Switch Theme:

models bigger than base?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Tower of Power






Cannock

Just had a thought last night, the rulebook says that measurements are done base to base. What happens when you say have a jetbike or something like a Screamer which the model is bigger than the base? Do you still do measurements from the base or is there some where in the rulebook which says at the model?

warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com

Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk

Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 
   
Made in nz
Regular Dakkanaut




Measure from the hull, like you would a tank.

 
   
Made in us
Incorporating Wet-Blending






Glendale, AZ

SkyD wrote:
Measure from the hull, like you would a tank.
Not sure what a "Screamer" is, but jetbikes don't have hulls. You measure from the base.

Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.


 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Yup, non-vehicle models always measure from the base.

 
   
Made in cn
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar






lol so a the ravenwing jet bike need to measure to the base, strange but reasonable because you need to make into base to base contact to assualt not the model.
   
Made in gb
Tower of Power






Cannock

Ok, the base is cool. Double checking as this is very important for deep strike.

So for example, the Screamer model is about 1" bigger than the base. If I deep strike and the model is within 1" of a enemy unit, but the base isn't, does this count as a deep strike mishap?

I guess not, as distances are measured base to base.

warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com

Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk

Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 mercer wrote:
I guess not, as distances are measured base to base.

You guess correctly.

 
   
Made in gb
Sinewy Scourge




What about seeker chariots? They are vehicles bigger than their base.
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Strictly speaking the base of the Seeker Chariot is ignored, as only walkers, and in a limited capacity skimmers and flyers, have rules for measuring to a base they are mounted on.

Of course I don't know exactly what would constitute hull on that thing, it seems like most of it is decorative elements(in the vein of Dozer Blades), definitely one to discuss pre game with your opponent.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/12 11:46:39


Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Dozer blades aren't decorative anymore, they are counted as part of the hull for measuring distances and LOS to the vehicle, but not for measuring range to the vehicle...
   
Made in se
Servoarm Flailing Magos






Metalica

 Kevin949 wrote:
Dozer blades aren't decorative anymore, they are counted as part of the hull for measuring distances and LOS to the vehicle, but not for measuring range to the vehicle...

What is the difference between measuring distances and measuring range in this sentence?

 
   
Made in us
Incorporating Wet-Blending






Glendale, AZ

 Drunkspleen wrote:
Strictly speaking the base of the Seeker Chariot is ignored, as only walkers, and in a limited capacity skimmers and flyers, have rules for measuring to a base they are mounted on.

Of course I don't know exactly what would constitute hull on that thing, it seems like most of it is decorative elements(in the vein of Dozer Blades), definitely one to discuss pre game with your opponent.


Seeker Chariots have no hull; they are not vehicles, therefore you measure to the base.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/12 21:00:52


Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Lordhat wrote:
 Drunkspleen wrote:
Strictly speaking the base of the Seeker Chariot is ignored, as only walkers, and in a limited capacity skimmers and flyers, have rules for measuring to a base they are mounted on.

Of course I don't know exactly what would constitute hull on that thing, it seems like most of it is decorative elements(in the vein of Dozer Blades), definitely one to discuss pre game with your opponent.


Seeker Chariots have no hull; they are not vehicles, therefore you measure to the base.

Seeker Chariots are Chariots right?
... Chariots are vehicles...

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Incorporating Wet-Blending






Glendale, AZ

rigeld2 wrote:
 Lordhat wrote:
 Drunkspleen wrote:
Strictly speaking the base of the Seeker Chariot is ignored, as only walkers, and in a limited capacity skimmers and flyers, have rules for measuring to a base they are mounted on.

Of course I don't know exactly what would constitute hull on that thing, it seems like most of it is decorative elements(in the vein of Dozer Blades), definitely one to discuss pre game with your opponent.


Seeker Chariots have no hull; they are not vehicles, therefore you measure to the base.

Seeker Chariots are Chariots right?
... Chariots are vehicles...


My bad, looked in the BGB; The only Daemon vehicle I saw was the Soulgrinder; Didn't realize Seeker Chariots were a new unit as well as a new model. (Thought they might've been a new model for an existing unit.)

Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.


 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






 Purifier wrote:
 Kevin949 wrote:
Dozer blades aren't decorative anymore, they are counted as part of the hull for measuring distances and LOS to the vehicle, but not for measuring range to the vehicle...

What is the difference between measuring distances and measuring range in this sentence?


Sorry, I meant that it counted as being able to see the vehicle for LOS purposes but you can't draw range to fire on it if all you can see is the dozer blade.

All things said and done, dozer blades and other vehicle upgrades are now considered part of the hull. But you can't use them to determine you're firing on them. According to my buddy at least, it doesn't really make sense to me.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Kevin949 wrote:
 Purifier wrote:
 Kevin949 wrote:
Dozer blades aren't decorative anymore, they are counted as part of the hull for measuring distances and LOS to the vehicle, but not for measuring range to the vehicle...

What is the difference between measuring distances and measuring range in this sentence?


Sorry, I meant that it counted as being able to see the vehicle for LOS purposes but you can't draw range to fire on it if all you can see is the dozer blade.

All things said and done, dozer blades and other vehicle upgrades are now considered part of the hull. But you can't use them to determine you're firing on them. According to my buddy at least, it doesn't really make sense to me.

I'd ask for rules quotes because I'm pretty sure that's not true.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in se
Servoarm Flailing Magos






Metalica

ignore gun barrels, dozer blades, antennas, banners and other decorative elements.

Page 71

It's considered a nothing.

edit: although, that said, it's considered a nothing when measuring to and from the vehicle, but it might still technically be blocking LOS to troops behind the dozer blade. It doesn't say anywhere that it doesn't.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/12 21:57:02


 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






rigeld2 wrote:
 Kevin949 wrote:
 Purifier wrote:
 Kevin949 wrote:
Dozer blades aren't decorative anymore, they are counted as part of the hull for measuring distances and LOS to the vehicle, but not for measuring range to the vehicle...

What is the difference between measuring distances and measuring range in this sentence?


Sorry, I meant that it counted as being able to see the vehicle for LOS purposes but you can't draw range to fire on it if all you can see is the dozer blade.

All things said and done, dozer blades and other vehicle upgrades are now considered part of the hull. But you can't use them to determine you're firing on them. According to my buddy at least, it doesn't really make sense to me.

I'd ask for rules quotes because I'm pretty sure that's not true.


Argh, well of course I can't find it now (the entry about vehicle upgrades being part of the hull) but I know I read that in my buddies rule book. I had to look it over two or three times to make sure I understood and then he looked over it too.

Maddening...
   
Made in se
Servoarm Flailing Magos






Metalica

I just told you. Page 71. First paragraph.

 
   
Made in de
Ork Admiral Kroozin Da Kosmos on Da Hulk






The example for measuring to vehicles measures to the reinforced ram of a trukk though, which is an explicit change to the 5th edition example (which ignored the ram).

7 Ork facts people always get wrong:
Ragnar did not win against Thrakka, but suffered two crushing defeats within a few days of each other.
A lasgun is powerful enough to sever an ork's appendage or head in a single, well aimed shot.
Orks meks have a better understanding of electrics and mechanics than most Tech Priests.
Orks actually do not think that purple makes them harder to see. The joke was made canon by Alex Stewart's Caphias Cain books.
Gharkull Blackfang did not even come close to killing the emperor.
Orks can be corrupted by chaos, but few of them have any interest in what chaos offers.
Orks do not have the power of believe. 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






 Purifier wrote:
I just told you. Page 71. First paragraph.


I saw, but I'm not talking about that section. I remember reading the specific words that "vehicle upgrades are considered to be part of the hull" somewhere in the book. I'm just racking my brain trying to figure out where.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Kevin949 wrote:
 Purifier wrote:
I just told you. Page 71. First paragraph.


I saw, but I'm not talking about that section. I remember reading the specific words that "vehicle upgrades are considered to be part of the hull" somewhere in the book. I'm just racking my brain trying to figure out where.

Right, but if they're part of the hull you can measure to them...

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






rigeld2 wrote:
 Kevin949 wrote:
 Purifier wrote:
I just told you. Page 71. First paragraph.


I saw, but I'm not talking about that section. I remember reading the specific words that "vehicle upgrades are considered to be part of the hull" somewhere in the book. I'm just racking my brain trying to figure out where.

Right, but if they're part of the hull you can measure to them...


Well that's what I'm saying (and cant find the relevant entry now) is that one section said they counted as part of the hull but the other section says you ignore them for purposes of measuring to and from the vehicle. But as I said, I can't find the first part now. I just remember looking it up because we weren't sure and I saw that section and then my buddy lost his...Vindicator in a game because of that, then a few days later he came to me and said that they count for the purposes of LOS but not for measuring to the vehicle (which also meant you couldn't use those extra bits to measure from the vehicle for certain disembarkation moves).
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: