Switch Theme:

Monolith arriving from Reserve then using the Dimensional Corridor ..  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Angelic Adepta Sororitas





Oklahoma

Hi all, don't know if this has been talked about at all, but last night i was battling and we ran into a situation with the monolith arriving from reserve and then using the portal to teleport basic warriors accross the board and disembark from the front of the monolith. my opponet said he didn't know if i could do that, so we started digging in both the new rule book and my codex and the new FAQ to see if it was allowed, so the question came up of when the monolith arives vs when i can teleport units. in the Codex for the monlith it states

.... "at the start of the movement phase, choose one friendly unengaged non-vehicle Necron unit on the battlefield or in reserve, that unit immediately phases out from its current position and "disembarks" from the monoliths portal."

and one special rule for the monolith is Deep Strike* and it says at the bottom of the page ...* if a monolith is held in reserve, it must arrive by Deep Strike

now looking at the 6th Ed rule book we look at the Reserve section because thats where the monolith is at.. so we look at Arriving from Reserve on page 124. and it states :

....." At the Start of your Turn Two, you must Roll a D6 for each unit being held in reserve- these are known as reserve rolls..." it also states on the same page .." Models that are arriving by deep strike or outflank deploy using their special rule"

so then we have to look at deep strike on page 36 and it states under " Arriving by Deep STrike" it says:

....." Roll for the arrival of all deep striking units as specified in the rules for reserves and then deploy them as follows"...


so here is what i have come up with as for the results of the question.

at the start of my Turn.. before the movement phase i roll for reserves.. i roll a d6 for any unit in reserve on a 3+ that unit is then deployed on the table using its means of arival .. aka .. board edge, deep strike, or outflank..after the model from reserves is deployed using what ever method it needs to get on the table .. i then move on to my movement phase. i then pick a unit of non-vehicle type either on the table or held in reservs ( codex rule on page 47 of the necron codex ) and they immediately phase out from its current position and "disembark " out the front of the monolith portal using the Disembarking Rules, then i proceed to move my other units that are on the table, after my movement phase i then go on to my shooting phase then assaulting phase.

so yes i can deep strike the monolith and then use the portal to teleport units out the front of the monolith portal door. this is backed by rules in both the codex and new 6th Edition rule book.

am i looking at this wrong some how?






Just throwing the dice!

2952 ++++ 99.9% painted
2200 +++ .01 % painted . under construction

Tabletop Gaming Club of Oklahoma
http://www.facebook.com/TabletopGamingClubofOklahoma  
   
Made in us
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws



Sioux Falls, SD

You can't do it because the ability has to be used at the start of the movement phase and the monolith is in reserve at the start of the movement phase.

Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius!  
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Away from book so I cannot give page numbers, however, anything that is done at the start of the Movement phase cannot be done if the model that does it arrives from Reserves that turn.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Angelic Adepta Sororitas





Oklahoma

Negitive.. any unit in reserve takes a reserve roll at the start of your turn, not in the movement phase and then if you roll a 3+ on that unit, you then have to "deploy" it, then move on to your movement phase.

Just throwing the dice!

2952 ++++ 99.9% painted
2200 +++ .01 % painted . under construction

Tabletop Gaming Club of Oklahoma
http://www.facebook.com/TabletopGamingClubofOklahoma  
   
Made in us
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran





Houston, TX

You cannot do so because. The deployment of a unit on the board marks the end of its movement. Once you put the unit down, you finished the unit movement phase. Just like how you deploy your units from the drop pod up to 6" as part of its disembarkation movement.

Otherwise, I can deploy my terminator librarian on the board via deep strike and then cast a power that suppose to be cast at the start of the movement phase (like summoning that Land Raider on the back of the board). Then the people in the Land Raider can cast summoning again for another Land Raider.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/01 19:34:24


 
   
Made in us
Angelic Adepta Sororitas





Oklahoma

if there is a rule in the book that states this can not be done please feel free to post so i can find it..


Automatically Appended Next Post:
if there is a rule in the book that states this can not be done please feel free to post so i can find it..


Automatically Appended Next Post:
so if we are looking at the word deployment .. does that mean when i deploy my army at the start of the game.. that is all done in the movement phase .. so when i start my whole army has "moved" and i have to go straight to the shooting phase?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/08/01 19:35:12


Just throwing the dice!

2952 ++++ 99.9% painted
2200 +++ .01 % painted . under construction

Tabletop Gaming Club of Oklahoma
http://www.facebook.com/TabletopGamingClubofOklahoma  
   
Made in us
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws



Sioux Falls, SD

Deep strike actually specifies it happens in the movement phase "in the movement phase in which they arrive" page 36, it is specifically worded differently than the shooting restrictions and the assault restrictions.

You arrive via deep strike at the beginning of the movement phase. the start of your turn is also the start of the movement phase, there is no start of turn phase. page 9.

Deployment is a separate thing that takes place before the game starts according to all of the new scenarios you will do deployment right before you start the game.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/01 19:38:34


Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius!  
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Page 125, left hand side, bolded statement right above Ongoing Reserves.

I knew it was in the book somewhere.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






It's in the necron book man, in the rules for the monolith. You have to do it at the start of your movement phase, that means it has to be the first thing you do with your movement phase (which means before any other models move). If you're rolling for it [monolith] to come on from reserves, then teleporting units is not the first thing you're doing.
   
Made in us
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran





Houston, TX

Well Happyjew's reference settled this question.
   
Made in us
Angelic Adepta Sororitas





Oklahoma

page 125.. this is what it states.... "Unless stated otherwise, a unit cannot charge, or use any abilities or special rules that must be used at the start of the turn, in the turn it arrives from reserve".. the Dimensional Corridor does not happen at the start of the "Turn" aka step 1... it happens at the start of the "Movement phase" aka step 2..

now to me in my head this is how the game is layed out.

1. .. the start of the turn...
2 .. the start of the movement phase
3... the start of the shooting phase
4.. the start of the assault phase
5... the start of the end of the turn ( this is where you roll for booby traped Objectives.. or some new terrain rules..

so reserves are rolled for in step 1... then step 2 is the movement phase.. so if i have a rule that is used in step 1.. aka the start of the turn.. then i can't use the rule if my reserve comes in on the same step.. now the teleporting door happens at the start of step 2.. not step 1. so

step 1.. start of my turn.. roll for reserves , then deploy those that come out.
step 2 .. start of my movement phase... i can then use the codex speical rule.
step 3.. start of my shoot phase
step 4.. start of my assault phase
step 5.. start of end of my turn .. check for objectives and terrain.

next players turn.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/01 19:55:11


Just throwing the dice!

2952 ++++ 99.9% painted
2200 +++ .01 % painted . under construction

Tabletop Gaming Club of Oklahoma
http://www.facebook.com/TabletopGamingClubofOklahoma  
   
Made in us
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws



Sioux Falls, SD

That would be correct if you weren't adding steps, according to the chart on page 9 there is no start of turn step that is before your movement phase, the start of turn and start of the movement phase are the same step.

Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius!  
   
Made in us
Angelic Adepta Sororitas





Oklahoma

Page 9 does not talk about Reserve rolls and arriving from reserves .. its basic.. there is also an "exceptions" section listed on page 9 as well. hmm idk.. i think there is a differnce as far as start of the turn vs start of the movement phase.


Just throwing the dice!

2952 ++++ 99.9% painted
2200 +++ .01 % painted . under construction

Tabletop Gaming Club of Oklahoma
http://www.facebook.com/TabletopGamingClubofOklahoma  
   
Made in us
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws



Sioux Falls, SD

This came up in 5th as well, nowhere does it list any actual phase called start of turn phase.

Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius!  
   
Made in us
Angelic Adepta Sororitas





Oklahoma

hmmm well i think its layed out pretty simple myself. i have read and re-read all three sections of .. codex, and reserves and deployment and deep strike ,, still don't really see how the deployment of reserves is considered your movement phase. i don't know.. it sounds very logical to me though.

Just throwing the dice!

2952 ++++ 99.9% painted
2200 +++ .01 % painted . under construction

Tabletop Gaming Club of Oklahoma
http://www.facebook.com/TabletopGamingClubofOklahoma  
   
Made in us
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws



Sioux Falls, SD

The deep strike rules specifically state in the movement phase in which they arrive. so deep striking units arrive in the movement phase.show me anywhere in the turn sequence where it shows that the start of the turn is actually a separate phase and not just the beginning of the first phase movement.

That and as happyjew pointed out even if you are correct, you still cannot use the ability because of the rule in bold on page 125 right above ongoing reserve.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/01 20:15:04


Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius!  
   
Made in ca
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Vancouver, BC

You cannot use an ability that requires the start of the movement phase the turn you come onto the board, as the start of that models 'movement' starts off the board.

Turn One, your models are already deployed, and as such, can use their powers or move. It's assumed the models were there before the game begins, which they are.

There is no phase before the movement phase, the start of your turn is the movement phase. There is nothing in the rules defining a phase before the movement phase, as such, any reserves coming in do so at the start of the movement phase.

That's what stops you from using any start of the movement phase powers the turn you come in to the board.

 warboss wrote:
Is there a permanent stickied thread for Chaos players to complain every time someone/anyone gets models or rules besides them? If not, there should be.
 
   
Made in us
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws



Sioux Falls, SD

Crazyterran has it right, and page 125 specifically forbids you from using an ability at the start of the movement phase if you are arriving from reserve.

Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius!  
   
Made in us
Angelic Adepta Sororitas





Oklahoma

ok well if thats the case then why didn't they just state that in the reserves section that instead of writing it .." at the start of your turn " .. they should have writen " at the start of your movement phase" so GW don't know how to write rules correctly? that don't make since.. if you look at it in RAW format... maybe i'm looking at it too much word for word?

Just throwing the dice!

2952 ++++ 99.9% painted
2200 +++ .01 % painted . under construction

Tabletop Gaming Club of Oklahoma
http://www.facebook.com/TabletopGamingClubofOklahoma  
   
Made in us
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws



Sioux Falls, SD

It has been repeatedly proven that GW is incredibly terrible at writing rules, they make a fun game but they are horrible at writing good rules, just look at how many FAQs they need and how long each one has to be.

The argument of if the start of movement phase and start of the turn is a moot point as their is a rule that says you cannot use abilities that function at the start of the movement phase on the turn you arrive from reserve.

Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius!  
   
Made in us
Angelic Adepta Sororitas





Oklahoma

Well maybe the will FAQ it .. also on a side note i come to dakka dakka to seek advice and maybe get a different point of view on what ever toppic, so thanks for the input every one. still seems unlogical but i guess if GW are not good at writing thier stuff then its left up to the players to finalize the rules.

Just throwing the dice!

2952 ++++ 99.9% painted
2200 +++ .01 % painted . under construction

Tabletop Gaming Club of Oklahoma
http://www.facebook.com/TabletopGamingClubofOklahoma  
   
Made in us
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws



Sioux Falls, SD

Yes occasionally the rule will be up for argument, in this case they did write a specific rule that says "Unless stated otherwise a unit cannot charge, or use any abilities or special rules that must be used at the start of the turn, in the turn it arrives from reserve." page 125

Now if you bring a lith in during your opponents turn with Zhandrekhs phased reinforcements rule you could then on your turn bring in warriors through the portal.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/01 21:39:06


Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius!  
   
Made in us
Angelic Adepta Sororitas





Oklahoma

Well here is somthing that we should all add to this.. and i do believe we will all need to look at this one, page 79 in rule book talking about disembarking, units can not disembark from a vehicle if it has moved at Cruising speed, only combat speed (6") inches.. Page 36 talking about deep strike says vehicles that deep strike count as moving at Crusing speed.. so that alone keeps the monolith from disembarking warriors out the door after deep strike, but what about other vehicles then? i think it will have to be in Codex to say .. yes you can disembark units after deep strike, because reading the rule book, no one gets to disembark from a vehicle that moves faster then combat speed (6") inches. every one better check your codex make sure your codex says you can.

Just throwing the dice!

2952 ++++ 99.9% painted
2200 +++ .01 % painted . under construction

Tabletop Gaming Club of Oklahoma
http://www.facebook.com/TabletopGamingClubofOklahoma  
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Monolith always counts as disembarking from a combat speed moving vehicle.

That said, you still can't do it on deep strike turn.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/06 19:18:45


 
   
Made in us
Angelic Adepta Sororitas





Oklahoma

right.. deep strike turn = No go.. but after that your good to go.

Just throwing the dice!

2952 ++++ 99.9% painted
2200 +++ .01 % painted . under construction

Tabletop Gaming Club of Oklahoma
http://www.facebook.com/TabletopGamingClubofOklahoma  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: