Switch Theme:

Coteaz, IBEY, and invasion beams  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Dakka Veteran




It seems to me that on the turn a Necron Night Scythe enters and deploys a unit within 12" of Coteaz via Invasion beams, Coteaz and his unit can shoot them, given the GK FAQ about models arriving from reserve being placed on the table and them completing their move, in conjunction with the drop pod ruling.

I expect some pushback on this though in games, any thoughts?
   
Made in gb
Preacher of the Emperor





RAW, they're disembarking, but RAI, I'd say he could. I'd be fine with it, it's fluffy and makes sense.

Veteran Sergeant wrote:If 40K has Future Rifles, and Future Tanks, and Future Artillery, and Future Airplanes and Future Grenades and Future Bombs, then contextually Future Swords seem somewhat questionable to use, since it means crossing Future Open Space to get Future Shot At.
Polonius wrote:I categorically reject any statement that there is such a thing as too much boob.


Coolyo294 wrote:Short answer: No.
Long answer: Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo.
 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Halfpast_Yellow wrote:
It seems to me that on the turn a Necron Night Scythe enters and deploys a unit within 12" of Coteaz via Invasion beams, Coteaz and his unit can shoot them, given the GK FAQ about models arriving from reserve being placed on the table and them completing their move, in conjunction with the drop pod ruling.

I expect some pushback on this though in games, any thoughts?


Regardless of the 'fluff' behind invasion beams, rules-wise units embarked on a Night Scythe count as being embarked on that Night Scythe until the point when the Scythe is destroyed (they then get sent into Reserve).

So when a Night Scythe arrives from standard Reserves, the moment it moves on the board, both it, and the embarked unit inside it count as arriving from Reserves. Based on GW's Grey Knight FAQ, that is when you check range for Coteaz and resolve the shooting if applicable for both the Scythe and its embarked unit.

So no, if the Scythe then finishes its move and dumps its passengers in front of Coteaz you would not suddenly get to shoot at them because they haven't just arrived from Reseve (which per the FAQ is checked at the POINT of the table the unit actually arrives from).


The only exception to this would be if the Night Scythe Deep Strikes and then deploys the unit immediately. In that case per GW's FAQ clarification regarding Deep Striking transports, if both the Scythe and the disembarked unit were both within range of Coteaz then they would fire at BOTH the Scythe AND the disembarked unit.

But this only works when the Scythe arrives via Deep Strike and dumps its passengers. If the Scythe moves on from the table edge then you have to check range for Coteaz at the point the Scythe arrives (which includes the embarked unit, as that unit is arriving from Reserves at the same point).


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Do you place flyers on the board before their move is completed?

I thought you had to start the flyer just off the board, and measure its move from that point.

What am I missing?

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

Thats if Raw and Rai meant anything solid. They are in fact coming in from reserves and ending the units move 12 inches then yes fire away.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Lungpickle wrote:
Thats if Raw and Rai meant anything solid.

You keep on using those words.
I do not think they mean what you think they mean.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

 DeathReaper wrote:
Do you place flyers on the board before their move is completed?

I thought you had to start the flyer just off the board, and measure its move from that point.

What am I missing?


GW's Coteaz FAQ ruling.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

I read the FAQ, but Flyers do not start on the board, and when you move them onto the board from reserves they are not on the board until their move is completed, so the FAQ makes no sense.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/08/21 22:38:10


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

 DeathReaper wrote:
I read the FAQ, but Flyers do not start on the board, and when you move them onto the board from reserves they are not on the board until their move is completed, so the FAQ makes no sense.


That's true of ALL models moving on from reserves, not just flyers.

Yet, the FAQ ruling is quite clear that after the shooting is resolved then the unit can 'complete' its move, which shows that the rule is interrupting reserve movement (or else they wouldn't be completing the move).

Just because a unit's reserve movement is measured from the edge of the table doesn't mean that technically speaking the models aren't moving along the path of their movement. So the only way to make this FAQ ruling work as written is to assume that you have to interrupt a unit's reserve movement at the point it makes it onto the table. Then you check range with Coteaz and resolve shooting if applicable, and then finally finish up their move (if the unit hasn't been destroyed, of course).

Its definitely not an inherently clear FAQ ruling for the reasons you point out, but it is quite clear that it interrupts reserve movement so the above is really the only way to interpret it without completely ignoring that fact.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Okay that makes sense, it is a poorly worded FAQ no doubt.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in cn
Blackclad Wayfarer





From England. Living in Shanghai

Poorly worded and complicated. Our gaming group had real issues figuring out how to resolve incinerator templates on Wyches coming out of a WWP. Our solution: I stopped using them.

And now that I'm on the subject would it be ok to slightly hi-jack the thread and get a definitive answer? I mean, units are moved on a model by model basis. We couldn't come to a conclusion when the shots take place...Do you move all the models onto the table edge (or WWP edge or whatever), or can you move all but the last model into position then as the last model arrives at the edge let the flamers rip?

Looking for games in Shanghai? Send a PM 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

 Lukus83 wrote:
Poorly worded and complicated. Our gaming group had real issues figuring out how to resolve incinerator templates on Wyches coming out of a WWP. Our solution: I stopped using them.

And now that I'm on the subject would it be ok to slightly hi-jack the thread and get a definitive answer? I mean, units are moved on a model by model basis. We couldn't come to a conclusion when the shots take place...Do you move all the models onto the table edge (or WWP edge or whatever), or can you move all but the last model into position then as the last model arrives at the edge let the flamers rip?


There can be no 'definitive' answer because the FAQ ruling from GW is written in such a nebulous way. We know that we're supposed to resolve the shots when the unit enters onto the tale and then finish its movement after that, but the exact nitty-gritty of how to do that is something players currently have to figure out for themselves. That's why we FAQ'd GW's FAQ in the INAT:
GK.45F.01 – Q: GW’s official Grey Knights FAQ
regarding ‘I’ve Been Expecting You’ implies that
units arriving from Reserves are placed on the table
and then moved, yet this seems to contradict the
rules for moving Reserves onto the board. How
should this be played?

A: While Coteaz is in play, when a Reserve unit is going to
move on from a table edge anywhere near Coteaz, first
place the models touching the board edge where they are
arriving from, then check range and resolve ‘I’ve Been
Expecting You’ (if applicable). After that, continue moving
the unit but measuring their total movement distance back
from the edge of the table where they arrived [clarification].


Of course, this doesn't really work much for Webway portals and big units of models at all, but frankly it was the best we could come up with while trying to stay consistent with GW's ruling.

However, whenever we update the INAT next I'll try to see if I can't try to cover the WWP situation a bit, although I'm having a hard time figuring out a 'clean' way to do that while still following GW's FAQ ruling.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in cn
Blackclad Wayfarer





From England. Living in Shanghai

Well thanks a bunch for putting it to INAT when the update takes place. I know at least 1 person who will be grateful, lol.

In the meantime I guess next time I break out my GK's I will just have to make a consensus with the rest of the players in my group.

Looking for games in Shanghai? Send a PM 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: