Switch Theme:

Skimmers and mishaps.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in se
Longtime Dakkanaut





Gothenburg

In the rulebook it says that skimmers/fast skimmers cant be placed on friendly or enemy models, so far so good.
Then a little further down it says that if the skimmer is forced on a model it is put so it ends before the model.

So if a land speeder deepstrikes and scatters on top an enemy model (forced) is it simply moved so it ends up right before the enemy model?

Salamanders W-78 D-55 L-22
Pure Grey Knights W-18 D-10 L-5
Orks W-9 D-6 L-14
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, because the DS model only arrives after any mishap has occured.

If you try to claim that DS scatter is movement, you run into a host of issues...
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

nosferatu1001 wrote:
No, because the DS model only arrives after any mishap has occured.

If you try to claim that DS scatter is movement, you run into a host of issues...


Agreed. And actually the 6th edition Deep Strike rules even got rid of the reference about the initial model moving, now it just says you roll for scatter to determine its final position.

But more importantly, the Deep Strike rules have a specific proviso for what to do when a unit would land where it can't be deployed, so that's what you do.


The skimmer rule being moved off of models is simply there to cover the issue if you tank shock 'over' a friendly/enemy unit to get to something beyond but then end up getting stunned (for example) by a Death or Glory attack, which would cause the vehicle to end its move over something else (which can't happen). In 5th edition, this was a loophole that had to be FAQ'd, but is now covered by the core rules.

But it is not an easter egg to prevent all Deep Striking skimmers from ever suffering a mishap.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in se
Longtime Dakkanaut





Gothenburg

Ah. I thought it sounded to good to be true

Salamanders W-78 D-55 L-22
Pure Grey Knights W-18 D-10 L-5
Orks W-9 D-6 L-14
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: