Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/31 18:34:02
Subject: Overwatch and being assaulted by two units
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
So this happened in my game yesterday
I assaulted a guardsman squad with my GJBs, and my opponent chose not to overwatch. My GJB made it to combat. I then declared another assault with my DE beast squad. He said he could overwatch against them because technically his guardsmen weren't "locked" in combat until the first initiative phase, which didn't happen until combat began. It wasn't a big deal, but it would definitely play into my tactics more should it have been a flamer squad.
Thoughts?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/31 18:48:27
Subject: Re:Overwatch and being assaulted by two units
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
Rynn's World
|
Your opponent was wrong.Once your first unit made it into combat,the two units are locked and ready for the assault phase.He cannot then say he is going to overwatch on the second unit charge.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/31 18:50:42
Subject: Re:Overwatch and being assaulted by two units
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Pedro Kantor wrote:Your opponent was wrong.Once your first unit made it into combat,the two units are locked and ready for the assault phase.He cannot then say he is going to overwatch on the second unit charge.
That's how we play it.
You don't have to shoot the first unit that charges, but unless they fail their charge you won't get to overwatch against anyone else.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/31 18:54:43
Subject: Overwatch and being assaulted by two units
|
 |
Flashy Flashgitz
North Carolina
|
To back up what Pedro and infinity have said, pg. 23 says, under "Who Can Fight?", "Units that have one or more models in base contact with enemies are locked in combat"
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/31 18:55:23
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/31 19:07:19
Subject: Overwatch and being assaulted by two units
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
The other side of that is they are not locked in combat until the Fight Sub-phase, as that is what defines them as being locked in combat.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/31 19:24:26
Subject: Overwatch and being assaulted by two units
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
DeathReaper wrote:The other side of that is they are not locked in combat until the Fight Sub-phase, as that is what defines them as being locked in combat.
Not so, the movement of the charge move by the UNIT, locks them in combat.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/31 19:25:35
Subject: Overwatch and being assaulted by two units
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
So then why would the BRB limit a charged unit to 1 Overwatch per turn?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/31 19:32:44
Subject: Overwatch and being assaulted by two units
|
 |
Aspirant Tech-Adept
|
Happyjew wrote:So then why would the BRB limit a charged unit to 1 Overwatch per turn?
Overwatch happens before you roll your charge dice. Its possible to be charged by multiple units that do not make it into base to base.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/31 19:33:00
Subject: Overwatch and being assaulted by two units
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Happyjew wrote:So then why would the BRB limit a charged unit to 1 Overwatch per turn?
Why would the BRB do anything?
By RAW, a unit in BTB is locked in combat.
The other side of that is they are not locked in combat until the Fight Sub-phase, as that is what defines them as being locked in combat.
This argument is based on the statement that when you move the initial charge into BTB, then the rest of the unit cannot move. However, the Charge Move section clearly states that "All of the models in a charging unit make their charge move...." This comes before the Initial charger section that says move the first charger. The whole unit is moving, but it is resolved 1 at a time.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/31 20:05:10
Subject: Overwatch and being assaulted by two units
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Right and as soon as the first model is in base contact, the whole unit is locked in combat and therefore cannot be moved. If you move a single model, the unit has moved.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/31 20:13:21
Subject: Overwatch and being assaulted by two units
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Your missing the part where the "Whole unit" is moving. It may be resolved one at at time, but the whole unit makes their charge move...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/31 20:23:17
Subject: Overwatch and being assaulted by two units
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Fragile wrote:Your missing the part where the "Whole unit" is moving. It may be resolved one at at time, but the whole unit makes their charge move...
and they can not move when locked in combat.
So once the unit is locked in combat it can not move. (Except for pile-in moves)
If one model is in base contact in CC is the unit locked in CC?
Clearly the answer is a yes.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/01 00:50:01
Subject: Overwatch and being assaulted by two units
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
DeathReaper wrote:Fragile wrote:Your missing the part where the "Whole unit" is moving. It may be resolved one at at time, but the whole unit makes their charge move...
and they can not move when locked in combat.
So once the unit is locked in combat it can not move. (Except for pile-in moves)
If one model is in base contact in CC is the unit locked in CC?
Clearly the answer is a yes.
And clearly your ignoring the whole section of rules at the top of pg 21.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/01 01:21:15
Subject: Overwatch and being assaulted by two units
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
"Charging units must attempt to engage as rnany opposing models in the enemy unit as possible with as many of their models as possible" P.21 That rule? Remember that Can't Trumps Must. Permissive ruleset and all. "Units that have one or more models in base contact with enemies are locked in combat. While a unit is locked in combat, it may only make Pile In moves and cannot otherwise move or shoot." P.23 So one or more models in base contact? Check, Cant move. Either: 1) They are not locked until the Fight sub-phase so you may Overwatch at any one assaulting unit. Or 2) They are locked as soon as the initial charger makes base contact as Can't Trumps Must, and the rest of the rules on P.21 are useless. I am inclined to say that 2 is not true, and 1 is true, as clearly they meant for more than one model to get into base contact when assaulting.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/01 01:21:30
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/01 02:10:43
Subject: Overwatch and being assaulted by two units
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Lets use your argument since your still not reading those lines.
"Units that have one or more models in base contact with enemies are locked in combat. ....." P.23
At the end of my charge move, is your unit in BTB.
Yes... therefore locked in combat.. RAW
Units locked in combat cannot fire Overwatch... RAW
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/01 02:11:42
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/01 02:13:37
Subject: Re:Overwatch and being assaulted by two units
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
You must declare what units are charging what before you roll dice. Thats what allows your opponent to decide which unit to Overwatch against.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/01 02:16:00
Subject: Re:Overwatch and being assaulted by two units
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Xzerios wrote:You must declare what units are charging what before you roll dice. Thats what allows your opponent to decide which unit to Overwatch against.
Not sure who your responding to Xzer, but pg 20
1. Declare Charge
2. Resolve Overwatch
3. Roll Charge Range.
4. Charge Move
5. Declare Next Charge.
Charges are resolved sequentially.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/01 03:27:39
Subject: Overwatch and being assaulted by two units
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Fragile wrote:Lets use your argument since your still not reading those lines.
"Units that have one or more models in base contact with enemies are locked in combat. ....." P.23
At the end of my charge move, is your unit in BTB.
Yes... therefore locked in combat.. RAW
Units locked in combat cannot fire Overwatch... RAW
I read those lines. but none of them over-ride the line about models locked in CC can not move except for Pile-in moves.
Once the first model makes it into base contact, you have to stop as you are now locked in CC, by Strict RAW.
That is why it is absurd to figure that they are locked in combat after the first charge move, as you would have to stop after moving the initial charger into base contact.
And since the Locked in combat rules are in the "FIGHT CLOSE COMBAT" (Capitalization left for the integrity of the quote) section, context tells us that if this has not happened yet then the unit is not yet locked in CC.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/01 03:43:05
Subject: Overwatch and being assaulted by two units
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Pg 21. Moving Charging Models clearly states that .."ALL of the Models in a charging unit make their charge move....."
Not one at a time, like your trying to say. Your breaking context in so many ways arguing that you suddenly interrupt your charge move to say, now that you have model in BTB (which the rule allows) so you can't move any of the others that are already in the process of moving.
And you will say 'Cant trumps Must". By that same logic, if you move 1 member of your unit during the movement phase, you cannot move any others since that unit has already moved.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/01 03:59:57
Subject: Overwatch and being assaulted by two units
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
"After moving the first model in the unit, you can move the others in any sequence you desire" P.21 you move sequentially, not all at once, you actually do move one at a time... Your assertation is trumped by Page 23. "Units that have one or more models in base contact with enemies are locked in combat. While a unit is locked in combat, it rnay only make Pile In moves and cannot otherwise move" Once one model is touching, then the unit is locked in combat. Once locked in combat it rnay only make Pile In moves and cannot otherwise move. Cannot trumps must. Or accept that "They are not locked until the Fight sub-phase so you may Overwatch at any one assaulting unit." As it breaks less rules than: "They are locked as soon as the initial charger makes base contact as Can't Trumps Must, and the rest of the rules on P.21 are useless."
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/01 04:02:14
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/01 04:31:12
Subject: Overwatch and being assaulted by two units
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
|
The whole point of the specifier of only getting to shoot one over-watch per unit is that the first unit to charge may not make it into assault range.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/01 04:32:56
3200 points > 5400 points
2500 points |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/01 04:35:55
Subject: Overwatch and being assaulted by two units
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Moving Initial charger tells you how to move the charging unit. This is after it states "All the models charge."
Again you do not stop in mid action to check whether you can Move. The game is sequential. When the unit initiated its charge, it was not in BTB. You do not check BTB again during that charge action.
Cannot trumps must.
You keep saying that but it doesnt have anything to do with the actions here. There is no Cannot.
Or accept that "They are not locked until the Fight sub-phase so you may Overwatch at any one assaulting unit."
Your making up rules to justify your position. This statement clearly violates far more RAW by saying the Initial charger suddenly locks out the rest of the charging unit by succeeding in his charge.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/01 05:31:44
Subject: Overwatch and being assaulted by two units
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Fragile wrote:Cannot trumps must. You keep saying that but it doesnt have anything to do with the actions here. There is no Cannot. Care to rethink that? "Units that have one or more models in base contact with enemies are locked in combat. While a unit is locked in combat, it rnay only make Pile In moves and cannot otherwise move" P.23 Plus the Context of "Units that have one or more models in base contact with enemies are locked in combat." being under the "FIGHT CLOSE COMBAT" section tells us they are not locked until they Fight a close combat. Fragile wrote:Or accept that "They are not locked until the Fight sub-phase so you may Overwatch at any one assaulting unit." Your making up rules to justify your position. This statement clearly violates far more RAW by saying the Initial charger suddenly locks out the rest of the charging unit by succeeding in his charge.
It is actually to illustrate that the position of "They are in base contact, so they are locked in combat before the Fight Sub-phase" is incorrect.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/01 05:34:42
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/01 05:50:26
Subject: Overwatch and being assaulted by two units
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
So DeathReaper, if you can't be locked in combat during the charge move because locked in combat isn't mentioned in that section what causes a unit to be locked in combat during the movement phase or the shooting phase?
It seems to me by making the delineation that the locked rules only kick in during the fight resolution phase because that is where they happen to be mentioned would further restrict them from ever being able to kick in during any other phase, allowing units to simply move out of close combat like a vehicle, or even worse, use their shooting phase to shoot into the squad they are currently fighting (since neither is locked since it's not the combat resolution phase).
I certainly can't see any wording towards the end of the Assault sections that says units in an ongoing assault will be "locked in combat" until the following assault phase.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/01 06:00:54
Subject: Overwatch and being assaulted by two units
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Drunkspleen wrote:So DeathReaper, if you can't be locked in combat during the charge move because locked in combat isn't mentioned in that section what causes a unit to be locked in combat during the movement phase or the shooting phase?
The fact that they have had a Fight Sub-phase, and we are told that they are now locked in combat from the Fight Sub-phase section, and are no longer eligible to move whilst locked.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/01 06:02:36
Subject: Overwatch and being assaulted by two units
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
DeathReaper wrote:Plus the Context of "Units that have one or more models in base contact with enemies are locked in combat." being under the "FIGHT CLOSE COMBAT" section tells us they are not locked until they Fight a close combat.
It doesn't tell us anything of the sort. Just because a definition exists within a particular section does not mean the definition only exists in the part of the game that section describes. Nowhere does it say that they are locked only in the Fight Sub-phase, that part you are making up.
Fragile wrote:Or accept that "They are not locked until the Fight sub-phase so you may Overwatch at any one assaulting unit."
Your making up rules to justify your position. This statement clearly violates far more RAW by saying the Initial charger suddenly locks out the rest of the charging unit by succeeding in his charge.
It is actually to illustrate that the position of "They are in base contact, so they are locked in combat before the Fight Sub-phase" is incorrect.
Putting words into quotes to make it sound like a rule doesn't change the fact that the rules do not support your position, nor is it an effective argument.
The unit moves together, the models move individually. Just like the unit fires their weapons together, but you roll for them separately. Just because we physically do something one model at a time does not change the fact that as far as the rules/game is concerned they all did that action together. The unit moves one model at a time, once the unit has moved they are locked in combat and cannot Overwatch a second charging unit.
1. Declare Charge
2. Resolve Overwatch
3. Roll Charge Range.
4. Charge Move
5. Declare Next Charge.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/01 06:04:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/01 07:29:07
Subject: Overwatch and being assaulted by two units
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Captain - the rules for moving chargers specifically tells you that you are moving sequentially. Hence the restrictions on the first model and the requirements to end in coherency with a model that has already moved. The move is explicitly sequential.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/01 12:06:11
Subject: Overwatch and being assaulted by two units
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
The unit charges. The fact that you move them one at a time is irrelevant. You cannot break it down to the model charges then the unit can't charge anymore because a model does not charge, the unit does. Just like you can't shoot with one model then be told your unit already shot so no more shooting.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/01 14:05:48
Subject: Overwatch and being assaulted by two units
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Captain Antivas wrote:The unit moves together, the models move individually. Just like the unit fires their weapons together, but you roll for them separately. Just because we physically do something one model at a time does not change the fact that as far as the rules/game is concerned they all did that action together. The unit moves one model at a time, once the unit has moved they are locked in combat and cannot Overwatch a second charging unit.
1. Declare Charge
2. Resolve Overwatch
3. Roll Charge Range.
4. Charge Move
5. Declare Next Charge.
The part about 'The unit moves one model at a time' is correct, but the rules make it quite clear that you move sequentially, and not all at once.
The 1-5 steps are correct, with the caveat that #2 does not have to be done by the unit being charged.
However if you are claiming that they are locked in combat before the fight sub-phase (Where they tell us that they are locked) we are going to need some actual proof using the actual rules. (That means do not ignore the context).
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/01 15:21:45
Subject: Overwatch and being assaulted by two units
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
So suddenly context matters again? Please pick a side, it is impossible to follow your reasoning when it keeps changing like that.
Like I said, the location of a rule in a particular section is not enough context to support your claim. Or is it? See, in the past you argued it wasn't (swooping vs. grounded) but now you are arguing it is. I cannot accept your argument as valid because it is inconsistent with previous arguments and I am unable to determine if you are being disingenuous now or then. That and the context you speak of doesn't exist.
|
|
 |
 |
|