20 models and not have it carry multiple squads ARGH! Its just like the Thunderhawk all over again - "hey guys here is this sick looking model for space marines - it can carry one large squad" The hell?!?!?!

...... guess I won't be buying it then since it really doesn't work for Deathwing at the moment - maybe the next codex will allow Deathwing squads of 10, aha - and then I can put all 10 in AND split them up into combat squads when they land hahahahahha... but until then i give you my tears
   
Made in us
Rough Rider with Boomstick




Fond du Lac, Wi

fidel wrote:So... ridiculously... STUPID! Why would they build a flier that can carry 20 models and not have it carry multiple squads ARGH! Its just like the Thunderhawk all over again - "hey guys here is this sick looking model for space marines - it can carry one large squad" The hell?!?!?!

...... guess I won't be buying it then since it really doesn't work for Deathwing at the moment - maybe the next codex will allow Deathwing squads of 10, aha - and then I can put all 10 in AND split them up into combat squads when they land hahahahahha... but until then i give you my tears
Why would they do that? That's simple, it's a forge world model, a model perfectly legal in apocalypse where you can transport more than just troops in transports.

“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe.”
-Einstein 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Lone Dragoon wrote:
fidel wrote:So... ridiculously... STUPID! Why would they build a flier that can carry 20 models and not have it carry multiple squads ARGH! Its just like the Thunderhawk all over again - "hey guys here is this sick looking model for space marines - it can carry one large squad" The hell?!?!?!

...... guess I won't be buying it then since it really doesn't work for Deathwing at the moment - maybe the next codex will allow Deathwing squads of 10, aha - and then I can put all 10 in AND split them up into combat squads when they land hahahahahha... but until then i give you my tears
Why would they do that? That's simple, it's a forge world model, a model perfectly legal in apocalypse where you can transport more than just troops in transports.


guess I will be going for 2 Caestus Assault rams then... they seem to have better rules and 13 armour is hard to crack!
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

fidel wrote:guess I will be going for 2 Caestus Assault rams then... they seem to have better rules and 13 armour is hard to crack!

Not in Apoc it is not.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




A thunderhawk as a SH vehicle can carry multiple units, including JI
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

This comment was removed by the derp who made it.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/07/29 16:40:28



Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






fidel wrote:So... ridiculously... STUPID! Why would they build a flier that can carry 20 models and not have it carry multiple squads ARGH! Its just like the Thunderhawk all over again - "hey guys here is this sick looking model for space marines - it can carry one large squad" The hell?!?!?!

Why does a Crusader carry 16 models? So that it can carry a bunch of terminators or a big Templars squad.

And, as mentioned, Thunderhawks can carry multiple squads as they're super-heavy.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Tyrants legion and chaos... both can use it and both have squad sizes up to 20.
   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

Black Templars Crusader blobs almost fit in. On the other side of the coin, Chaos also gets 20-man squads.

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in us
Manhunter






Little Rock AR

Lone Dragoon wrote: Why would they do that? That's simple, it's a forge world model, a model perfectly legal in apocalypse where you can transport more than just troops in transports.
Forgeworld is also useable in Regular 40k. It isn't just for Apoc. Any model that maybe be used in 40k states what codex and FOC slot it is in. There are even whole army lists outthere, like the Elysians, Airborne guardsmen.

Proud to be Obliviously Blue since 2011!

 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Scott-S6 wrote:
fidel wrote:So... ridiculously... STUPID! Why would they build a flier that can carry 20 models and not have it carry multiple squads ARGH! Its just like the Thunderhawk all over again - "hey guys here is this sick looking model for space marines - it can carry one large squad" The hell?!?!?!

Why does a Crusader carry 16 models? So that it can carry a bunch of terminators or a big Templars squad.

And, as mentioned, Thunderhawks can carry multiple squads as they're super-heavy.


