Switch Theme:

Warp Spider 2D6 jump question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Kabalite Conscript






When warp spiders make their 2D6 jump in the assault phase, the rules say to nominate a direction and move the unit up to 2D6 in this direction. Since it says to move the unit in a specific direction, do I have to move each model the exact same distance and in the exact same direction? For example, if I deep strike my warp spiders and shoot with them, they will be in the base-to-base circle formation when they make their jump, so do they have to end their jump in the same formation, or am I allowed to spread them out?

   
Made in ca
Sneaky Striking Scorpion





An Igloo Deep North in Canada, eh?

Same formation. The idea behind this is because they can die if they wind up hitting impassable terrain and whatnot, so you have to be very careful what direction you decide to go.

azazel the cat wrote:The best way to play Warhammer 40k is with a pretty girl.
Both players should be using the least durable units possible, with the house rule that all players remove an article of clothing every time you lose a unit, and take a drink every time you kill one of your opponent's units.
I have no idea which army will be triumphant, but I can assure you that everyone wins.
Kain wrote:The best counter to an Eldar Farseer with malefic is smashing them upside the head with their codex opened to any page detailing the Eldar's relationship with Chaos.
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




wouldnt the phrase UP TO 2D6, mean they dont have to be in the same formation....
   
Made in us
Paramount Plague Censer Bearer




If they move and arive via deepstrike then they would be in the "DEEPSTRIKE CIRCLE OF DEATH" if they just "move" then UP TO would give you some wiggle room, I would think.
   
Made in us
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot






I play that i nominate a direction, and then roll the dice. I then proceed to move each guy in that direction along a line. It's difficult to have them end up in the same exact formation, but it should be very similar to what they started.
The "move up to" gives you wiggle room to slow some members down to avoid terrain or other units or off the board.
It's easy to change the formation by just not moving some the full distance.
   
Made in us
Kabalite Conscript






Thanks guys, I didn't even realize it before and usually just spread them out as I wished, but yeah now I agree that they should be in the same formation. The jump generator rule says to move the unit up to 2D6 in the chosen direction direction, compare this to the run rule, which says you roll a D6 and then "models in the unit may them immediately move up to that distance". Since the warp jump rule never mentions individual models, I don't think you can assume that each warp spider can move a different distance as long as they're in the same direction. So yeah, unfortunately, deep striking warp spiders have to remain in circular formation, but I can't complain, because its still an awesome rule that other deep striking units wished they had

   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Oneironaut wrote:Thanks guys, I didn't even realize it before and usually just spread them out as I wished, but yeah now I agree that they should be in the same formation. The jump generator rule says to move the unit up to 2D6 in the chosen direction direction, compare this to the run rule, which says you roll a D6 and then "models in the unit may them immediately move up to that distance". Since the warp jump rule never mentions individual models, I don't think you can assume that each warp spider can move a different distance as long as they're in the same direction. So yeah, unfortunately, deep striking warp spiders have to remain in circular formation, but I can't complain, because its still an awesome rule that other deep striking units wished they had



I dont think thats the correct about they have to remain in a circular formation. they can move up means they could end up in a line type formation, and perhaps its just me but i dont take move in that direction as to mean STRAIGHT line only. it just means if i say left they have to move left, not as strict as a straight line though, but perhaps thats wrong...
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




They must move in the same direction, but nothing requires them to move the same distance. So you can spread out laterally.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: