Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/29 06:24:01
Subject: The quickening and unwieldy- what happens?
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
Just a question, when you are using a weapon with unwieldy, if you then use the quickening (gives initiative 10), which Initiative value applies? 1 or 10
thanks
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/29 06:28:04
Subject: The quickening and unwieldy- what happens?
|
 |
Thunderhawk Pilot Dropping From Orbit
|
Check in ur rulebook again, it'll say which one takes precedence. It should do anyway. Otherwise just go with I 10. Gives you a hand up in battles
|
Currently attempting to put together a homebrew non-canon Space Marine chapter. If I can be bothered to getting around to painting the models and putting the things together of course... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/29 06:48:02
Subject: Re:The quickening and unwieldy- what happens?
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
Ok, thanks!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/29 06:58:20
Subject: The quickening and unwieldy- what happens?
|
 |
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws
Sioux Falls, SD
|
The quickening makes you initiative 10, but unwieldy makes you strike at initiative 1. So for any initiative tests or for sweeping advances and similar things you are initiative 10, but when it comes to actually attacking it would be at initiative 1.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/29 06:59:04
Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/29 06:59:53
Subject: The quickening and unwieldy- what happens?
|
 |
Slippery Scout Biker
|
initiative modifiers are very very clearly laid out in 40k.
Unwieldy weapons "Strike at Initiative 1" meaning, if you're I 10, you strike at I 1.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/29 22:03:01
Subject: The quickening and unwieldy- what happens?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Do we pile in at I10 and Strike at I1?
|
6+ = 6/36 | Reroll 1s = 7/36 | Reroll Misses = 11/36 ||||||| 5+ = 12/36 | Reroll 1s 14/36 | Reroll Misses = 20/36 ||||||| 4+ = 18/36 | Reroll 1s 21/36 | Reroll Misses = 27/36
3+ = 24/36 | Reroll 1s 28/36 | Reroll Misses = 32/36 ||||||| 2+ = 30/36 | Reroll 1s 35/36 ||||||| Highest of 2d6 = 4.47 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/29 22:29:56
Subject: The quickening and unwieldy- what happens?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Talamare wrote:Do we pile in at I10 and Strike at I1?
No, you pile in and strike at the same time. So if you strike at I1 you pile in and strike then. If you are a GK with a Halberd you pile in and strike at I6 Etc. P.23 is the rules for Pile in and striking when your initiative is reached.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/29 22:30:39
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/14 23:12:24
Subject: Re:The quickening and unwieldy- what happens?
|
 |
Paramount Plague Censer Bearer
|
Someon the other day was trying to explain this to me as well. Basically it came down to "the quickening being a set modifier" (Int 10) and unwieldy being a "set modifier" (Int 1). The concensus was that you would roll off every game turn to see which one takes precidance. I personnaly DO NOT aggree with this however, thats how it is played locally and as the new guy you cant quite fight city hall.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/14 23:26:48
Subject: Re:The quickening and unwieldy- what happens?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Dooley wrote:Someon the other day was trying to explain this to me as well. Basically it came down to "the quickening being a set modifier" (Int 10) and unwieldy being a "set modifier" (Int 1). The concensus was that you would roll off every game turn to see which one takes precidance. I personnaly DO NOT aggree with this however, thats how it is played locally and as the new guy you cant quite fight city hall.
"A model attacking with this weapon must do so at I1." ( BRB p43)
"The unit is initiative 10 for the rest of the turn." ( GK codex, p25)
The unwieldy weapon doesn't care if the unit's initiative is set at 10. They must still strike at I1. I wouldn't allow that crap.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/14 23:32:26
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/15 00:01:27
Subject: Re:The quickening and unwieldy- what happens?
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
Those who've said "The models count as Initiative 10 but strikes at Initiative 1 in the OPs' scenario" Have the right of it.
Unweildy is not a set modifier. It doesn't alter (set, modify, etc) your models' initiative value at all; It just changes which initiative value the model piles in and strikes at.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/11/15 02:31:36
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/15 00:01:59
Subject: Re:The quickening and unwieldy- what happens?
|
 |
Paramount Plague Censer Bearer
|
The argument he was making was that both those things are "Set Value Mofiers" and thus require a roll off. One sets your Int to 10 the other 1. I still think it is pretty lame. Anything unweildy is still unwieldy!!!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/15 01:29:11
Subject: The quickening and unwieldy- what happens?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Unwieldy is not a set modifier, to be a set modifier it has to set a certain thing to a certain value, it does nothing of the sort, it simply causes you to strike at a specific time during the combat.
Would a rule that says "A model attacking with this weapon does so before any other participants of the combat have struck" be a set modifier for initiative? If so what is it setting it to?
It's really the same situation, the mention of "Initiative Step 1" has no bearing on the fact that it's just a rule telling you when to strike
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/15 02:10:26
Subject: Re:The quickening and unwieldy- what happens?
|
 |
Paramount Plague Censer Bearer
|
Fair enough. That is what I was thinking as well. May have to stick to my guns on this one.
|
|
 |
 |
|