Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/08 22:37:52
Subject: Cannot assault from destroyed vehicle in subsequent assault phase
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Was listening to the the 11th company podcast and the guys on there were saying if you destroy a transport in 6th the guys inside cant assault on their next assault phase even if its an assault vehicle? Ive read back through all the transport sections and i cant find anything that says this is the case. Am i missing something here? What stops guys charging from a wrecked land raider or battlewagon?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/08 22:49:33
Subject: Re:Cannot assault from destroyed vehicle in subsequent assault phase
|
 |
Yellin' Yoof
|
nothing they can make the assault as normal it even says in the rules for assault vehicles that even if the vehicle is destroyed the occupants can still assault
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/08 22:54:49
Subject: Cannot assault from destroyed vehicle in subsequent assault phase
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
its probably just an oversight that will, hopefully be faq'd, but the raw right now for assault vehicle just says the occupants can assault if they disembark "that turn". disembarking keeps you from assaulting in your subsequent assault phase if you disembark from an assault vehicle on your turn, you can assault. if you blow up or wreck and disembark, the "subsequent assault phase" is on the next turn. Assault vehicle doesn't let you assault in the next turn, just the turn you disembarked.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/08 22:55:40
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/08 22:57:18
Subject: Re:Cannot assault from destroyed vehicle in subsequent assault phase
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
I think if the assault vehicle is wrecked... the assault ramp would also be wrecked... seems like it may not have been an oversight... but thats only IMHO and not backed by a rule. : )
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/08 23:19:26
Subject: Re:Cannot assault from destroyed vehicle in subsequent assault phase
|
 |
Yellin' Yoof
|
i can see that being acceptable with vehicles that exploded as is states when a vehicle explodes to place the squad where the vehicle was it doesn't say that they have disembarked but if the vehicle is wrecked you still exit from access points as normal but at reduced movement
the assault vehicle rule states: Passengers disembarking from Access Points on a vehicle with this special rule can charge on the turn they do so even on a turn that the vehicle was destroyed.
what i am getting from this rule is that if your assault vehicle gets wrecked you disembark from a access point so the assault vehicle rule would work there and the rule also states on "even on a turn that the vehicle was destroyed" it doesn't specify if it means just your turn or your opponents turn or both
so i will agree that if a vehicle explodes even if its a assault vehicle the passengers will not be able to assault
but i will not agree with if a assault vehicle becomes a wreck the passengers cannot assault
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/08 23:23:05
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/08 23:29:38
Subject: Re:Cannot assault from destroyed vehicle in subsequent assault phase
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
GnarYoFace wrote:i can see that being acceptable with vehicles that exploded as is states when a vehicle explodes to place the squad where the vehicle was it doesn't say that they have disembarked but if the vehicle is wrecked you still exit from access points as normal but at reduced movement
The paragraph at the end of the 'Effects of Damage on Passengers' section makes it clear that an explodes result still counts them as disembarking.
...it doesn't specify if it means just your turn or your opponents turn or both
Where the rules don't specify game turn, they always mean player turn.
So the assault vehicle rule allows a unit to still assault on the player turn that the vehicle is destroyed. In practice, this means that a unit whose land raider is destroyed would only be able to assault in their next assault phase if that happened on their own turn.
Whether or not that's an oversight, we'll have to wait and see.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/09 21:01:06
Subject: Cannot assault from destroyed vehicle in subsequent assault phase
|
 |
Deadly Dark Eldar Warrior
Chicago Suburbs
|
So basically the argument is that, you can assault freely out of your exploding vehicle... but if you wait until things calm down and are done exploding by waiting until the next turn, your troops are then more likely to spend their time disoriented?
That makes no sense. I see this as a clearly deliberate misinterpretation of the spirit of the rules by people who are willing to resort to nit-pickery to win their battles.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/09 22:51:44
Subject: Re:Cannot assault from destroyed vehicle in subsequent assault phase
|
 |
Smokin' Skorcha Driver
Tucson, Arizona
|
frgsinwntr wrote:I think if the assault vehicle is wrecked... the assault ramp would also be wrecked... seems like it may not have been an oversight... but thats only IMHO and not backed by a rule. : )
Then how would you explain open topped vehicles who normally just jump out off the sides of the vehicles? RAW this sucks for transports. Hopefully it'll get FAQed.
|
-5000 Pts. of Orks
-1750 Pts. of Ravenwing |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/09 23:40:37
Subject: Cannot assault from destroyed vehicle in subsequent assault phase
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Evocatus wrote:So basically the argument is that, you can assault freely out of your exploding vehicle... but if you wait until things calm down and are done exploding by waiting until the next turn, your troops are then more likely to spend their time disoriented?
That is how the rules currently stand for Assault Vehicles, yes.
I would expect it to be erratad.
That makes no sense. I see this as a clearly deliberate misinterpretation of the spirit of the rules by people who are willing to resort to nit-pickery to win their battles.
It's nothing to do with being nit-picky. The rules on this are clear, thanks to GW clearly stating the difference between a game turn and a player turn.
It's probably safe to assume that it's an error, but it remains to be seen how GW actually intend it to be played.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/09 23:44:45
Subject: Cannot assault from destroyed vehicle in subsequent assault phase
|
 |
Deadly Dark Eldar Warrior
Chicago Suburbs
|
insaniak wrote:Evocatus wrote:So basically the argument is that, you can assault freely out of your exploding vehicle... but if you wait until things calm down and are done exploding by waiting until the next turn, your troops are then more likely to spend their time disoriented?
That is how the rules currently stand for Assault Vehicles, yes.
I would expect it to be erratad.
That makes no sense. I see this as a clearly deliberate misinterpretation of the spirit of the rules by people who are willing to resort to nit-pickery to win their battles.
It's nothing to do with being nit-picky. The rules on this are clear, thanks to GW clearly stating the difference between a game turn and a player turn.
It's probably safe to assume that it's an error, but it remains to be seen how GW actually intend it to be played.
Whatever you say, Boss.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/10 02:09:47
Subject: Cannot assault from destroyed vehicle in subsequent assault phase
|
 |
Assassin with Black Lotus Poison
|
What Insaniak said. If your assault vehicle was wrecked on your own turn (which as far as I can make out will only happen by a skimmer failing a dangerous terrain test when going flat out or a flyer with the assault vehicle rule being unable to move) you can still assault but if it was blown up on the opponents turn then they're fine for that player turn but when yours comes round again they've suddenly become jabbering imbeciles who stare at an enemy unit rather than trying to gut them. Poorly written rules, hooray. Though on the plus side, for any Dark Eldar players, if you flat out that raider full of Wyches into terrain and get a 1 on the dangerous terrain test then you've gained 24" more assault range than if you'd just get out normally after moving 6" (6" more in movement phase due to not disembarking, 18" flat out in Shooting).
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/08/10 02:14:10
The Laws of Thermodynamics:
1) You cannot win. 2) You cannot break even. 3) You cannot stop playing the game.
Colonel Flagg wrote:You think you're real smart. But you're not smart; you're dumb. Very dumb. But you've met your match in me. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/11 03:48:40
Subject: Cannot assault from destroyed vehicle in subsequent assault phase
|
 |
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver
Oklahoma
|
I think RAW was to prevent someone from driving their rhinos full speed, getting blown up in the opponents turn then assaulting in their own phase (as they have not disembarked this turn)
however assault vehicle rules do say "EVEN on the turn their vehicle was destroyed" so its arguable that could mean they can assault anytime they disembark from the vehicle reguardless of the state of the vehicle in question.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 17:42:59
Subject: Cannot assault from destroyed vehicle in subsequent assault phase
|
 |
Deadly Dark Eldar Warrior
Chicago Suburbs
|
Q: If a unit disembarks from a destroyed vehicle during the enemy turn, can it charge in the Assault phase of its own turn? (p80)
A: No, unless the vehicle in question was an Assault Vehicle
http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m1490286a_40K_Rulebook_v1.pdf
Thread is old and dead, but figured I'd share the update.
|
|
 |
 |
|