Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/06 04:15:14
Subject: Flame template question
|
 |
Frenzied Juggernaut
|
Can a template only wound models under the template? For example, my flamers of Tz. flame some hellions. I hit 23 time, but did not touch 3 models in doing so. (out of range). I wound 15 times. Does he remove the 3 models that werent tocuhed by the templates? Or is it still removed closest to closest.
|
37,500 pts Daemon Army of the Gods
35,000 pts - X - Iron Tenth
15,000pts - Firehawks
7,000 pts - Nighthaunt
 
Dkok - 1850
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/06 04:29:05
Subject: Flame template question
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
Closest. The only exception to this is barrage weapon which wound and kill from their center.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/06 04:30:31
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/06 06:18:07
Subject: Flame template question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
xSoulgrinderx wrote:Can a template only wound models under the template? For example, my flamers of Tz. flame some hellions. I hit 23 time, but did not touch 3 models in doing so. (out of range). I wound 15 times. Does he remove the 3 models that werent tocuhed by the templates? Or is it still removed closest to closest.
A template wounds just like a normal shooting attack. The template only determines the number of hits generated. If you generated 15 wounds then he would make 15 saves. Those wounds would be allocated as normal. IF that was enough to kill the 3 that were not under the Template then they would die.
Being out of range from the template does not stop wounds from being allocated to you.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/06 06:53:21
Subject: Re:Flame template question
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Nothings different with templates or blasts(barrage blast weapons have an exception that you remove from the center of the blast)
Its entirely possable to kill models not under the template.
For example, if Scarabs get hosed by a heavy incinerator. Each unsaved wound is actually 2 wounds because they are Vulnerable to Blasts, and then the wounds also cause instant death because of Str6 vs T3. So each hit and wound on the unit will kill 2 bases. So if a 10 Scarab unit is hit 5 times by the weapon it will actually be 10 hits, and if all wound it will remove 10 bases. So 5 hits can kill all 10 bases.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/06 15:07:28
Subject: Flame template question
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
I agree with "Its entirely possable to kill models not under the template." but the example you gave is not valid in 6th.
As opposed to 5th edition, now the extra wound is allocated to the same scarab base. So even if the wound got doubled, only one base will die.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/06 15:12:16
Subject: Flame template question
|
 |
Frenzied Juggernaut
|
? I dont think thats how it works, if it would inflict ID, then one wound would kill one base.
|
37,500 pts Daemon Army of the Gods
35,000 pts - X - Iron Tenth
15,000pts - Firehawks
7,000 pts - Nighthaunt
 
Dkok - 1850
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/06 15:14:45
Subject: Flame template question
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
The allocation system changed signoficantly since 5th. One of the less obvious changes is that in this case both wounds should be allocated to the same base regardless ID.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/06 15:16:09
Subject: Flame template question
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
copper.talos wrote:I agree with "Its entirely possable to kill models not under the template." but the example you gave is not valid in 6th. As opposed to 5th edition, now the extra wound is allocated to the same scarab base. So even if the wound got doubled, only one base will die.
Not true. Assuming a unit of only scarabs. Take Saving Throws First of all, the target unit gets to make one saving throw, if it has one (see page 16), for each Wound being resolved. Make a note of how many unsaved Wounds have been caused.
Appropriate saves are made, anything left is doubled. Allocate Unsaved Wounds & Remove Casualties Next, allocate an unsaved Wound to the enemy model closest to the firing unit. Reduce that model's Wounds by 1. If the model is reduced to 0Wounds, remove it as a casualty. Continue allocating unsaved Wounds to the closest model until there are no more Wounds left, or the whole unit has been removed as casualties. If a model suffers an unsaved Wound from an Attack that has a Strength value of double its Toughness value orgreater (after modifiers), it is reduced to 0 Wounds and removed as a casualty. ID wounds remove the models as a casualty, so you can only allocate one wound to it.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/06 15:16:30
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/06 15:18:02
Subject: Flame template question
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
So where do you base your objection?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/06 15:21:29
Subject: Flame template question
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
I just lined it out.
