Switch Theme:

Grey Knights faq question.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in no
On a Canoptek Spyder's Waiting List



Norway

copy pasted from the Grey Knights FAQ:
Psychic Powers
A Grey Knights Librarian may use the psychic disciplines found
in the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook, instead of those in Codex:
Grey Knights. If he does so, generate a number of psychic
powers equal to his Mastery Level from the Divination,
Pyromancy or Telekinesis disciplines (in any combination)
before armies are deployed. If he does so he may not purchase
additional powers. Hammerhand cannot be exchanged in this
manner.
An Inquisitor with Mastery Level 1 can exchange his psychic
power for a single roll on either the Divination, Pyromancy or
Telekinesis disciplines. Coteaz can generate two powers from
either the Divination, Pyromancy or Telekinesis disciplines (in
any combination) in place of those listed on his profile.


From what i read here only inquisitors and Librarian can use the BRB psychic powers and Draigo and the rest can only use powers from the codex:Grey Knights.

The discussion is that it does not say they can't, but only mentions Librarian specially because he can't swap out hammerhand, and the inquisitor is mentioned for mastery 1 and coteaz for mastery 2.

How do you guys interpret this? Only Inquisitors and Librarian or all with mastery 1-2 and follow examples from faq.
   
Made in gb
Excited Doom Diver






Shrewsbury

It's pretty clear to be honest.

Only Librarians and Inquisitors with psychic mastery may swap their book powers for rulebook powers (up to their mastery level).

None of the other characters, vehicles or squads may do so.

Follow these two simple rules to ensure a happy Dakka experience:

Rule 1 - to be a proper 40K player you must cry whenever a new edition of the game is released, and always call opposing armies broken when you don't win.

Rule 2 - Games Workshop are always wrong and have been heading for bankrupcy within 5 years since the early 90s.  
   
Made in no
On a Canoptek Spyder's Waiting List



Norway

its pretty clear yeah, but i can see why they read it like they do aswell.
Librarian is mentioned because he can roll as many as he has warp charges, and can pick from any of the 3 GK has access to, but must keep Hammerhand.
Standard Inquisitor with mastery 1 can only roll for one from any of the 3
Coteaz with Mastery 2 can roll for 2 powers, but is limited to 2 from same school (divination, pyromancy and Telekinesis)

So they mean that not being mentioned they can treat the rest like Inquisitors because they have mastery 1 or 2 and are IC.

Edit: not like that will make paladins with Draigo any more OP with reroll to hit from Prescience, right? hehe

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/27 13:36:23


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Aandiin wrote:
Coteaz with Mastery 2 can roll for 2 powers, but is limited to 2 from same school (divination, pyromancy and Telekinesis)



He is not limited to same school.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

Remember the librarian chooses which powers to take from a list of spells he buy's. So if you buy 3 powers from codex grey knights and one of them is hammer hand you cannot switch out any powers. Since they are all the same cost grab 3 basic and swap out.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Lungpickle wrote:
So if you buy 3 powers from codex grey knights and one of them is hammer hand you cannot switch out any powers.

Not true. You just can't switch out hammerhand.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in se
Servoarm Flailing Magos






Metalica

What confuses me is the Librarian, which is really weirdly worded.

Let's throw the inquisitors away, because that part is pretty obvious.

Psychic Powers
A Grey Knights Librarian may use the psychic disciplines found in the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook, instead of those in Codex: Grey Knights. If he does so, generate a number of psychic powers equal to his Mastery Level from the Divination, Pyromancy or Telekinesis disciplines (in any combination) before armies are deployed.

Ok, so far so good, I have mastery level 2 Lib, so I'll get, reading that text, 2 spells. Cool.

If he does so he may not purchase additional powers.

That's cool, so I'm not allowed to buy any of the 5 point powers in Codex:GK. Ok, I'm with you so far. Check.

Hammerhand cannot be exchanged in this manner.


Wait what? So did you just take back what you said a few lines ago? So since the Lib ALWAYS has Hammerhand, that means that he cannot at all generate an amount equal to his mastery level from those disciplines. He can in fact only generate his mastery level minus one?

Am I the only one that finds those two explanations of the same thing contradictory?

The last line also mentions "exchanging in this manner".
We haven't been exchanging anything. We've not bought any skills from Codex:GK and have instead selected them from the BRB. But we haven't first bought spells and then exchanged them.

That line seems to imply that they had some other rule there first that you had to buy skills and then replace them with those from the BRB, and then they forgot to amend the last line when they changed that.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/27 19:45:49


 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





I've tended to treat that as the librarian getting to keep hammerhand 'and' the 2 psychic powers he rolled. 'or' getting to keep hammerhand 'and' any of the other powers that have been purchased from the codex.

Either way they're keeping hammerhand, it's just a matter of what 'other' powers he or she has.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

The problem is you buy the codex powers when building the list but don't roll (if you are going to) until the start of the game.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block



Missouri

They mention not being able to exchange HH for just that reason, so you know there is no way to get rid of it. You will always know it. It and either any number of powers you purchase from C:GK, or a number equal to his PML from the rule book.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




You are right, the timing is screwy.

When I build my Nid list, I can decide right before deployment if I want to swap out codex powers for BRB powers.

It seems like GK Libs have to make that decision (to an extent) when building their list.

Meaning, if you buy any power, you can't get BRB powers.


In My World: I would let the GK Lib swap out all of his powers, sans Hammerhand, for 2 BRB powers. So you can buy extra powers, but they are 'wasted' if you swap them out.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: