Switch Theme:

Issuing Orders to a squad with an allied IC.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





If I place an allied Independent Character (battle brothers) in a Veteran Squad and issue them an order, does the IC also benefit from the rules of that order? The FAQ merely says that the target of the order has to be from Codex: Imperial Guard. Can I use the IC's leadership value when checking if the order passes?

Thanks!
   
Made in us
Huge Hierodule





Louisiana

Yes.

Been out of the game for awhile, trying to find time to get back into it. 
   
Made in au
Terrifying Treeman






The Fallen Realm of Umbar

I would say no, as you said, orders may only be issued to units from Codex: Imperial Guard, if you add an allied IC to a unit, that unit is not wholly from Codex: Imperial Guard, therefore does not fit the criteria for having orders issued to it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/22 00:21:31


DT:90-S++G++M++B+IPw40k07+D+A+++/cWD-R+T(T)DM+
Horst wrote:This is how trolling happens. A few cheeky posts are made. Then they get more insulting. Eventually, we revert to our primal animal state, hurling feces at each other while shreeking with glee.

 
   
Made in us
Incorporating Wet-Blending





Houston, TX

Krellnus how does a unit from Codex: Imperial Guard stop being such when an IC is attached? Hint: it doesn't- it is a unit from Codex:IG with an attached IC from Codex:X.

-James
 
   
Made in au
Terrifying Treeman






The Fallen Realm of Umbar

Which means that the unit as a whole is not from Codex: Imperial Guard, as the unit needs to be wholly from Codex: Imperial Guard to have an order issued to it, as it is now not, it cannot have an order issued to it.

DT:90-S++G++M++B+IPw40k07+D+A+++/cWD-R+T(T)DM+
Horst wrote:This is how trolling happens. A few cheeky posts are made. Then they get more insulting. Eventually, we revert to our primal animal state, hurling feces at each other while shreeking with glee.

 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

There is no reason to think that the unit has to be wholly from the codex. An IC that joins a unit is treated as a member of that unit for all rules purposes, and that unit was purchased from C:IG.
   
Made in au
Terrifying Treeman






The Fallen Realm of Umbar

Looking at the wording of the FAQ I would say that there is:
Imperial Guard 6th Edition FAQ wrote:"To issue an order the officer must declare which order he is attempting to use and select a friendly non-vehicle unit chosen from Codex: Imperial Guard within his command radius to carry out the order

As the rule set is permissive (i.e. you need to be told you can do something to be able to do it) and we know that a unit joined by an Independent Character is a 'single unit', it is not much of a stretch (imo) to see that a unit from Codex: Imperial Guard with an attached ally from Codex: X is not a unit chosen from Codex: Imperial Guard (because of the character from Codex: X attached to the unit) nor is it a unit from Codex: X because of the Codex: X character being attached.
Therefore if a unit from Codex: Imperial Guard has an ally attached to it, it cannot have orders issued to it.

DT:90-S++G++M++B+IPw40k07+D+A+++/cWD-R+T(T)DM+
Horst wrote:This is how trolling happens. A few cheeky posts are made. Then they get more insulting. Eventually, we revert to our primal animal state, hurling feces at each other while shreeking with glee.

 
   
Made in fi
Dakka Veteran




 Krellnus wrote:
Looking at the wording of the FAQ I would say that there is:
Imperial Guard 6th Edition FAQ wrote:"To issue an order the officer must declare which order he is attempting to use and select a friendly non-vehicle unit chosen from Codex: Imperial Guard within his command radius to carry out the order

As the rule set is permissive (i.e. you need to be told you can do something to be able to do it) and we know that a unit joined by an Independent Character is a 'single unit', it is not much of a stretch (imo) to see that a unit from Codex: Imperial Guard with an attached ally from Codex: X is not a unit chosen from Codex: Imperial Guard (because of the character from Codex: X attached to the unit) nor is it a unit from Codex: X because of the Codex: X character being attached.
Therefore if a unit from Codex: Imperial Guard has an ally attached to it, it cannot have orders issued to it.

Rule set is permissive, you're right about that. Your conclusion is flawed though.
BYB, page 39, Independent Characters wrote:While an Independent Character is part of a unit, he counts as part of the unit for all rules purposes, though he still follows the rules for characters.
Emphasis mine.
Any IC is joined to a unit chosen from Codex: Imperial Guard counts as part of a unit chosen from Codex: Imperial Guard for all rules purposes, including orders.

   
Made in us
Huge Hierodule





Louisiana

Luide has it correctly, as the others here who agreed with him.

The IG/SM combo with orders works for the above listed reason, the same reason that the Dark Eldar/Eldar Harliestar combo works with Fortune.

Been out of the game for awhile, trying to find time to get back into it. 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

 Krellnus wrote:
Looking at the wording of the FAQ I would say that there is:
Imperial Guard 6th Edition FAQ wrote:"To issue an order the officer must declare which order he is attempting to use and select a friendly non-vehicle unit chosen from Codex: Imperial Guard within his command radius to carry out the order

As the rule set is permissive (i.e. you need to be told you can do something to be able to do it) and we know that a unit joined by an Independent Character is a 'single unit', it is not much of a stretch (imo) to see that a unit from Codex: Imperial Guard with an attached ally from Codex: X is not a unit chosen from Codex: Imperial Guard (because of the character from Codex: X attached to the unit) nor is it a unit from Codex: X because of the Codex: X character being attached.
Therefore if a unit from Codex: Imperial Guard has an ally attached to it, it cannot have orders issued to it.


They have changed the way special rules work in 6th edition.

First and most importantly, they clarified very clearly that when an IC joins a unit he now counts as part of that unit.

Second, they clarified that if you use a special rule on a unit, then it benefits the joined IC...even if he leaves the unit he still benefits from the ability.

That's why in many cases they've gone through and specified that certain rules only apply to models from a specific codex, but if the special rule says it can apply to a UNIT from a specific codex, and you have a brothers-in-arms IC joined to that unit, your damn right that IC benefits from that special rule as he is a member of that unit.

In the case of the order, it is being issued to an Imperial Guard unit...that unit just has an IC joined to it (which doesn't change what type of unit it is).

We really need to reset our mindset from the way the rules used to work before 6th when it comes to special rules, etc. They've made it much, much easier in general across the board to get powers applied from ICs onto units and vice-versa.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader




Pacific NW

yakface got it above.

The FAQ for IG says that orders only apply to units chosen from Codex: Imperial Guards. The BYB gives you a loophole, in that Independent Characters count wholly as a member of the unit they join. So if you have a Wolf Priest join a Imperial Guard Blob and you issue Bring It Down to the Blob, he benefits from the re-rolls to hit.

Not all abilities work the same way, some FAQs say 'models' instead of 'units' so be sure to check your applicable FAQ when you try to do something.

   
Made in au
Terrifying Treeman






The Fallen Realm of Umbar

 yakface wrote:
 Krellnus wrote:
Looking at the wording of the FAQ I would say that there is:
Imperial Guard 6th Edition FAQ wrote:"To issue an order the officer must declare which order he is attempting to use and select a friendly non-vehicle unit chosen from Codex: Imperial Guard within his command radius to carry out the order

As the rule set is permissive (i.e. you need to be told you can do something to be able to do it) and we know that a unit joined by an Independent Character is a 'single unit', it is not much of a stretch (imo) to see that a unit from Codex: Imperial Guard with an attached ally from Codex: X is not a unit chosen from Codex: Imperial Guard (because of the character from Codex: X attached to the unit) nor is it a unit from Codex: X because of the Codex: X character being attached.
Therefore if a unit from Codex: Imperial Guard has an ally attached to it, it cannot have orders issued to it.


They have changed the way special rules work in 6th edition.

First and most importantly, they clarified very clearly that when an IC joins a unit he now counts as part of that unit.

Second, they clarified that if you use a special rule on a unit, then it benefits the joined IC...even if he leaves the unit he still benefits from the ability.

That's why in many cases they've gone through and specified that certain rules only apply to models from a specific codex, but if the special rule says it can apply to a UNIT from a specific codex, and you have a brothers-in-arms IC joined to that unit, your damn right that IC benefits from that special rule as he is a member of that unit.

In the case of the order, it is being issued to an Imperial Guard unit...that unit just has an IC joined to it (which doesn't change what type of unit it is).

We really need to reset our mindset from the way the rules used to work before 6th when it comes to special rules, etc. They've made it much, much easier in general across the board to get powers applied from ICs onto units and vice-versa.


Ok, I agree with that.

DT:90-S++G++M++B+IPw40k07+D+A+++/cWD-R+T(T)DM+
Horst wrote:This is how trolling happens. A few cheeky posts are made. Then they get more insulting. Eventually, we revert to our primal animal state, hurling feces at each other while shreeking with glee.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: