Switch Theme:

number of weapons usable rule question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker




PEI, Canada

My basic units in my SW army come with a bolt pistol, CC weapon and boltgun. If i replace the boltgun with a melta gun (which is 2 handed on the model i believe?) do i still retain either other weapon since the model has no free hands to wield them. Also if models appearance doesnt matter for rules and only the boltgun is replaced, would i still have the pistol and CC weapon equipped count as 2 CC weapons for the +1 in melee? so scenarios being:
weapon is held in 2 hands = only weapon equipable
weapon replaces boltgun = can only have 2 weapons cause of only 2 arms for 1 CC weapon
weapon replaces boltgun = still have 2 CC weapons listed in wargear for +1 attack in melee

thanks for any insight!
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Escanaba Mi

As far as Ive every believed you are only replacing the bolter in this case, if you give a plas pistol then you replace the bolt pistola and so on.
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

1) Does the meltagun replace the boltgun?
2) Does the meltagun replace all other weapons?

These are the two questions you are asking essentially. Look at the wording of the codex, it says it replaces the bolter. The rules are permissive, you can't do anything the rules don't allow you to do.

So it is always a case of have all the wargear bar the bolter you switch for a meltagun.


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in ca
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker




PEI, Canada

it reads "One Grey Hunter may replace his bolter with one of the following:"
and wargear reads:
Power armor
close combat weapon
bolt pistol
bolter
frag and krak grenades

i assumed this meant i could use my melta gun and still maintain the 2 CC weapon for the +1 attack, but i wasnt positive to i wanted to check if there was some random rule i didnt know about.
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

Yes you keep the pistol and ccw and gain +1 attacks.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

The weapon you fire in the Shooting phase has no bearing on what weapon(s) you attack with in close combat.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in ca
Speedy Swiftclaw Biker




PEI, Canada

perfect, thats what i needed to know. Thank you =)
   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

To clear up any confusion with any other similar issues. There are no BRB restrictions on the number of weapons a model may carry. Indeed, if the Codex would allow, you could have 4 or 5 close combat weapons - this is why the BRB has to state that you only ever get +1A for having more than one close combat weapon.

The only time single/twohanded weapons comes into play is the Two-Handed special rule, which covers what it needs to in terms of the weapons you can *use*.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: