Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/29 16:53:37
Subject: Gets hot re-rolls.
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
If you roll a 1 and suffer an immediate wound for the gets hot rule. then reroll the miss to hit. does it negate the wound? or open the possibility up for more explosions? ie if you roll another 1 on the reroll, do you suffer another subsequent wound. or if you roll a 6, do you suffer 1 wound or do you suffer no wounds if no sucessive 1 is rolled.. its kinda confusing me. the rule says they immediatly suffer a wound. (lets you do amror saves and invul.. bt says nothing about rerolls) the re-rolls were for the divinity ability cheers
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/29 16:54:40
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/29 17:03:21
Subject: Gets hot re-rolls.
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
suffering a wound means you dont have to roll to wound, so all you have to do is take the armor save. For rerolls, like say the gun is twin-linked, if you rolled say double 1's twin linked allows you to reroll, so you would roll again. Clean slate, if on the second roll you roll say a 1 and a 5, you would only have to take 1 armor save after the twin linked has been rolled.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/29 17:10:13
Subject: Gets hot re-rolls.
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
simplexcity wrote:If you roll a 1 and suffer an immediate wound for the gets hot rule. then reroll the miss to hit. does it negate the wound? or open the possibility up for more explosions?
ie if you roll another 1 on the reroll, do you suffer another subsequent wound.
or if you roll a 6, do you suffer 1 wound
or do you suffer no wounds if no sucessive 1 is rolled..
its kinda confusing me. the rule says they immediatly suffer a wound. (lets you do amror saves and invul.. bt says nothing about rerolls)
the re-rolls were for the divinity ability
cheers
The rules for Gets Hot cover this, and its very clear...Last paragraph of the rule on page 37. The section under Gets Hot and Re-rolls. 'If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls To Hit...a Wound is only suffered if the To Hit re-roll is also a 1; it may also re-roll Gets Hot results of 1 for weapons that do not roll To Hit."
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/29 21:46:54
Subject: Gets hot re-rolls.
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
oh thanks for that. it is right there. just didnt notice that 2nd column up the top of the page and it was late.
cheers for clearing that up.
taking multiple gets hot wounds would really suck
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/29 21:57:11
Subject: Gets hot re-rolls.
|
 |
Resentful Grot With a Plan
USA: Blacksburg, VA
|
Since we are on the topic of "gets hot" I have another question. Can Lo,S be used to shunt a wound from gets hot? Say I have a character model with a plasma pistol in a unit. If I have a gets hot roll on the character can a grunt take it?
|
WAAAGH Squigeye: 3500 and counting |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/29 22:07:08
Subject: Gets hot re-rolls.
|
 |
Hardened Veteran Guardsman
|
No you cannot, since the wording states the model suffers a wound, not is allocated a wound.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/29 22:19:11
Subject: Gets hot re-rolls.
|
 |
Resentful Grot With a Plan
USA: Blacksburg, VA
|
Ah, thanks.
|
WAAAGH Squigeye: 3500 and counting |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/30 08:51:23
Subject: Re:Gets hot re-rolls.
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
still same topic
but in the re-roll section on gets hot does a vehicle still take a hit if it rolls a 1 as the way it reads vehicles take a wound instead. and from what i understand since vehicles dont have wounds does nothing happen.
im thinking that they still take a hit
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/30 09:54:12
Subject: Gets hot re-rolls.
|
 |
Drone without a Controller
|
In the first paragraph of the rule, it says that the vehicle takes a glancing hit instead of a wound. So the Wound suffered for a 1 on the re-roll to hit should also be replaced by a roll for a glancing hit.
|
1500 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/30 16:43:08
Subject: Gets hot re-rolls.
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Borntolose wrote:In the first paragraph of the rule, it says that the vehicle takes a glancing hit instead of a wound. So the Wound suffered for a 1 on the re-roll to hit should also be replaced by a roll for a glancing hit.
There's no roll for glancing hits, they just remove a hull point now. Just FYI.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/30 16:50:17
Subject: Gets hot re-rolls.
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
Kevin949 wrote:Borntolose wrote:In the first paragraph of the rule, it says that the vehicle takes a glancing hit instead of a wound. So the Wound suffered for a 1 on the re-roll to hit should also be replaced by a roll for a glancing hit.
There's no roll for glancing hits, they just remove a hull point now. Just FYI.
What he is saying is if a vehicle shoots a TL Gets Hot weapon and get a 1 then you get to re-roll to avoid the Gets Hot glancing hit.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/07/30 16:50:39
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/30 17:35:16
Subject: Gets hot re-rolls.
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Captain Antivas wrote:Kevin949 wrote:Borntolose wrote:In the first paragraph of the rule, it says that the vehicle takes a glancing hit instead of a wound. So the Wound suffered for a 1 on the re-roll to hit should also be replaced by a roll for a glancing hit.
There's no roll for glancing hits, they just remove a hull point now. Just FYI.
What he is saying is if a vehicle shoots a TL Gets Hot weapon and get a 1 then you get to re-roll to avoid the Gets Hot glancing hit.
I don't think he was, as he referenced the re-roll as a 1 already. "So the wound suffered for a 1 on the re-roll to hit should also be replaced by a roll for a glancing hit."
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/30 19:52:15
Subject: Gets hot re-rolls.
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
Kevin949 wrote:Borntolose wrote:In the first paragraph of the rule, it says that the vehicle takes a glancing hit instead of a wound. So the Wound suffered for a 1 on the re-roll to hit should also be replaced by a roll for a glancing hit.
There's no roll for glancing hits, they just remove a hull point now. Just FYI.
He may have been on about the other roll the occurs when a vehicles weapon gets hot.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/07/30 19:54:20
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/30 20:59:22
Subject: Gets hot re-rolls.
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
Kevin949 wrote:Captain Antivas wrote:Kevin949 wrote:Borntolose wrote:In the first paragraph of the rule, it says that the vehicle takes a glancing hit instead of a wound. So the Wound suffered for a 1 on the re-roll to hit should also be replaced by a roll for a glancing hit.
There's no roll for glancing hits, they just remove a hull point now. Just FYI.
What he is saying is if a vehicle shoots a TL Gets Hot weapon and get a 1 then you get to re-roll to avoid the Gets Hot glancing hit.
I don't think he was, as he referenced the re-roll as a 1 already. "So the wound suffered for a 1 on the re-roll to hit should also be replaced by a roll for a glancing hit."
Which is what made the post confusing. Consider it clarified.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/07/31 06:32:08
Subject: Gets hot re-rolls.
|
 |
Drone without a Controller
|
Kevin949 wrote:Borntolose wrote:In the first paragraph of the rule, it says that the vehicle takes a glancing hit instead of a wound. So the Wound suffered for a 1 on the re-roll to hit should also be replaced by a roll for a glancing hit.
There's no roll for glancing hits, they just remove a hull point now. Just FYI.
By roll for a glancing hit I meant what it says in the Gets Hot rule. If a vehicle rolls a 1 to hit with a Get Hot weapon, roll a die. On a 1-3 the vehicle suffers a glancing hit. This is the roll I was referring to.
|
1500 |
|
 |
 |
|