I know, I am just mad they would give so much space and not even make mention to having at least separate squads in one vehicle. It seems weird that ONLY the Thunderhawk is able to carry multiple squads. Bah, as I said before though the Caestus Assault Ram seems to be a better choice over the Storm Eagle, and with its inclusion of a locater beacon, I can spell awesomeness in a 40k game that is big enough!
   
Made in ca
Power-Hungry Cultist of Tzeentch





Since we're discussing the Storm Eagle, I may as well take a whack at my own question for it.

As an Assault Vehicle, troops can Charge after disembarking.

Troops can disembark from a Deep Striking transport (p 36, big rule book)

Is it possible to Deep Strike a Storm Eagle in Hover Mode, deploy a squad from it and then assault a nearby enemy unit?

   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Bladed Crescent wrote:Since we're discussing the Storm Eagle, I may as well take a whack at my own question for it.

As an Assault Vehicle, troops can Charge after disembarking.

Troops can disembark from a Deep Striking transport (p 36, big rule book)

Is it possible to Deep Strike a Storm Eagle in Hover Mode, deploy a squad from it and then assault a nearby enemy unit?



Forgot where this was discussed but the assault vehicle gets trumped by units not being able to assault the turn they arrive on the board. So while assaukt vehicle allows you to assault after disembarking it does not lift the restrictions on assaulting after coming on the table.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





CrowSplat wrote:
Bladed Crescent wrote:Since we're discussing the Storm Eagle, I may as well take a whack at my own question for it.

As an Assault Vehicle, troops can Charge after disembarking.

Troops can disembark from a Deep Striking transport (p 36, big rule book)

Is it possible to Deep Strike a Storm Eagle in Hover Mode, deploy a squad from it and then assault a nearby enemy unit?



Forgot where this was discussed but the assault vehicle gets trumped by units not being able to assault the turn they arrive on the board. So while assaukt vehicle allows you to assault after disembarking it does not lift the restrictions on assaulting after coming on the table.


I mean that would make the most sense. Who would want to play a game where someone only brings in assault fliers with assault units in them - first turn assault phase anyone
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh




I think it's under the deepstrike rules that state that a unit that arrives via deepstrike can not assault the turn it enters the board.
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





Bit late to this but the errata at http://www.forgeworld.co.uk/resources/fw_site/fw_pdfs/Horus_Heresy/Betrayal_FAQ_Errata_V2.pdf has a question about the orbital assault rite of war along the lines of 'do I have to take a drop pod for all units that would normally have a rhino' and the response says the following

"A: No, not so long as you have sufficient other vehicles for them to be transported in that are capable of deep striking. So, for example, if your primary detachment contained two Legion Storm Eagle Assault Gunships these could transport a unit of up to 20 infantry models each, and so two units in your force would not need Drop Pods of their own. Note that once a transport such as this has been ‘assigned’ once for the purpose of working out the Rite of War, it cannot be claimed by another unit as well!"

So this to me sounds like storm eagles can transport multiple units. I've got the heresy books 1 and 3 with the crusade army list but can't see the rule in there. Has anyone else seen anything that really clarifies this anywhere?

   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






TommyBs wrote:
So this to me sounds like storm eagles can transport multiple units. I've got the heresy books 1 and 3 with the crusade army list but can't see the rule in there. Has anyone else seen anything that really clarifies this anywhere?
How does that imply SE's can carry multiple units? It says you've got two SE's, so two units (i.e. one unit in each Storm Eagle) don't need drop pods to fulfill the requirement of the Rite.It even says the SE can transport "...a unit of up to 20..."
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





My mistake, totally misread that. Apologies for dragging up an old thread

   
Made in us
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot






Everyone forgets combat squads. That is the only allowance of multiple units in a non super heavy transport. The storm eagle could carry one 10 man combat squadded unit of terminators, giving you the effect of two 5 man squads in the same flyer
   
Made in us
[DCM]
.







TommyBs wrote:
My mistake, totally misread that. Apologies for dragging up an old thread


Apology accepted!
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: