Switch Theme:

Need Some Clarification On Psychic Powers  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Bloodthirsty Bloodletter




Odessa, TX, USA

Alright, maybe I'm over-complicating myself, but I want to clarify some things on Psychic Powers.

Last edition, MCs could use 2 Psychic Powers, which they could do by swapping out of their shooting attacks; most MCs could shoot two weapons, so you could use two Psychic Powers. I can't seem to find that anywhere in the new rulebook, that MCs can use two Psychic Powers by swapping out of their shooting attacks.

For example, Tyranids can have more than one Psychic Power, although they count as Mastery Level 1 in the FAQ. The Tervigon can actually have 3 total powers, but I guess s/he/it can only use one power according to the Mastery Level per turn.

I also hear of people talking about 'swapping' out powers the Psyker has for Disciplines; I assume you STILL roll randomly on the table rather than actually picking something out.

If this is confusing, I'm basically asking: Can Tervigons/Tyrants use 1 or 2 Psychic Powers per turn? Regardless, I suppose they can have more than one power, but can only use one of them. So, a Tervigon has 3 Psychic Powers, but decides to roll on a Discipline, and can select from the three available powers which to use in its turn.

Anyway, just need some clarification and I'm good! Thanks for looking!
   
Made in us
Fate-Controlling Farseer





Fort Campbell

It all depends on their mastery lvl. If it's 1, then they can only use 1 power a turn that requires 1 warp charge. If it's two then they can cast two differant powers that require 1 charge, or one power that requires 2 charges. Being an MC means nothing in regards to that.

As for the discipline question, yes. You pick it, and then roll a d6 per each power you are getting. Not 3d6 at once like in Fantasy, but one at a time.

Full Frontal Nerdity 
   
Made in us
Bloodthirsty Bloodletter




Odessa, TX, USA

Hm, alright. But a Lvl. 1 CAN have 3 powers, but only chooses one to use in its turn. Because a Tervigon can have 3 Powers from its codex - purchased and one already base - and I can choose to roll on a Discipline 3 times rather than keeping those powers.
   
Made in jp
Furious Raptor





Osaka, Japan

All you get to choose is the discipline. But yes, as you write, nothing is stopping you from rolling on the same table multiple times.

 
   
Made in us
Bloodthirsty Bloodletter




Odessa, TX, USA

Lastly, it looks like from what I've read that you can actually choose from multiple Disciplines rather than just the one, if you wanted.

I also suppose Psykers CAN have the same abilities as others in the Discipline, if you have multiple Psykers.

Whelp, other than that, I think it has been clarified! Thanks!
   
Made in au
Norn Queen






The downside to mixing disciplines is it makes it hard to get a power you actually want unless you roll really lucky.
   
Made in us
Bloodthirsty Bloodletter




Odessa, TX, USA

Yep, exactly why I probably won't be using anything other than Biomancy for Tyranids.

It doesn't pertain to this question, but how many MCs is considered Nidzilla at 1500 pts? I managed to fit in 5 in my list.
   
Made in us
Sister Vastly Superior




Colorado

It is nice that you have to roll the powers one at a time. So you can pick a discipline, roll, if you got the power you want your next roll can be on a different discipline.

When in doubt burn it, then burn yourself for doubting. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: