| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/14 09:32:40
Subject: Look out sir
|
 |
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot
|
Hi all
I'm confused - is Look out Sir working in shooting phase or in assault too?
Can I use Look out Sir after I've made (and failed) my armour save?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/14 09:37:52
My works
http://spellscape.blogspot.com/
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/14 09:47:15
Subject: Look out sir
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Assault too.
You make the roll once a wound has been allocated to a character. If the character and squad have the same save, LOS rolls would happen after saves.
If they have different saves, the LOS would happen before saves.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/15 04:34:32
Subject: Look out sir
|
 |
Pewling Menial
Phoenix, AZ
|
grendel083 wrote:Assault too.
You make the roll once a wound has been allocated to a character. If the character and squad have the same save, LOS rolls would happen after saves.
If they have different saves, the LOS would happen before saves.
Grendel you could make the LOS roll before (and take the unsaved wound on the new model) or after your character failed his armor save (and the new model would then take the wound). If you look at the rule for LOS it states that you may attempt you make a LOS roll on any saved or unsaved wound.
I am at work and do not have the BRB in front of me but as soon as I get home I will put the exact quote and page number. I believe it is in the first sentence of the rule. Was at my FLGS last Thursday and they pointed this out to me. I shuddered when i thought about a Harliestar with a 2++ reroll then the 2+ LOS....Still have nightmares.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/08/15 04:38:50
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/15 04:43:06
Subject: Look out sir
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
It says that because you allocate at different times depending on mixed saves or not.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/15 09:22:17
Subject: Look out sir
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Druid - you dont get a choice on when you roll LOS!, it is when a wound is allocated. This is before or after saves, depending on if there are mixed saves in the unit or not. In the case of an archon in a unit of harlies, the saves are different so you MUST roll LOS! before rolling saves.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/15 10:06:38
Subject: Look out sir
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Can you LOS an allocated wound from a 6 to hit (from a character)?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/15 10:48:41
Subject: Look out sir
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Precision Strike? Yes, it is an allocated wound
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/15 18:29:10
Subject: Look out sir
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Precision Strike? Yes, it is an allocated wound
Kind of defeats the whole purpose it seems lol
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/15 18:52:14
Subject: Look out sir
|
 |
Aspirant Tech-Adept
|
Formosa wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:Precision Strike? Yes, it is an allocated wound
Kind of defeats the whole purpose it seems lol
Precision strikes is useful against special weapons and heavy weapons as they are usually not characters.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/16 15:51:18
Subject: Look out sir
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Formosa wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:Precision Strike? Yes, it is an allocated wound
Kind of defeats the whole purpose it seems lol
Ive used it, a lot, as a mini torrent to force saves on melta, plasma, even risking the pfist toting sarge as he only gets a 4+. Very useful
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/17 08:51:03
Subject: Look out sir
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Do this for each group of wounds in the wound pool
All saves the same: Roll all saves, Allocate Unsaved Wound, LOS or not, roll FnP (If all models have the same FnP, you can roll all FnP when you roll the saves)
Mixed saves: Allocate Wound, LOS or not, roll saves, roll FnP...
The key is that LOS triggers immediately on the *allocation*.
So *no* taking a save and then LOS
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/17 09:06:32
Subject: Look out sir
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
|
coredump has it.
To reiterate:
Two situations:
Situation 1
Entire unit / group has same save. (ie, Marines have 3+). Roll all saves in one go, remove casualties for each failed save. In this case, you are allocating unsaved wounds to the unit. When you come to allocate an unsaved wound to a character, you may attempt Look Out Sir. If you pass Look Out Sir, the another model is removed as a casualty (or just takes an unsaved wound, if it has more than one wound)
Situation 2
Model has unique save. (ie, character may have a 2+, within a unit that has 3+). Since this model has a 2+ save, while the others have a 3+, it can not be included in the group rolling (as shown above). In this case, you will be rolling saves for this model specifically - you are allocating wounds to the model BEFORE they are saved. In this case, you must declare Look out Sir and roll it BEFORE you roll your save. If you pass Look Out Sir - the model that takes the wound then rolls its save.
You perform Look Out Sir immediately after the wound has been allocated. If saves would be taken after allocation - it happens before saves are taken.. If saves have already been taken before allocation, the model that takes the wound never gets any saves after Look Out Sir.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|