Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/01 08:38:37
Subject: Unlimited overwatch from embarked units
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Overwatch rules (pg 21) state that "a unit being charged may only fire overwatch once per turn".
Transports (pg 80, very first sentence) says that if a transport vehicle is assaulted, an embarked unit can fire overwatch.
Because the unit that is embarked is not being charged, they can fire overwatch against any number of charges against their vehicle, right?
At least thats how I read it. Only units being charged are limited.
My burnas REALLY love their battlewagon now.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/01 08:57:43
Subject: Unlimited overwatch from embarked units
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
I would read it as only once per turn because the actual overwatch rule says "once per turn" and the transport rule is an extension of that, and therefore falls under the "once per turn" clause... That's how I read it anyway.
Also, I would consider a unit and it's trasport as one entity that is being charged, only after disembarking would I count them as two separate things.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/01 08:59:38
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/01 09:22:51
Subject: Re:Unlimited overwatch from embarked units
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I would consider a unit and it's trasport as one entity that is being charged
So, units charging Ghost Arcs can be hit with Lightning Fields?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/01 09:26:32
Subject: Re:Unlimited overwatch from embarked units
|
 |
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver
|
Survivor19 wrote: I would consider a unit and it's trasport as one entity that is being charged
So, units charging Ghost Arcs can be hit with Lightning Fields?
Probably not as vehicles can't fire overwatch. ( IIRC)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/01 09:32:57
Subject: Unlimited overwatch from embarked units
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
ChickenMacNugget wrote:
Also, I would consider a unit and it's trasport as one entity that is being charged, only after disembarking would I count them as two separate things.
This is EXPLICITLY not true. They are not the same unit, ever. If they are the same unit please show how the vehicle has embarked upon itself, as required int eh embarkation rules....
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/01 09:34:55
Subject: Re:Unlimited overwatch from embarked units
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Let's presume a cryptek with appropriate wargear is inside the Ghost arcs. If he (and his unit) count as being charged when ghost arc is charged, then lightning field would go off.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/01 09:37:25
Subject: Unlimited overwatch from embarked units
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Actually, now that I think of it, shooting at a tank doesn't affect the occupants so... yeah XD
No need to get all huffy
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/01 09:45:51
Subject: Unlimited overwatch from embarked units
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
I read the Assaulting Transports section as saying that since the vehicle may not fire Overwatch, the Overwatch is transferred to the embarked troops. As Overwatch may only be used once, a subsequent assault is safe.
And to the OP, how often are multiple units assaulting your batflewagons?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/01 09:56:49
Subject: Unlimited overwatch from embarked units
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
ChickenMacNugget wrote:Actually, now that I think of it, shooting at a tank doesn't affect the occupants so... yeah XD
No need to get all huffy
Not huffy, just an exercise for the reader. Claiming that a unit is one with the vehicle should prompt you to consider the implications of this for all situations. Its quite a common question
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/01 09:57:25
Subject: Unlimited overwatch from embarked units
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
SoloFalcon1138 wrote:I read the Assaulting Transports section as saying that since the vehicle may not fire Overwatch, the Overwatch is transferred to the embarked troops. As Overwatch may only be used once, a subsequent assault is safe.
And to the OP, how often are multiple units assaulting your batflewagons?
In a 500 pt game, every game pretty much.
Anyway, my point is that overwatch does not have the restriction to only be used once. The only restriction (under a heading called restrictions) is that a unit being charged can only use it once.
There is effectively an exception to what normally triggers overwatch, and thats for embarked units.
The fact that the rule specifically goes out of its way to state that 'units being charged' rather than 'any unit' means you can fire overwatch more than once if you can get around the charging caveat. I'm saying that you can.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/01 10:20:47
Subject: Unlimited overwatch from embarked units
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
Overwatch specifically has a restriction. Its on page 21 in big bold letters under Overwatch Restrictions.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/01 17:45:31
Subject: Unlimited overwatch from embarked units
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
psyklone wrote:
The fact that the rule specifically goes out of its way to state that 'units being charged' rather than 'any unit' means you can fire overwatch more than once if you can get around the charging caveat. I'm saying that you can.
Overwatch rules also say that 'only units being charged' can fire Overwatch. So in the context of the Overwatch rules, unit firing Overwatch is equivalent to unit being charged.
You could argue strict RAW allowing you to fire Overwatch multiple times from transport, but you should take into account that 6e breaks in multiple different spots with strict RAW.
RAI is blindingly obvious: unit may only fire Overwatch once per turn.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/01 21:08:40
Subject: Unlimited overwatch from embarked units
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
RAW for 10 yo's
You may take lollies from the lollie jar. You can do this when...
Dad says "go to the lollie jar".
Mum says "go to the lollie jar".
When Dad says "go to the lollie jar" you may only take one (or may only go once per day, same thing).
So how many times can Mum tell you to go?
You wouldn't write a rule for under any circumstances which a specific circumstance in it. Its just dumb. Ergo I don't think they're dumb, and meant for passengers to fire multiple times a turn.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/01 22:06:50
Subject: Unlimited overwatch from embarked units
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
The unit being charged can Overwatch. It can only Overwatch once per turn.
If a vehicle is being charged it can not fire Overwatch, but it can give its Overwatch to the embarked unit.
If you charge the same vehicle again it has no more Overwatch to give to the embarked unit. So the embarked unit can not Overwatch.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/02 01:06:03
Subject: Unlimited overwatch from embarked units
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Gloomfang wrote:The unit being charged can Overwatch. It can only Overwatch once per turn.
If a vehicle is being charged it can not fire Overwatch, but it can give its Overwatch to the embarked unit.
If you charge the same vehicle again it has no more Overwatch to give to the embarked unit. So the embarked unit can not Overwatch.
The transport does not "give away its overwatch to someone else." The Embarked Unit may fire overwatch. That is all.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/02 07:25:26
Subject: Unlimited overwatch from embarked units
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Indiana
|
I guess technically you could.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|