Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/13 18:45:42
Subject: Swarmlord and Eldrad
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
Not sure how the rules for number of allowed rerolls works with Eldrad and the Swarmlord.
Swarmlord can make you re-roll a sucessfull Invuln save.
Eldrad can re-roll a failed Invuln save.
Usually you can only re-roll a die once. But in this case I can see a wierd re-roll from heck going on.
Swarmlord rolls, hits and wounds.
Eldrad fails his Invuln. He choses to to re-roll is Invuln and makes it.
Swarmlord can then make him re-roll that successful save.
Eldrad then has to re-roll his re-roll (and I'm not sure he is allowed to).
Am I missing something or can something like this happen and is it leagal?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/13 18:46:48
Subject: Swarmlord and Eldrad
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
When two rules interact like that (reroll both successful and failed results) just roll the die once and don't re-roll. It has the same outcome and takes less time.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/13 18:52:54
Subject: Swarmlord and Eldrad
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
The above is true and generally accepted.
Now, the real question is what to do with specific re rolls. For example, Objuaration Mechanicum and Twin linked weapons.
A twin linked heavy Bolter rolls three dice, and two are hits, but one is a 6. It is re rolled because of Objuration Mechanicum, and misses. Can twin linked be used to re roll that re roll?
Then, the third shot, a miss, is re rolled and hits on a 6. Obj. Mech. makes this be re rolled, but it's already a reroll! And if this re roll is a miss, if applicable, can that be re rolled again due to twin linked?
And remember, dont divide by zero kids!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/13 19:00:39
Subject: Swarmlord and Eldrad
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
jifel wrote:The above is true and generally accepted.
Now, the real question is what to do with specific re rolls. For example, Objuaration Mechanicum and Twin linked weapons.
That can get really messy with Nids. Take a unit like a tervigon with toxin sacs and has PE from a nearby Tyrant that gets hit by OM. She attacks a T6 unit and decides to not Smash.
So Tervigon rolls to hit and then rolls to wound. He gets a 6. OM makes him re-roll.
She gets a 2 and then she gets to re-roll from her TS.
She gets a 1 on her reroll. (and this is where I think the rules end RAW, but in theory she still has a reroll from PE.)
And that is without the scything talons/ PE/OM sillyness.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/13 19:03:07
Subject: Swarmlord and Eldrad
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
It really does not get messy. The rules are perfectly clear. You can never re-roll a specific roll more than once regardless of the source.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/13 19:07:48
Subject: Swarmlord and Eldrad
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The last FAQ on that was when you were faced with rerolls regardless of outcome, you just rolled once and took initial results.
For the Terv example, the first roll to wound would stand since OM would make your reroll the success and TS would make you reroll the failure.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/13 21:04:05
Subject: Swarmlord and Eldrad
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
OK
Re-rolls Can happen only once correct? We all agree on this.
So Eldrad takes a wound has to make 1 save.
He saves it. The TS force him to reroll saved wounds correct? So he rerolls fails takes a wound. DONE ROLLING
Other senario he rolls his save fails it there for TS rule does not apply he rerolls save due to fortune and saves it No wound.
Re roll are for the first roll of the dice and none other so apply the reroll rule to the first save roll and follow that.
Its like rocket surgery. IMPOSSIBLE
I have a question for everyone... Why so much rules manipulation. If ya just played the game in its simplest fashion its quite fun to play.
|
In a dog eat dog be a cat. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/13 21:09:13
Subject: Swarmlord and Eldrad
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The actual FAQ example was Swarmlord and Eldrad.
Eldrad can reroll a failed invulnerable save.
Swarmlord makes you reroll successful invulnerable saves.
Swarmlord strikes Eldrad and causes a wound. Eldrad rolls the dice. That result stands.
Lung.. you have TS mixed up a bit there.
also.. these forums serve two purposes.. first, its a great way to learn the rules is by finding the answers to questions.. secondly there are people that manipulate on purpose so its good to have already heard the argument here first.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/13 21:11:18
Subject: Swarmlord and Eldrad
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Lungpickle wrote:I have a question for everyone... Why so much rules manipulation. If ya just played the game in its simplest fashion its quite fun to play.
It's almost like someone could enjoy doing both.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/16 00:18:09
Subject: Re:Swarmlord and Eldrad
|
 |
Malicious Mutant Scum
|
i would think it works the same way null-zone interacts with fateweaver simple countering each other out no rerolls
|
Dream Crush |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/16 00:24:03
Subject: Swarmlord and Eldrad
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
The RAW is that there is no conflict.
Fortune: If you failed the first save, you re-roll.
Swarmlord: If you passed the first save, you re-roll.
There's no conflict between them.
The rules also specifically forbid re-rolling a die which has already been re-rolled, so again, no conflict.
------------
Of course, since a model which is under the effect of both of the above special rules has to re-roll ALL of their saves (successful or not), the FAQ advised it can be a useful timesaver to just say that those rules cancel out.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
|