Switch Theme:

Mycetic Spores can contest?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Dakka Veteran




Reading - UK

They say they are MC's...So, that means they can contest objectives right?

Is there anything i'm missing?
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Sounds correct to me.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in nl
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine





The Netherlands

It doesn't have a rule that it can't contest, so yeah, I suppose that's correct. Which would also mean that if you buy it as a Dedicated Transport for a Troops unit like 'Gants or Warriors, it's even a scoring model, if I'm not mistaken.

   
Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

Also means it counts for Linebreaker.

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Redemption wrote:It doesn't have a rule that it can't contest, so yeah, I suppose that's correct. Which would also mean that if you buy it as a Dedicated Transport for a Troops unit like 'Gants or Warriors, it's even a scoring model, if I'm not mistaken.

... That has never occurred to me throughout 5th or until now.
Thanks.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran




Reading - UK

lol, scoring as well if dedicated transoprt? Is that correct? it doesnt sound right, f me if it is. Whole pod of awesome sauce.
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Yep, it sounds correct. While it is a 'dedicated transport', it is not a vehicle, so can be a scoring/denial unit.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





"An army's scoring units are normally all the units that
come from the troops selection of the Force Organisation
Fighting chart"

Pods for troops come from the troops selection of the FOC.
They aren't restricted by the following bullet points.

Pods score.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran




Reading - UK

oh wow. hmmm, how many dedicated pods can i fit into this list...
So just to confirm, a dedicated transport that can score is only one that carrys troops (a scoring unit)?

Guys, thanks for that insight. made my day.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





L0rdF1end wrote:oh wow. hmmm, how many dedicated pods can i fit into this list...
So just to confirm, a dedicated transport that can score is only one that carrys troops (a scoring unit)?

Right - something from the Troops section of the FOC.

In Big Guns Never Tire a pod for a Carnifex would be scoring as well - since it's a HS choice.

Guys, thanks for that insight. made my day.

Mine too!

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Yep, and ANY pod is a denial unit.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws



Sioux Falls, SD

This would also mean in big guns never tire, one taken for a heavy support would be worth a VP when killed. Well at least this is an upside since they still disembark like 5th ed vehicles rather than the new 6th edition rules.

Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius!  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Sorry guys... The Nid dex specifically says the Spore Pod is always a non-scoring unit.


Still good for denial and line breaker....

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/16 18:32:54


 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Thanks CD!

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





coredump wrote:Sorry guys... The Nid dex specifically says the Spore Pod is always a non-scoring unit.

Page number? It's not on page 54 of the codex with the rest of the Spore rules.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





Oakland, CA

pg 90 in bold

"To crush your opponents, see their figures removed from the table and to hear the lamentations of TFG." -Zathras 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





60mm wrote:pg 90 in bold

Damn, thanks.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in nl
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine





The Netherlands

Ah, missed that sneaky line indeed, thanks.

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




rigeld2 wrote:
coredump wrote:Sorry guys... The Nid dex specifically says the Spore Pod is always a non-scoring unit.

Page number? It's not on page 54 of the codex with the rest of the Spore rules.


Wait.. what?? You expected all the pertinent Spore Pod rules to be mentioned on the spore pod page?

Bite your tongue...

   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

They can't score, but they can still contest.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran




Reading - UK

They do also have Fear, and Smash.. and some sligtly unuseable specail rules such as...

Relentless, Hammer of Wraith and Move through Cover lol.
   
Made in nl
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine





The Netherlands

Move Through Cover still benefits them though, as they now automatically pass any Dangerous Terrain test they have to take for landing in terrain.

   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Because Nids really need Relentless...

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Happyjew wrote:Because Nids really need Relentless...

That's almost as good as Raveners with acute senses...

-Myst
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Mysticaria wrote:
Happyjew wrote:Because Nids really need Relentless...

That's almost as good as Raveners with acute senses...

-Myst


Well, if you take a Prime or the Parasite as your Warlord, roll a "3" on Personal Traits, and attach the Warlord to the Raveners, THEN it would be useful...

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran




Reading - UK

Its a pretty good loadout.

So for 40 points, what do we actually get?

A Spore that can not misshap and can not take Difficult Terrain tests.
It has Lash and Fear and Smash.
It has Tenticles which is 6 dice 5's to hit 2's to wound troops and can also glance or even possibly pen armour (AV11 or less).

It also contests objectives and can earn you linbreaker.

Not bad at all.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Ooh. ooh, and it also has no eyes (at least mine doesn't) so it can't draw LOS to a Monolith Portal of Exile.

Of course by that logic, it can't shoot either, but...

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






So wait... if it always counts as a separate unit how does that interact with the reserves rule that Unit + DT only count once fir reserves? Am I required to count the Spod's parent unit?
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

streamdragon wrote:So wait... if it always counts as a separate unit how does that interact with the reserves rule that Unit + DT only count once fir reserves? Am I required to count the Spod's parent unit?


For determining how many units you must deploy and how many you are allowed to place in Reserves, it counts as one unit. Other than that and reserves rolls (don't think there's any other clauses), the pod and the embarked unit will always count as separate units.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Hungry Little Ripper





Happyjew wrote:Ooh. ooh, and it also has no eyes (at least mine doesn't) so it can't draw LOS to a Monolith Portal of Exile.

Of course by that logic, it can't shoot either, but...



The shooty things you can biomorph on a spore have their own eyes. Self aiming?
Of course with a BS of 2, take a Blast template weapon.....

Nom Nom Nom sez the carnifex.
10k hive
3k catachan

Actually nids don't use vowels. Nmm Nmm Nmm... 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: