Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/31 06:11:22
Subject: Hammer of Wrath and Monsterous Creatures.
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
Kingsville, Texas
|
Hey guys, quick question.
If/when you charge your MC into a squad, do you get a Hammer of Wrath hit for each base in contact w/ the MC? Or do you only get one attack total against the squad?
Sorry to bother, the rulebook didn't seem crystal clear on the subject. Thank you for any help.
|
New to WM/H |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/31 06:15:57
Subject: Hammer of Wrath and Monsterous Creatures.
|
 |
Rampaging Carnifex
|
One free 'hit' per model charging in - one Carnifex, one hit; three 'fexes, three hits.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/31 15:38:31
Subject: Re:Hammer of Wrath and Monsterous Creatures.
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
Kingsville, Texas
|
Many thanks for the reply.
Another question on the same subject.
If/when you multi-charge two squads w/ a MC, do you get one HoW attack for each unit? Or just pick which squad will take the single HoW attack?
|
New to WM/H |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/31 15:39:58
Subject: Hammer of Wrath and Monsterous Creatures.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You cannot multicharge with just 1 MC. That MC must charge a single unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/31 15:40:09
Subject: Re:Hammer of Wrath and Monsterous Creatures.
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
James S wrote:Many thanks for the reply.
Another question on the same subject.
If/when you multi-charge two squads w/ a MC
Stop there - you can't. Unless you're talking about a unit of Carnifexes - but still, you get one HoW attack and have to allocate it to the target unit.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/31 16:13:35
Subject: Hammer of Wrath and Monsterous Creatures.
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
USA
|
Fragile wrote:You cannot multicharge with just 1 MC. That MC must charge a single unit.
Is that spelled out in the rulebook anywhere?
If, during the MC's movement it was placed equidistant from two units, why couldn't it multicharge? The shortest distance to one of the units brought it into B2B with the other.
|
Check out my list building app for 40K and Fantasy:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/576793.page |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/31 16:45:36
Subject: Hammer of Wrath and Monsterous Creatures.
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Yes, it is in the rulebook. Page 28 to be exact:
Short version: initial charger must move into base contact with the primary target following all normal charge rules, including not being able to move into base contact with anything but the primary target.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/31 17:30:37
Subject: Hammer of Wrath and Monsterous Creatures.
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
USA
|
Luide wrote:Yes, it is in the rulebook. Page 28 to be exact:
Short version: initial charger must move into base contact with the primary target following all normal charge rules, including not being able to move into base contact with anything but the primary target.
Cool, I don't have my rulebook with me, I'll take a look when I get home.
|
Check out my list building app for 40K and Fantasy:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/576793.page |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/31 17:41:39
Subject: Re:Hammer of Wrath and Monsterous Creatures.
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Nocturne
|
Mc's close combat attacks ignore armour saves but does the hammer of wrath attack ignore armour saves?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/31 17:56:32
Subject: Re:Hammer of Wrath and Monsterous Creatures.
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
redrooster148 wrote:Mc's close combat attacks ignore armour saves but does the hammer of wrath attack ignore armour saves?
No, it's AP- as stated in the HoW rules.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/31 21:17:26
Subject: Re:Hammer of Wrath and Monsterous Creatures.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
rigeld2 wrote:redrooster148 wrote:Mc's close combat attacks ignore armour saves but does the hammer of wrath attack ignore armour saves?
No, it's AP- as stated in the HoW rules.
And as reinforced by the HoW or Smash rule (never remember which) which states you cannot use Smash during HoW, and it is Smash which makes an attack AP2
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/01 00:53:13
Subject: Re:Hammer of Wrath and Monsterous Creatures.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:rigeld2 wrote:redrooster148 wrote:Mc's close combat attacks ignore armour saves but does the hammer of wrath attack ignore armour saves?
No, it's AP- as stated in the HoW rules.
And as reinforced by the HoW or Smash rule (never remember which) which states you cannot use Smash during HoW, and it is Smash which makes an attack AP2
Clarification here. You cannot use Smash during a How. But having the ability to Smash is what gives attacks AP2, not the Smash attack itself.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/01 01:00:35
Subject: Re:Hammer of Wrath and Monsterous Creatures.
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Fragile wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:rigeld2 wrote:redrooster148 wrote:Mc's close combat attacks ignore armour saves but does the hammer of wrath attack ignore armour saves?
No, it's AP- as stated in the HoW rules.
And as reinforced by the HoW or Smash rule (never remember which) which states you cannot use Smash during HoW, and it is Smash which makes an attack AP2
Clarification here. You cannot use Smash during a How. But having the ability to Smash is what gives attacks AP2, not the Smash attack itself.
Except for HoW which does not benefit from the AP2 granted by the Smash Special rule.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/01 01:09:39
Subject: Re:Hammer of Wrath and Monstrous Creatures.
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Happyjew wrote:Except for HoW which does not benefit from the AP2 granted by the Smash Special rule.
This is correct.
P.S. MC = Monstrous Creatures
Not Monsterous.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/01 07:48:12
Subject: Re:Hammer of Wrath and Monsterous Creatures.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Fragile wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:rigeld2 wrote:redrooster148 wrote:Mc's close combat attacks ignore armour saves but does the hammer of wrath attack ignore armour saves?
No, it's AP- as stated in the HoW rules.
And as reinforced by the HoW or Smash rule (never remember which) which states you cannot use Smash during HoW, and it is Smash which makes an attack AP2
Clarification here. You cannot use Smash during a How. But having the ability to Smash is what gives attacks AP2, not the Smash attack itself.
No, having the Smash rule makes all your CC attacks AP2, you can then make a Smash Attack - you never "Smash"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/01 10:25:29
Subject: Re:Hammer of Wrath and Monsterous Creatures.
|
 |
Wicked Warp Spider
|
rigeld2 wrote: James S wrote:Many thanks for the reply.
Another question on the same subject.
If/when you multi-charge two squads w/ a MC
Stop there - you can't. Unless you're talking about a unit of Carnifexes - but still, you get one HoW attack and have to allocate it to the target unit.
Getting more than one model in base-to-base at initiative step pre-10 is also pretty damned difficult with a single model unit.
|
I really need to stay away from the 40K forums. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/02 02:57:36
Subject: Hammer of Wrath and Monsterous Creatures.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Yeah, charging with 1 model will always result in you basing 1 model.
|
|
 |
 |
|