Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/22 15:59:14
Subject: Mysterious objectives and vehicles
|
 |
Legendary Master of the Chapter
|
If mysterious objectives are triggered by any unit within 3 inches (I believe) and iirc vehicles are units, does it trigger from the hull or the (flight) base[skimmer] ?
|
Unit1126PLL wrote: Scott-S6 wrote:And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.
Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/22 16:11:56
Subject: Mysterious objectives and vehicles
|
 |
Veteran Inquisitorial Tyranid Xenokiller
|
The flight base of a Flyer is ignored except for when embarking/disembarking or the flyer is being assaulted. Even when in Hover mode and treated as a Skimmer, Skimmers bases are ignored except when being assaulted or rammed. So the hull would have to get within 3" in order to trigger an mysterious objective.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/22 16:12:23
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/22 16:28:11
Subject: Mysterious objectives and vehicles
|
 |
Legendary Master of the Chapter
|
That’s what I though as well, but my opponent insists that because nothing else was written specifically for vehicles triggering or contesting points, it should be by base (as he squeezes a 9 inch raider between the 12 inch spaces between 2 objectives)
Actually I couldn’t find any rules for it ether, if there’s a page some one could direct me to that would be great
|
Unit1126PLL wrote: Scott-S6 wrote:And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.
Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/22 16:33:32
Subject: Mysterious objectives and vehicles
|
 |
Veteran Inquisitorial Tyranid Xenokiller
|
Pg 80 Flyers and Measuring, Pg 83 Skimmers and Measuring
"However, distances are still measured to and from the Flyer's/Skimmer's hull, with the exceptions of a vehicle's weapons and Fire Points, which all work as normal"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/22 16:53:25
Subject: Mysterious objectives and vehicles
|
 |
Legendary Master of the Chapter
|
Thank you very much
|
Unit1126PLL wrote: Scott-S6 wrote:And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.
Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/22 21:04:05
Subject: Mysterious objectives and vehicles
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Page 125 BRB, states. any unit that moves within 3" of and objective or it is within 3" at the start of the 1st tuern Must identify the nature of it.. Note that while any unit can identify the nature of an objective, i is only scoring units that can make use of it.
|
In a dog eat dog be a cat. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/23 04:40:39
Subject: Mysterious objectives and vehicles
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
And also note that even if a unit can 'conga line' to two or more objectives, the BRB specifically states a unit can only control one objective
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/23 06:41:15
Subject: Re:Mysterious objectives and vehicles
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
Not to be pedantic: but vehicles can 'identify' a mysterious objective (or multiple simultanious objectives for that matter provided they are close enough) just fine, and even trigger it or them if they turn out to be 'Sabotaged!'.
However if you intended to state that they could not use it (or 'control it' as the official rule goes), then you are correct; only scoring units can do that subject to the normal rules for such.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/08/23 06:45:21
|
|
 |
 |
|