Switch Theme:

Battle Brother Rules  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Saint Louis Mo

Okay so I'm going to be turning my Dark Eldar host into a full Eldar/Dark Eldar army. I was reading the rules and I noticed that I can place Eldrad with a Dark Eldar unit being that allied IC can join your main forces units with the battle brother alliance. However theirs also a rule saying allied units can't embark in your main forces transports would this also apply to the ICs that have joined units? This is crucial for me being that Dark Eldar do best when deployed in their transports, and to have Eldrad keep up with buffing squads he would also have to be deployed in transport.


 
   
Made in jp
Furious Raptor





Osaka, Japan

Eldrad will only hold hands with his dark eldar brethren out in the open but not inside a dark transport.

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





See I would say no he can't go in it. But some folks say the min. a IC joins an other unit he becomes just another member of the unit.

So things like psychic powers for just other codex units would work for them so by extension of this call so would their transport .

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/12 15:44:56


 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Since ICs become part of the unit they join, he is actually technically a Dark Eldar unit and can enter the Transport. And the other way around if a DE IC joins an Eldar unit.

If the rule was that models cannot enter an ally's transport it would be different.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/12 16:10:38


Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Grey Templar wrote:Since ICs become part of the unit they join, he is actually technically a Dark Eldar unit and can enter the Transport.

No, he can't.

He's a part of a Dark Eldar unit, but he's still an ally model from a different codex.

 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Who is a member of the Dark Eldar unit for all rule purposes.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Utah

He is considered a friendly unit for all rules purposes, not a member of another army.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

While an Independent Character is part of a unit, he counts as part of the unit for all rule purposes, though he still follows the rules for characters.


Not he is considered a friendly unit for all rules purposes but as part of the unit. This means if a Farseer joins a group of Kabalite Warriors, the n for all rule purposes he is part of the Kabalite Warriors.


Edit: Poor wording was poor.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/12 20:27:31


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Happyjew wrote:Who is a member of the Dark Eldar unit for all rule purposes.

Yes, I'm not contesting the fact that he is part of the unit.

But that doesn't change the fact that he came from a different codex. There is nothing in the rules for joining a unit that says that all members of the unit are treated as being from the same codex. He is a part of the unit for all rules purposes, but being a part of the unit has no bearing on which codex he came from.

 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Insaniak, we disagreed last time this came up, and we're going to disagree next time. I say we call it and leave it at that.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Saint Louis Mo

See that's the trouble I'm having is the wording says any ally UNIT however an IC is not a unit they are an IC and are a part of the UNIT they join. That has always been my understanding of the rule.

From what I'm reading though he would be counted as a stand alone unit at all times. However since only one unit can deploy in a DT would that also mean that IC characters of the same army wouldn't be able to deploy in DT with the unit that occupies it due to their individual unit stats.


 
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Utah

The exact wording is:

"However, note that not even Battle Brothers can embark in allied transports."

The Farseer is Eldar, and even when he joins a unit of Dark Eldar he does so as a friendly unit and Battle Brother. He is still a Battle Brother, even if leading Kabalite Warriors.
   
Made in us
Angry Blood Angel Assault marine





Walnut Creek, CA

For what it's worth, I'm on the "can't join" boat. It simply says "Not even Battle Brothers can embark in allied transport vehicles." I am having trouble where anyone can read that otherwise...

Ninja'd

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/12 21:16:45


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Saint Louis Mo

so taking Eldrad and any farseers would be completely pointless for me unless the Eldar have an open topped transport or one with fire points which I don't think they do. I could prehaps take a farseer on a bike I don't know I'll figure it out thanks Dakka!


 
   
Made in pl
Kelne





Warsaw, Poland

Interesting interpretation. I assumed that that he wouldn't be able to embark, but now I have my doubts.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Captain Antivas wrote:The exact wording is:

"However, note that not even Battle Brothers can embark in allied transports."

This.

The unit they are currently a part of is completely irrelevant. If they come from an allied codex, then they are an ally... which means they can't ride in an ally's transport.

 
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Peoria IL

insaniak wrote:
Captain Antivas wrote:The exact wording is:

"However, note that not even Battle Brothers can embark in allied transports."

This.

The unit they are currently a part of is completely irrelevant. If they come from an allied codex, then they are an ally... which means they can't ride in an ally's transport.


This. It doesn't say model or unit. It flat out says, Battle Brothers can't hop in an allied ride. That's it. You can't even debate the definition of "only" on this one.

DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0

QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge






Like Eldar Psychic Powers though, for an example "Fortune" it says target an "Eldar Unit".

I think it has been agreed that if a Dark Eldar IC joins an Eldar unit it become an Eldar Unit and hence can be targeted by Fortune.

Hence, since the Archon is now an Eldar Unit it can embark an allied vehicle.

There's no actual RAW to support these things right now, guess we will just have to wait for a FAQ

40K:
5000+ points W/D/L: 10/0/6
4000+ points W/D/L: 7/0/4
1500+ points W/D/L: 16/1/4

Fantasy
4000+ points W/D/L: 1/1/2
2500+ points W/D/L: 0/0/3
Legends 2013 Doubles Tournament Champion  
   
Made in fi
Dakka Veteran




Makutsu wrote:Like Eldar Psychic Powers though, for an example "Fortune" it says target an "Eldar Unit".
I think it has been agreed that if a Dark Eldar IC joins an Eldar unit it become an Eldar Unit and hence can be targeted by Fortune.
Yes, he is now part of an Eldar unit and he can benefit from Psychic Powers that target Eldar units.
Makutsu wrote:
Hence, since the Archon is now an Eldar Unit it can embark an allied vehicle.
No, he is part of an Eldar unit but that doesn't mean he somehow stops being a Battle Brother, who are explicitly denied ability to ride in allied transports.
Makutsu wrote: There's no actual RAW to support these things right now, guess we will just have to wait for a FAQ

There is RAW support for not being able to embark on allied transport.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/13 14:05:59


 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge






Luide wrote:
Makutsu wrote:Like Eldar Psychic Powers though, for an example "Fortune" it says target an "Eldar Unit".
I think it has been agreed that if a Dark Eldar IC joins an Eldar unit it become an Eldar Unit and hence can be targeted by Fortune.
Yes, he is now part of an Eldar unit and he can benefit from Psychic Powers that target Eldar units.
Makutsu wrote:
Hence, since the Archon is now an Eldar Unit it can embark an allied vehicle.
No, he is part of an Eldar unit but that doesn't mean he somehow stops being a Battle Brother, who are explicitly denied ability to ride in allied transports.
Makutsu wrote: There's no actual RAW to support these things right now, guess we will just have to wait for a FAQ

There is RAW support for not being able to embark on allied transport.


I am not trying to start a war or anything, but is there an actual rule in terms of saying what happens when an IC joins a unit though?

40K:
5000+ points W/D/L: 10/0/6
4000+ points W/D/L: 7/0/4
1500+ points W/D/L: 16/1/4

Fantasy
4000+ points W/D/L: 1/1/2
2500+ points W/D/L: 0/0/3
Legends 2013 Doubles Tournament Champion  
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Yes. The IC rules say he becomes a part of the unit.

They don't say that he no longer counts as having been selected from a different codex.

Hes still a Battle Brother. He still can't ride in their transport.

 
   
Made in us
Alessio Cavatore




United Socialist Republic of Maryland

So cab Battle Brother IC's join allied units in reserve?

"Stupidity is usually fatal" 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: