Switch Theme:

Piling In?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





Hi everyone,

A quick one.

If an enemy charges at me, do i get to pile in if my models are higher initiative?, as it is technically an initiative step when i attack? or can i only strike the 1 model that is in B2B with me.

   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control




Bristol, UK

You pile in at your Initiative step.

If you can keep your head, while all about you are losing their's, then you have probably completely misunderstood the situation!

6,000pts
5,500pts
3,500pts
2,500pts 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





Ok,

So say for example i am using my Tau army.

My kroot (i3) and hounds (i5) get charged by space marines (i4)

The enemy gets in, but with only 1 model (a standard kroot warrior).

Do my hounds get to pile in before they attack? or as it is the 1st attack of the combat, is there no pile in?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You pile in at the same I step you attack (usualy), so at I5 you make a 3" pile in move with al those models who are I5
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Your hounds would Pile In and attack at I5, the marines would Pile In and attack at I4, your Kroot would Pile In and attack at I3.

At the end of combat everyone will Pile In, starting with the active players side.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




K3 wrote:
My kroot (i3) and hounds (i5) get charged by space marines (i4)
The hounds pile-in at I5, the marines pile-in at I4, and the kroot pile-in at I3. Don't make this more complicated than it has to be! You pile-in at your initiative step regardless of whether you charged or not.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

nosferatu1001 wrote:
You pile in at the same I step you attack (usualy), so at I5 you make a 3" pile in move with al those models who are I5
This (and the others with similar view) is correct.

With the caveat that if the I5 guys kill a bunch of models, and the I4 SM's can not get into CC with their 3 inch pile in move, the combat ends and you determine assault results and any remaining initiative steps are lost. (then once combat is resolved if the SM's make their test both armies pile in 3 inches to try to get into base contact.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




 DeathReaper wrote:
With the caveat that if the I5 guys kill a bunch of models, and the I4 SM's can not get into CC with their 3 inch pile in move, the combat ends and you determine assault results and any remaining initiative steps are lost.
No, both sides would have to fail pile-in for the initiative sequence to halt. In this case, that means both the space marines 3" and the kroot 3" would have to fail. There must be more than 6" total, as stated in the parenthetical, and if your result is different, you're doing it wrong.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Pyrian wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
With the caveat that if the I5 guys kill a bunch of models, and the I4 SM's can not get into CC with their 3 inch pile in move, the combat ends and you determine assault results and any remaining initiative steps are lost.
No, both sides would have to fail pile-in for the initiative sequence to halt. In this case, that means both the space marines 3" and the kroot 3" would have to fail. There must be more than 6" total, as stated in the parenthetical, and if your result is different, you're doing it wrong.

Re-read Page 23, it disagrees with you.

The parenthetical assumes both sides have models moving at the same initiative step.

In the example above it is assumed that the I5 models have already made pile in moves and attacks. If the I5 guys kill enough models that the I4 Space Marines can not make base contact with a 3 inch pile in move, then:

"the assault comes to an end. All remaining Initiative steps are lost - work out the assault result as described on page 26." (23)

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Pyrian wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
With the caveat that if the I5 guys kill a bunch of models, and the I4 SM's can not get into CC with their 3 inch pile in move, the combat ends and you determine assault results and any remaining initiative steps are lost.
No, both sides would have to fail pile-in for the initiative sequence to halt. In this case, that means both the space marines 3" and the kroot 3" would have to fail. There must be more than 6" total, as stated in the parenthetical, and if your result is different, you're doing it wrong.


The I5 models have alreaqdy made their pile in, they cannot pile in again just becauser theyve killed everyone in base.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




 DeathReaper wrote:
Re-read Page 23, it disagrees with you.
You claim that, yet it directly contradicts your position both in the rule and the aside.

 DeathReaper wrote:
The parenthetical assumes both sides have models moving at the same initiative step.
No, you're assuming that, and that assumption is why you're getting this rule wrong. The rule doesn't say anything about the same initiative step - the requirement is instead that both sides move, and the parenthetical dramatically confirms that. With both the rule itself and the parenthetical disagreeing directly with your position, I don't think you should read so much into context as to assume that the rule itself is somehow wrong about its own statements. Because that's all you've got for your "same initiative step" assumption: context. Context can be overridden, and in this case it is. You must satisfy the condition that both sides piling-in doesn't reach, or the effect is not triggered, because that's exactly what the rule says. It doesn't say you get to ignore models that aren't piling-in on the particular step you've reached.

 DeathReaper wrote:
"the assault comes to an end. All remaining Initiative steps are lost - work out the assault result as described on page 26." (23)
Y'know, when you drag out a partial quote that's conspicuously missing the part you're disagreeing about, I can't help but think you know you're wrong.

The I5 models have alreaqdy made their pile in, they cannot pile in again just becauser theyve killed everyone in base.
Those are the hounds, Nos. It's the Kroot that pile-in at I3.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Deathreaper is correct. That statement is assuming both side go at the same INI. If the Pile In Move of any given INI step cannot bring the combatants back into BTB. Then the combat ends.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Pyrian wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
The parenthetical assumes both sides have models moving at the same initiative step.
No, you're assuming that, and that assumption is why you're getting this rule wrong.


You might want to re-read that rule, specifically:

"When making Pile In moves, the player whose turn it is moves his unit(s) first. If both players' Pile In moves combined would be insufficient to bring any combatants back together (that's more than 6" - very unlikely!), the assault comes to an end. All remaining Initiative steps are lost - work out the assault result as described on page 26."

Notice how the parenthetical refers to the sentence "If both players' Pile In moves combined would be insufficient to bring any combatants back together"

Both players refers to When making Pile In moves, the player whose turn it is moves his unit(s) first.

As we know you only make a pile in move on your initiative, so the whole section assumes both players have models making pile in moves. Thus the section assumes both players have pile in moves to make. Thus it must be talking about a single given initiative step where both players are making pile in moves at a given initiative value.

Pyrian wrote:
The I5 models have alreaqdy made their pile in, they cannot pile in again just becauser theyve killed everyone in base.
Those are the hounds, Nos. It's the Kroot that pile-in at I3.

Only if the I4 models made it into base contact. If the I4 models did not make it, the assault comes to an end. All remaining Initiative steps are lost.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/03 22:59:29


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: