Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/30 14:05:50
Subject: Lord Commisar's AoC and Nids question
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
Question from a game last night. I had my Nids and I was playing against foot IG. My opponent had a Lord Commisar and I had Deathleaper. I used Deathleaper's "He's After me" ability to drop the Lord Commisar to LD8. Now as he has AoC all units within 6" HAVE to use his leadership.
So far so good.
The problem was that I then shot a unit with some Devgaunts. I caused enough damage to force a morale check. The unit was within 6" of the Lord Commisar.
Now the question that came up was the Lord Commisar's LD was 8. They need to use his leadership per AoC. The devourer hits cause a -1 to leadership checks on the unit being shot.
My opponent said that as the Lord Commisar was not in the unit being shot that he would not take the -1 to his leadership. So they should take the test at LD8.
I said that the Lord Commisar's leadership should be used as the highest leadership in the unit, but then be modified for the Devourer special rule. So they should test at LD7.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/30 14:08:59
Subject: Lord Commisar's AoC and Nids question
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
There is no requirement to use the Lord Commissar's Leadership, unless he is attached to the unit, in which case the unit is Stubborn.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/30 14:13:35
Subject: Lord Commisar's AoC and Nids question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
what happyjew said.
other notes:
fairly certain there is an order of operation defined in the rulebook for modifiers.
so devilgaunts would have applied a negative modifer to the unit, if the comissars ld was required to be used or could be used by any unit within 6' and he was not in the unit being fired at the unit would then be made to the comissars ld after the modifer for devilgaunts as things that set a value are the last thing that happens. I believe.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/30 14:16:36
Subject: Lord Commisar's AoC and Nids question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The unit could use the LoC's Leadership for the test. That would be LD 8. The unit would then make a test at -1 ( due to the Devourers) based on that LD. So therefore 7.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/30 14:36:43
Subject: Lord Commisar's AoC and Nids question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Happyjew wrote:There is no requirement to use the Lord Commissar's Leadership, unless he is attached to the unit, in which case the unit is Stubborn.
There is no requirement to us the LC's leadership even if he is attached to the squad. You simply used the highest Ld available.
But yeah. "Any friendly unit within 6" of a Lord Commissar may use his leadership for bla bla bla".
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/30 14:37:28
Unnessesarily extravegant word of the week award goes to jcress410 for this:
jcress wrote:Seem super off topic to complain about epistemology on a thread about tactics. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/30 14:40:25
Subject: Lord Commisar's AoC and Nids question
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Testify wrote:
Even then if there is another model with a higher leadership, they will use his.
True, I should have specified, that you would use the LC's leadership if it is the highest.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/30 14:47:13
Subject: Lord Commisar's AoC and Nids question
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
The lost commissar is stubborn and therefor cant have his leadership lowered for moral tests. His leadership is being used by the other unit for a moral test so no penalties.
|
3200 points > 5400 points
2500 points |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/30 14:52:03
Subject: Lord Commisar's AoC and Nids question
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
The question is if a unit the LC is not attached to chooses to use his Leadership, and are subject to a Leadership penalty, what is the order of application? This is similar to Orks invoking the Mob rule. Automatically Appended Next Post: Happyjew wrote:There is no requirement to use the Lord Commissar's Leadership, unless he is attached to the unit, in which case the unit is Stubborn.
OK, so I just found out that the underlined is incorrect, as changed by the FAQ.
IG FAQ wrote: Any friendly unit from C:IG within 6" of a Lord Commissar must use his Leadership...
Emphasis mine.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/30 14:55:25
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/30 16:12:07
Subject: Lord Commisar's AoC and Nids question
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
As some people has said the IG FAQ changed May to Must for AoD. Its why I modified his leadership.Stuborn does not make it so that "It's after me" noes not work. It modifies the stat and is not technically a morale penalty. If I shot at a stuborn unit they would ignore the -1 from the Devourers though.
The question still stands if a unit that does not have the LC attached take the -1 penalty for the devourers. I can see both sides, but I belive that they -1 modifer is still in place.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/30 16:31:31
Subject: Lord Commisar's AoC and Nids question
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Gloomfang wrote:The question still stands if a unit that does not have the LC attached take the -1 penalty for the devourers. I can see both sides, but I belive that they -1 modifer is still in place.
Agreed. They use the LC's leadership in place of their own, but still suffer any penalties.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/30 16:53:10
Subject: Re:Lord Commisar's AoC and Nids question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Thats how I would run it as well. Use his LD and then suffer the -1 penalty
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/30 17:17:40
Subject: Lord Commisar's AoC and Nids question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Happyjew wrote:The question is if a unit the LC is not attached to chooses to use his Leadership, and are subject to a Leadership penalty, what is the order of application? This is similar to Orks invoking the Mob rule.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Happyjew wrote:There is no requirement to use the Lord Commissar's Leadership, unless he is attached to the unit, in which case the unit is Stubborn.
OK, so I just found out that the underlined is incorrect, as changed by the FAQ.
IG FAQ wrote: Any friendly unit from C:IG within 6" of a Lord Commissar must use his Leadership...
Emphasis mine.
It's weird they'd put that in, seeing as he's Ld 10 and stubborn. I guess it's to prevent the IG getting Combat Tactics Lite.
|
Unnessesarily extravegant word of the week award goes to jcress410 for this:
jcress wrote:Seem super off topic to complain about epistemology on a thread about tactics. |
|
 |
 |
|