2 Scarabs in a unit of 5 get hit by a Str6 AP3 template.
AP ignores the armor save.
2 wounds is doubled to 4.
First scarab is allocated a wound.
The wound ID's the scarab.
The second scarab is allocated a wound.
Repeat until there are no wounds left. There will be one scarab base left.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/06 15:27:16
Subject: Flame template question
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
Did you even read the swarm special rule? The doubling of the wounds comes after the unsaved wound was suffered.
Let's say you have a wound pool of five wounds. You take one out and you are left with four. You allocate that wound to a scarab base. Then the wound is doubled. The extra wound doesn't go back to the wound pool. The wound pool is calculated only once and it happens before allocation.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/09/06 15:31:48
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/06 15:33:14
Subject: Flame template question
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Oh, thank god. I thought that was one of the stupidest things in 5th edition.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/06 15:40:58
Subject: Flame template question
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
copper.talos wrote:Did you even read the swarm special rule? The doubling of the wounds comes after the unsaved wound was suffered.
I see your argument - I think it's ripe for an FAQ.
The issue - to me - is that the doubling happens when the Swarm suffers an unsaved wound, and then it's doubled. Is "the Swarm" referring to the model with the Swarm SR or the unit of models with the Swarm SR?
Current RAW though I think you're right.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/06 15:52:18
Subject: Flame template question
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
It could certainly use a faq. Even if for no other reason but just to clear things up to those used to the 5th mentality. As I said before, it's one of the less obvious changes and one can easily be mistaken.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 13:12:50
Subject: Flame template question
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
copper.talos wrote:Did you even read the swarm special rule? The doubling of the wounds comes after the unsaved wound was suffered.
You double the number of unsaved wounds, yes. But then in a unit of identical saves, it's only unsaved wounds that are allocated (p15). Oddly, in a unit with mixed saves, you'd only apply the doubling after allocating the wound. So, assuming the swarm is in the open with identical saves, you: 1. Roll to hit. 2. Roll to wound. 3. Roll saves. 4. Double the number of unsaved wounds. 5. Allocate the unsaved wounds to models. Each of these would then cause instant death, if applicable. You're right in that a unit with mixed saves would allocate the first unsaved wound before rolling to save it; if failed, it then doubles, and then causes instant death if applicable. Then you apply the second unsaved wound, double it if it fails, etc. So, depending on the situation, both answers are right. And thoroughly unnecessarily complicated.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/07 13:13:31
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 13:19:09
Subject: Flame template question
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Cheexsta wrote:4. Double the number of unsaved wounds.
5. Allocate the unsaved wounds to models. Each of these would then cause instant death, if applicable.
Not really - the wounds aren't doubled until after it's allocated.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 13:27:09
Subject: Flame template question
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
rigeld2 wrote: Cheexsta wrote:4. Double the number of unsaved wounds.
5. Allocate the unsaved wounds to models. Each of these would then cause instant death, if applicable.
Not really - the wounds aren't doubled until after it's allocated.
Hmm, actually I think you're right. The rule says "if a Swarm suffers an unsaved wound" - I initially read this as referring to a unit containing a Swarm, but it makes more sense that it would only apply after being allocated to a model with the Swarm rule. I take back my previous argument
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/07 14:24:21
Subject: Flame template question
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Cheexsta wrote:rigeld2 wrote: Cheexsta wrote:4. Double the number of unsaved wounds.
5. Allocate the unsaved wounds to models. Each of these would then cause instant death, if applicable.
Not really - the wounds aren't doubled until after it's allocated.
Hmm, actually I think you're right. The rule says "if a Swarm suffers an unsaved wound" - I initially read this as referring to a unit containing a Swarm, but it makes more sense that it would only apply after being allocated to a model with the Swarm rule. I take back my previous argument 
Exactly how my brain read it.
I'm not sure that's how it's intended, but that's the RAW.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
|