Switch Theme:

Flyers Hover - Still in Reserve + General Outflank question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




UK

I'm sorry if it sounds like an obvious answer, but if a Flyer has the option to hover... does it still have to start in reserves if it chooses to hover? (despite not zooming)

I generally thought they do stay in reserves, but when they come off reserve they get to choose their movement system (zoom or hover)

Reading the rules over and over again, my group were split over this and I can't seem to find an answer.

The other thing I've been meaning to ask, if a Flyer has the option to outflank (infiltrate/scouts etc), can it choose to use this with incoming reserves? (like going off the board)


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Flyers must start in reserves. pg 80 Aerial Support.
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Even in Hover Mode, it's still a flyer so must start in reserve.

As for using Outflank in Ongoing Reserve, this is covered in the Outflank rule (page 40)
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




A flyer is always a flyer. If it goes into hover mode, it is also a fast skimmer, but it's still a flyer fast skimmer. So, all the rules that are for flyers in general, rather than specifically for zooming, still apply to hovering flyers. That means they have to start in reserve (and, IIRC, can choose to Skyfire).
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: