Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 13:04:51
Subject: Couple of questions.
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
Hi Dakka,
Just a couple of question that popped up in a recent game (our 2nd 6th ed game to be precise).
1) Ahriman. He is listed as Mastery level 3, so can generate 3 Warp Charges per turn. He also gets to switch any of his powers with the rulebook powers. Problem is, as a mastery level 3 psyker, he can only switch 3 of his 5 powers... Does this mean he still has the two that he didn't exchange? Obviously he couldn't use all of them in a turn, due to him only having 3 Warp Charges, but does he still keep them?
2) Look Out, Sir. Page 16, in the Look Out, Sir box, the first line reads, "When a Wound (or unsaved Wound) is allocated to one of your characters... blah... he is allowed a Look Out, Sir attempt". So, my friend's Warboss with his 2+ Armour Save is at the front of his unit of 10 Boys, and they suffer shooting hits. Obviously the Warboss has to take the hits first, being at the front, and closest to the enemy. He takes his saves, and fails two. Can he then attempt 2 Look Out, Sir rolls to see if they get transferred to the unit? This seems a bit 'off', as it potentially means that every model in the unit has a 2+ save... yet it says that when unsaved Wounds are allocated to a character he is allowed a Look Out, Sir attempt.
Help would be much appreciated.
|
"There's too much blood in my caffeine system!!"
Students around the world |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 13:14:40
Subject: Re:Couple of questions.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
1.) Is covered by the CSM FAQ.
2.) If you have different saves than the rest of your party and a hit is going to be taken against you, Look Out, Sir! first. The speed rolling for saves only works for models with the same saves.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 13:56:58
Subject: Couple of questions.
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Same-save units: Roll saves then LOS! Roll.
Mixed-save unit: LOS! Rolls, then rolls saves.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 14:17:44
Subject: Couple of questions.
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Sandyman11 wrote: yet it says that when unsaved Wounds are allocated to a character he is allowed a Look Out, Sir attempt.
You're concentrating on the wrong part of the rule. You should be looking at the "when a(n unsaved) wound is allocated". You only allocate once - for mixed save unites the allocation happens before armor saves are rolled.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 14:35:34
Subject: Couple of questions.
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
Ok thanks for the clarification for the mixed saves and Look Out, Sir bit. However still a little bit muddled by Ahriman. The way I see it, despite him having 4-5 powers in his normal profile, if he chooses to exchange 3 of them for rulebook powers, does he then lose the other two?
|
"There's too much blood in my caffeine system!!"
Students around the world |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 14:38:44
Subject: Couple of questions.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
He loses them.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 16:53:14
Subject: Couple of questions.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Sandyman11 wrote:Ok thanks for the clarification for the mixed saves and Look Out, Sir bit. However still a little bit muddled by Ahriman. The way I see it, despite him having 4-5 powers in his normal profile, if he chooses to exchange 3 of them for rulebook powers, does he then lose the other two?
Yes, as it states in the FAQ.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/28 18:34:47
Subject: Re:Couple of questions.
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
Yeah, that's how it works. It seems kind of counter-intuitive, and I don't really understand why you would, but you could do that. Tigurius is in a similar boat.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/30 06:04:24
Subject: Couple of questions.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
Because compared to rulebook powers the Chaos powers are rubbish. Three rulebook powers is hugely better than keeping his 5 Chaos Powers, because the Chaos powers (excepting Wind of Chaos) are all either mediocre PSA's (Doombolt, Bolt of Change), ridiculously situational (Gift of Chaos), or flat out useless (Warp Time).
|
|
 |
 |
|