| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/09 18:48:49
Subject: daemon update questions
|
 |
Malicious Mutant Scum
|
1. can a herlad ride a hellflayer, in the update it says they can hold them but gives no way to upgrade or dedicate it to them?
2. do heralds still get the bonuses to being put in a chariot from the codex ie: +3 wounds +1 toughness etc.?
3. because independent charaters can not join vehicle squads via rulebook, does that mean i can or cant put a herald on chariot and attach to other chariots?
if anyone else has questions about the daemon update it would be fun to get it all out there and solved if possible feel free to post ur questions as well
|
Dream Crush |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/10 05:30:15
Subject: daemon update questions
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
1. I dont see the reference that a herald can fit on a Hellflayer.
The entry clearly say transport capacity is Alluress only.
Furthermore, an allures can not disembark a chariot, so a herald can not embark a hellflayer mid game.
This and the fact that heralds dont have the option to get a hellflayer is in short, a No.
2. No bonus with new chariots. "Chariot of Slaanesh" is a specific piece of wargear you must buy to get the bonus.
"Seeker chariots" are not accociated with that piece of wargear other than in fluff.
Even if the words Chariot of slaanesh would normally include all chariots, its a clear reference to that specific wargear you can no longer buy.
An other question though, would The Masque be able to embark a chariot that has previously been disembarked by an ordinary Herald?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/10 05:33:18
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/10 06:08:05
Subject: Re:daemon update questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
My copy of the White Dwarf says that the listed transport capacity for a Hellflayers of Slaanesh is: 1 (Exalted Alluress or Herald of Slaanesh only)
. So obviously a herald could get onto one, if it were somehow available as an option (which it isn't, according to the supplied list).
Under Seeker Chariots of Slaanesh, you'll see a note saying that Exalted Alluress cannot disembark from a Seeker Chariot or Exalted Seeker Chariot. The designer's note for the Hellflayer simply says that destroying the hellflayer causes its rider to be removed from play.
But none of that matters, since all of those chariots are listed as Vehicle (Chariot, Fast, Open-topped). Note the distinct lack of the Transport type, meaning that models can neither embark or disembark during the game. Instead, you get the one rider and/or crew that reside on the vehicle permenantly.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/10 06:08:58
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/10 06:15:46
Subject: daemon update questions
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
The rules for Chariots imply that they are also Transports ("... differ from other Transports...").
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/10 07:38:31
Subject: Re:daemon update questions
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
solkan wrote:My copy of the White Dwarf says that the listed transport capacity for a Hellflayers of Slaanesh is: 1 (Exalted Alluress or Herald of Slaanesh only)
. So obviously a herald could get onto one, if it were somehow available as an option (which it isn't, according to the supplied list).
Interresting, my WD update booklet say Hellflayers have transport capacity 1 Exalted Alluress only, but the seeker chariot say it can carry alluress or herald.
I dont see the point in calling it transport capacity if you are not able to disembark with the Herald.
The note saying the Alluress is destroyed with the chariot indicate that this is an exeption to normal rules for disembarking Chariots, no?
So about chariot transport.
1. Can the chariot operate even without a Herald? Normal transports dont need passengers after all.
2. Yes, I would say the Masque can embark an unoccupied chariot.
3. Was I wrong to assume you can disembark a chariot?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/10 09:43:26
Subject: daemon update questions
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Hellflayers have no option for a Herald in my copy of the supplement.
1) Yes they can operate just fine without an owner
2) Yep, just fine
3) You can disembark if allowed. An exalted alluress isnt allowed to, but nothing restricts a herald.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/11 14:31:12
Subject: Re:daemon update questions
|
 |
Alessio Cavatore
United Socialist Republic of Maryland
|
As per #2 in the OP. How are Chariots of Tzeentch and the Jugger chariot classified? I do not have the update. are they covered in it? (As neither are mentioned in the beck of the BRB.) Are the heralds treated as jump infantry and infantry respectively?
|
"Stupidity is usually fatal" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/11 15:21:20
Subject: daemon update questions
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Same as in the codex, no change
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/11 21:42:42
Subject: daemon update questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Good catch, but doesn't really change anything.
The same sentence that tells you that the Chariot is a Transport continues to say:
They differ from other Transports in that they can only carry a single passenger - a character - referred to herafter as the rider.
The entry for the Hellflayers of Slaanesh on page 5 specifies one character, the Exalted Alluress. The entry on page 6 specifies that a herald can take a Seeker Chariot or an Exalted Seeker Chariot with the note "the Herald replacs the Exalted Alluress".
In other words, the unit entry is giving you a chariot and a character, and the chariot can only carry that specific character.
If the rider ever gets out, you have two options:
1. The chariot now has no rider. The chariot rule says that only the rider can be carried, so no one can ever get back on.
2. The rider has disembarked, the chariot rule says that only the rider can be carried, so no one else can ever on.
Of course, given the other potential errors in that supplement, it's anyone's guess how those chariots are supposed to work. According to the Designer's Note, the Exalted Alluress gets destroyed when the chariot does. Presumably that would mean that even if the Alluress mananged to disembark and get all the way across the table, the shame of having the chariot wrecked would destroy it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/12 04:02:16
Subject: Re:daemon update questions
|
 |
Malicious Mutant Scum
|
it is possible to have the rider die without the chariot dieing in melee they pick to attack the rider or chariot, but on the upside we get plues 1 to our armor save  yay 6up o wait ill just take my 5 up
|
Dream Crush |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/13 04:55:06
Subject: Re:daemon update questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Nashville, TN
|
Also the Masque cannot ride any chariots, she is a herald but she is NOT an independent character. Which is what you need to get into the chariot.
Also, from looking at it the rider can die in assault and the chariot live on, for a herald to jump into but that's about it. Would be kinda funny to have riderless chariots just milling about.
And I'm trying to run six of the chariots in my army, even if they are brittle spikey rhinos!
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/13 04:57:33
Joe Smash. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/13 05:07:10
Subject: Re:daemon update questions
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Nuwisha wrote:Also the Masque cannot ride any chariots, she is a herald but she is NOT an independent character. Which is what you need to get into the chariot.
No such rule exists.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|