Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/10 08:25:03
Subject: Specialist weapon extra attack rules question
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
I am a little confused on what the wording means. Sorry if this was hashed out before, but I couldn't find it in the archives. Please send me the link if there is already a thread on this. What I've got so far:
Pg 24: Number of Attacks: +1 Two Weapons: 'Engaged models with two single handed weapons [ ] get +1 Attack. Models with more than two weapons gain no additional benefit; you only get one extra Attack, even if you have four arms and a sword in each."
Pg 42: Specialist Weapons: "A model fighting with this weapon does not receive +1 Attack for fighting with two weapons unless both weapons have the Specialist Weapon rule."
Pg 51: More than One Weapon: "If a model has more than one melee weapon, he must choose which one to attack with when he comes to strike blows - he cannot mix and match the abilities of several different Melee weapons."
Nob with Power Klaw and Slugga:
1 Does not get an extra attack if he fights with his Power Klaw. (Pretty sure)
2. Does get an extra attack if he fights with his Slugga. (Not sure)
3. Mad Dok Grotsnik with Power Klaw, Slugga, and 'Urty Syringe will get an extra attack if he fights with his Slugga and 'Urty Syringe. (Now I am really confused)
Any links and references will be appreciated. Thank you.
|
I don't write the rules. My ego just lives and dies by them one model at a time. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/10 09:30:20
Subject: Specialist weapon extra attack rules question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
1) Correct
2) Incorrect, as he is still fighting with the weapon, he just isnt attacking ith the weapon
3) Yes, as he has two weapons without specialist
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/10 09:35:44
Subject: Specialist weapon extra attack rules question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Indiana
|
Slugga only becomes a CC weapon if he has no other weapon, however it counts as an extra weapon to get the bonus attacks with weapons that are not two handed or specialist.
So:
1. is no
2. Cant use the slugga as a primary CC weaponsso two is irrelevent
3. Yes because he is choosing to use those two weapons this round and since neither of them has the specialist or two handed rules they may be used together for +1 attack
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/10 09:45:35
Subject: Specialist weapon extra attack rules question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Leth wrote:Slugga only becomes a CC weapon if he has no other weapon, however it counts as an extra weapon to get the bonus attacks with weapons that are not two handed or specialist.
So:
1. is no
2. Cant use the slugga as a primary CC weaponsso two is irrelevent
3. Yes because he is choosing to use those two weapons this round and since neither of them has the specialist or two handed rules they may be used together for +1 attack
Incorrect, see page 51 and 52. A pistol is ALWAYS a CCW
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/10 11:05:08
Subject: Specialist weapon extra attack rules question
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Nos; you are also Incorrect on #2(and technically #3).
No where in the rules does it state that you are fighting with anything other than the weapon you are making your attacks with.
The rule for gaining bonus attacks via multiple weapons only requires you to have multiple weapons.
You no longer "Fight with" 2+ weapons.
In 6th you check to see if you have more than 1 weapon, you then decide which weapon you are fighting with, you then check to see if the weapon you are fighting with(or any wargear your model posses) has any special rules preventing the 2-weapon bonus.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/10 11:17:40
Subject: Specialist weapon extra attack rules question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Hmm, they havent made it very clear - they reference "fight" but in the different CCW section nevber mention that your selected weapon is what you are fighting with, and the Specialist weapons rule indicates you ARE fighting with both weapons
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/10 14:39:01
Subject: Re:Specialist weapon extra attack rules question
|
 |
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest
|
If that were true, you could never receive the +1A bonus - since you always have to pick one weapon to resolve your attacks with. You can never "fight with" more than one weapon, unless "fight with" merely refers to the model possessing them.
|
"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/10 15:50:47
Subject: Specialist weapon extra attack rules question
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
Erie, Pa.
|
Jon answer to your question:
#1&2 A nob with a power claw and slugga doesn't get the extra "pistol" melee cc attack since the claw is a specialist weapon and the slugga "pistol" is not.
#3 im also slightly confused but the codex states the urty syringe is just a "poisoned weapon" since it has no additional rules if would fall under a close combat weapon & thereby being combined with the slugga conferring the +1A, but if he uses the power claw it is a specialist weapon and since the doc don't have another "specialist weapons" you only that weapon with no +1A (unless you assault which is a different conversation).
|
new ork |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/10 16:02:48
Subject: Specialist weapon extra attack rules question
|
 |
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver
Oklahoma
|
The way I read the rules into this one:
1. no bonus
2. no bonus
3. no bonus
3 gets no bonus because in the codex or FAQ or BRB does it say that poisoned weapons (or Urty Syringe) are specialist weapons, therefore Grotsnik does not get the bonus attack.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/10 16:04:52
Subject: Specialist weapon extra attack rules question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Urty Syringe basically means that those attacks are Poisoned(4+). It in itself is not a weapon.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/11 02:24:25
Subject: Specialist weapon extra attack rules question
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Hmm, they havent made it very clear - they reference "fight" but in the different CCW section nevber mention that your selected weapon is what you are fighting with, and the Specialist weapons rule indicates you ARE fighting with both weapons
I'm going to go ahead and agree with you on this after some rereading.
The only rules the concern models "Fighting with" weapons is the Specialist weapon rule. And since the Specialist weapon declares the bonus attack for 2 weapons to be a bonus for "Fighting with" 2 weapons than it is required both for attacks made and for it to account for the supporting weapon.
Previous understanding: A Specialist weapon could not gain a bonus attack from a second non-specialist weapon; but a Non-specialist weapon could gain a bonus attack from a second Specialist weapon because there was no need to apply the specialist weapon rule to the general "Fighting with 2 weapons" bonus in this case,.
Revised understanding: The specialist rule references the specialist weapon as both the primary and supporting weapon; unless there are 2 Specialist weapons(or 2 non-specialist weapons) invloved, you can never gain a bonus attack with a specialist and a non-specialist weapon.
Fragile: What part of "Urty Syringe is a poison weapon" makes urty syringe not a weapon?
Paitryn: A slugga(melee weapon without SW) and an Urty Syringe(Melee weapon without SW) can be used together to gain a bonus attack; Grotsnik gets a bonus attack when not using the PK.
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/11 03:42:40
Subject: Specialist weapon extra attack rules question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Indiana
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Leth wrote:Slugga only becomes a CC weapon if he has no other weapon, however it counts as an extra weapon to get the bonus attacks with weapons that are not two handed or specialist.
So:
1. is no
2. Cant use the slugga as a primary CC weaponsso two is irrelevent
3. Yes because he is choosing to use those two weapons this round and since neither of them has the specialist or two handed rules they may be used together for +1 attack
Incorrect, see page 51 and 52. A pistol is ALWAYS a CCW
You are correct, I was mis-remembering something from the particle caster bonus attack issue
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/11 16:03:15
Subject: Specialist weapon extra attack rules question
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
Paitryn wrote:3 gets no bonus because in the codex or FAQ or BRB does it say that poisoned weapons (or Urty Syringe) are specialist weapons, therefore Grotsnik does not get the bonus attack.
Reference for Poison Weapons being Specialist? It is not in the Poisoned special rule, pg 40 of the rule book, or the Mad Dok's description on pg 59 of the Ork Codex, nor anywhere that I can find in the Ork FAQ. Would you please be more precise as to the location of this information? Automatically Appended Next Post: I know that RAI is that the two Specialist weapons are supposed to be the same to get the +1 Attack bonus, but the Specialist Weapon rule only states that both weapons have to have the SW rule, not that they have to be the same weapon. If a model has two different SWs, will they get the extra attack?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/11 16:10:09
I don't write the rules. My ego just lives and dies by them one model at a time. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/11 16:30:38
Subject: Specialist weapon extra attack rules question
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
To your second question, yes you can take (for example) a powerfist and lightning claw, and claim the bonus attack. You just don't get both weapon bonuses.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
|