Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/15 18:52:15
Subject: casting a vortex whilst the caster in combat
|
 |
Automated Space Wolves Thrall
|
so me and a friend had a dispute in a recent game
my dark elves came up against his ogres, and a level 4 wizard inside an ogre unit opted to use purple sun
not a problem of course, however, this particular ogre caster was locked into combat with my black ark corsairs. the result would have been that half the unit, an adjacent spearman unit and my supreme sorceress would be wiped out.
i insist though that the spellmaker in question couldnt cast whilst locked in combat, logically a caster should be too busy fighting to be able to focus their mental power into such a spell.
looking through the rule book, sadly, we found no such rule stating anything
to emphasise, we looked at casting INTO combat, as a vortex that is no problem, the problem here is that the sorcerer himself shouldnt be able to cast it at all.
my argument takes from wood elves when i used the forest moving spell, it states the spell can be used whilst in combat, thus we can assume any spell that doesnt state so, CANT be used whilst in combat.
his argument is that he wants to hurt my army.
we need a decision maker here please!!!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/15 20:51:20
Subject: casting a vortex whilst the caster in combat
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The BRB has like 4 rules that apply to all spells unless stated otherwise. One is that the caster can't be in combat.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/15 21:25:31
Subject: Re:casting a vortex whilst the caster in combat
|
 |
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior
|
Actually, it says the caster may not target a unit in combat, not that the caster can't be in combat (bullet #4). "Wizards cannot target spells at units engaged in close combat."
Purple Sun is a vortex, and Vortex spells do not target. "A magical vortex does not have a target..."
Casting Purple Sun out of combat, whether to run it through a unit engaged or not, is perfectly legal.
|
I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/15 21:44:42
Subject: casting a vortex whilst the caster in combat
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
That's right, it's only magic missiles. Not sure how I forgot that.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/16 15:52:25
Subject: Re:casting a vortex whilst the caster in combat
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Just make sure he used the Vortex rules correctly too.
Vortices start in BtB with the caster's front arc and go in a straight line within his front arc. You don't place them whereever you want.
Alot of people mess this up and it peeves me.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/16 20:00:56
Subject: Re:casting a vortex whilst the caster in combat
|
 |
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior
|
Nothing says a vortex has to move within the caster's frontal arc, only that it must start there. If the caster wished, he could run it through his own unit to affect something at the rear of his unit.
|
I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/16 20:04:41
Subject: Re:casting a vortex whilst the caster in combat
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
You are indeed correct, although no Ogre player is going to do this. I won't even take Death because PS is in the running.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/16 21:25:32
Subject: Re:casting a vortex whilst the caster in combat
|
 |
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior
|
I wasn't trying to comment on the viability. Frankly, I didn't even remember the Ogres part.
|
I suggest you don't believe anything posted by thedarkavenger unless confirmed by other regular posters here at Dakka. He has shown he is incapable of basic English comprehension.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/20 20:27:35
Subject: Re:casting a vortex whilst the caster in combat
|
 |
Automated Space Wolves Thrall
|
thanks for some of the help
but its trailed back to casting INTO combat, not WHILST IN combat ><
i KNOW vortexes can be cast wherever, i asked whether you can cast the spell at all whilst in the middle of a fight???
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/20 23:49:24
Subject: casting a vortex whilst the caster in combat
|
 |
Excellent Exalted Champion of Chaos
Lake Forest, California, South Orange County
|
Page 31, BRB.
The ONLY type of spell that can't be cast while the wizard is in combat is a magic missile. That spell type says so in the last sentence of it's paragraph.
The other spell types do not have such a rule in their descriptions.
|
"Bryan always said that if the studio ever had to mix with the manufacturing and sales part of the business it would destroy the studio. And I have to say – he wasn’t wrong there! ... It’s become the promotions department of a toy company." -- Rick Priestly
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/22 06:01:18
Subject: casting a vortex whilst the caster in combat
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
Direct damage have it too.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/22 06:18:59
Subject: casting a vortex whilst the caster in combat
|
 |
Excellent Exalted Champion of Chaos
Lake Forest, California, South Orange County
|
FAQ?
The description on page 31 does not say that direct damage can't be cast WHILE in combat. It says it can't be cast INTO combat. Not all direct damage spells require LoS, and could therefore be cast by a wizard in combat at a unit that is not in combat.
|
"Bryan always said that if the studio ever had to mix with the manufacturing and sales part of the business it would destroy the studio. And I have to say – he wasn’t wrong there! ... It’s become the promotions department of a toy company." -- Rick Priestly
|
|
 |
 |
|