Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/30 17:02:42
Subject: Drop pods don't count for starting game?
|
 |
Speed Drybrushing
|
I'm sure this has been asked a million times but i could not find it. I have a list made and enjoy it very much, total units i have 3 drop pods coming in turn 1, a squad of bikes. 3 assault squads and 3 fliers. Starting on the table i put the bikes, and brought the pods in (2 pods) I am being told i did this wrong as i have to put half my army on the table and drop pods do not count towards that half (i know fliers don't their not my question) So how do i do this.. AM i going to have to put a assault squad or two on the table with the bikes? Or is my initial set up with bikes, then pods coming in correct?
|
Ravenwing 8,0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/30 17:11:35
Subject: Drop pods don't count for starting game?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
The fliers and drop pods have to start in reserves. Any Tac squad starting in a Drop Pod is ignored. So if you have 3 Tac Squads in Drop Pods, 3 Fliers, and 1 squad of bike, the only thing that does not start in reserves is the squad of bikes. 1 unit divided by 2 (rounded up) gives you 1 unit that can choose to start in reserves (the bikes). If for some reason the DP fail to land due to Drop Pod assault (unlikely but can happen), then at the end of Turn 1 if you have nothing on the board you lose.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/30 17:16:26
Subject: Re:Drop pods don't count for starting game?
|
 |
Paramount Plague Censer Bearer
|
If your list is
3 Pods
3 assault squads
1 Bikes
3 Flyers
(Not really sure how this works out but what ever)
You would need to deploy on the board 2 units from your Bikes and Assault squad units (4 total Units / 2= 2). At the start of your turn 1, 2 of the drop pods would show up and then on turn two you would roll for the remaining pod and your flyers.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/30 17:16:41
Subject: Re:Drop pods don't count for starting game?
|
 |
Speed Drybrushing
|
I have 3 assault squads w/ hq's attached that i want to DOA. I have a squad of bikes that i want to start on the table. I have 3 drop pods (1 has DC 2 have Dread's in them) 3 storm ravens and 1 storm talon. So.. work your magic on that Happyjew because apparently i am lost in stupid land lately.
|
Ravenwing 8,0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/30 17:23:46
Subject: Re:Drop pods don't count for starting game?
|
 |
Paramount Plague Censer Bearer
|
OOOOhhhh Blood Angels, Well thats a horse of a different color!
The Drop pods and Flyers MUST be put in Researves (or drop pod assault so they dont count) You now have 4 units that CAN start on the boared (3 Assault squads and 1 Bike squad)
Half of your Army MUST be deployed on the table. So you could deploy the unit of Bikes and 1 Unit of assault Marines and then DOA the other 2 Assault squads.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/30 17:28:48
Subject: Drop pods don't count for starting game?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Don't count:
3 Drop Pods (plus cargo)
3 Storm Ravens
Do Count:
3 Assault Squads
1 Bike squad
So 2 units must be deployed.
The Storm Talon.. Wells that's for a different army so I missed that out. Saw no mention of an Allied detachment.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/30 17:36:05
Subject: Re:Drop pods don't count for starting game?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Dooley wrote:OOOOhhhh Blood Angels, Well thats a horse of a different color!
The Drop pods and Flyers MUST be put in Researves (or drop pod assault so they dont count) You now have 4 units that CAN start on the boared (3 Assault squads and 1 Bike squad)
Half of your Army MUST be deployed on the table. So you could deploy the unit of Bikes and 1 Unit of assault Marines and then DOA the other 2 Assault squads.
Except you ignore troops that are in their dedicated transport. Drop Pods can only be dedicated transports.
So the only non-forced reserve unit is the bikes. You could technically opt to hold them in reserve since half of 1 rounded up is 1.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/30 17:46:25
Subject: Re:Drop pods don't count for starting game?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
rigeld2 wrote:Dooley wrote:OOOOhhhh Blood Angels, Well thats a horse of a different color!
The Drop pods and Flyers MUST be put in Researves (or drop pod assault so they dont count) You now have 4 units that CAN start on the boared (3 Assault squads and 1 Bike squad)
Half of your Army MUST be deployed on the table. So you could deploy the unit of Bikes and 1 Unit of assault Marines and then DOA the other 2 Assault squads.
Except you ignore troops that are in their dedicated transport. Drop Pods can only be dedicated transports.
So the only non-forced reserve unit is the bikes. You could technically opt to hold them in reserve since half of 1 rounded up is 1.
But in this case the drop pods are DT's for the DeathCompany and Dreads.
The Assault Squads have no DT so are counted as non-forced reserves also.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/30 17:47:58
Subject: Re:Drop pods don't count for starting game?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
grendel083 wrote:rigeld2 wrote:Dooley wrote:OOOOhhhh Blood Angels, Well thats a horse of a different color!
The Drop pods and Flyers MUST be put in Researves (or drop pod assault so they dont count) You now have 4 units that CAN start on the boared (3 Assault squads and 1 Bike squad)
Half of your Army MUST be deployed on the table. So you could deploy the unit of Bikes and 1 Unit of assault Marines and then DOA the other 2 Assault squads.
Except you ignore troops that are in their dedicated transport. Drop Pods can only be dedicated transports.
So the only non-forced reserve unit is the bikes. You could technically opt to hold them in reserve since half of 1 rounded up is 1.
But in this case the drop pods are DT's for the DeathCompany and Dreads.
The Assault Squads have no DT so are counted as non-forced reserves also.
Apologies, I misread and thought the Assault Squads were in the Pods.
Yeah, have to start two units on the table out of the 3 AMS and the 1 bike squad.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/30 17:52:13
Subject: Drop pods don't count for starting game?
|
 |
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader
|
Off topic, but...I thought that only vanilla marines could have Storm Talons. Am I wrong?
|
2500 pts
Horst wrote:This is how trolling happens. A few cheeky posts are made. Then they get more insulting. Eventually, we revert to our primal animal state, hurling feces at each other while shreeking with glee.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/30 17:54:16
Subject: Drop pods don't count for starting game?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Grugknuckle wrote:Off topic, but...I thought that only vanilla marines could have Storm Talons. Am I wrong?
You're right.
But BA can ally with C: SM.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/30 17:59:42
Subject: Re:Drop pods don't count for starting game?
|
 |
Speed Drybrushing
|
Sorry for the very confusing question guys(how i worded it half assed lol) I've been overly scattered brained lately. yes My Small BA army is allied with normal SM so i can bring in the talon. I love how the lil puddle jumper as i call it works lol. So to make sure i understand this. 1 bike and 1 assault squad on the table. easy enough. Thank you all for the help very much!
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/08/30 18:08:11
Ravenwing 8,0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/30 18:02:44
Subject: Re:Drop pods don't count for starting game?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Arrathon wrote:So for the very confusing question guys, I've been overly scattered brained lately. yes My Small BA army is allied with normal SM so i can bring in the talon. I love how the lil puddle jumper as i call it works lol. So to make sure i understand this. 1 bike and 1 assault squad on the table. easy enough. Thank you all for the help very much!
1 bike and 1 assault squad.
Ignore the 3 drop pods.
Ignore the 4 flyers.
This means you have 3 squads + the bike squad.
4 units, of which 50% can be in reserve.
You can opt to reserve 2 units out of those 4.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/30 18:15:12
Subject: Re:Drop pods don't count for starting game?
|
 |
Paramount Plague Censer Bearer
|
A simple YES would have sufficed
Out of curiosity what Does the Actual list look like?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/30 18:57:03
Subject: Re:Drop pods don't count for starting game?
|
 |
Speed Drybrushing
|
Librarian x3
Jumppackx3
Assault Squad(3x10 man)
Melta x2
power fist
Deathcompany
power fist
Drop pod
Dreadnought x2
Drop podx2
Stormraven x2
Hurricane sponsons
ALLIES
Space marine Captian
Bike
Bike squad (5)
melta x2
Attack bike
Stormtalon
Typhoon launcher
|
Ravenwing 8,0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/30 19:22:35
Subject: Re:Drop pods don't count for starting game?
|
 |
Paramount Plague Censer Bearer
|
Yeah your Bikes with Captain and at least ONE of your Assualt squads with Librarian would have to start on the board. Everything else could be put in researves.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/30 19:26:24
Subject: Re:Drop pods don't count for starting game?
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
Having gone through this extensively, no. Drop Pods and their contents are not counted for the Preparing Reserves rule. They get around it by the wording of the USR Deepstrike. :3
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/31 00:21:08
Subject: Re:Drop pods don't count for starting game?
|
 |
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator
California
|
Nevermind, answered my own question.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/31 00:21:51
|
|
 |
 |
|