leohart wrote:This came up in a recent game where a Swarmlord decides to try to multi-assault two squads of marines. My argument against it was that the first unit in the squad (the Swarmlord) itself has to make the shortest path possible toward the declared target. Since no deviation is allowed, he cannot move the extra 2" to touch both squads.
Am I wrong
RAW-wise?
No, you're right.
A single model can't multi-charge - the rules explicitly say that the first model moved can only contact the target unit, and that any follow up models can (following the other rules) make contact with the other units.