Switch Theme:

night fighting cover from ordnance barrage?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Tower of Power






Cannock

Do units get cover from via night fighting from ordnance barrage?

Night fighting rule says if a shooting attack scatters use the distance from the original target to determine what night fighting effect has.

Barrage rules say that cover save is determined from the centre of the blast marker.

So, would night fighting give cover saves because of distance i.e +2 shrouding or do you work out cover from the centre of the blast marker?

thanks

warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com

Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk

Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 mercer wrote:
Do units get cover from via night fighting from ordnance barrage?

Night fighting rule says if a shooting attack scatters use the distance from the original target to determine what night fighting effect has.

Barrage rules say that cover save is determined from the centre of the blast marker.

So, would night fighting give cover saves because of distance i.e +2 shrouding or do you work out cover from the centre of the blast marker?

thanks


You still work out the distance from the firing model for cover saves, not the distance from the blast. So it looks like you would stll get the +1/+2 to your save

No idea if this is what they intended
   
Made in gb
Tower of Power






Cannock

Ok, cool.

warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com

Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk

Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




You would get the +1/+2 to your save, but your save is worked out from the center of the blast marker.
   
Made in gb
Focused Fire Warrior




Norwich,UK

Slightly off topic but still relevant but can a ordanance barrage shot target a unit over 36" away during night fighting

Tac Ticz, Whatz Dat?  
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 Kendowned wrote:
Slightly off topic but still relevant but can a ordanance barrage shot target a unit over 36" away during night fighting

No, you can't target anything over 36"
   
Made in gb
Focused Fire Warrior




Norwich,UK

Ok is this also the case with artillery with indirect fire

Tac Ticz, Whatz Dat?  
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 Kendowned wrote:
Ok is this also the case with artillery with indirect fire

Isn't that the same question?
No you can't target anything over 36" with direct, indirect, barrage etc
Anything that requires a target. That's almost everything.
   
Made in gb
Focused Fire Warrior




Norwich,UK

Just wanted clarification people at my local club say as you don't need line of sight you can still fire indirectly

Tac Ticz, Whatz Dat?  
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Kendowned wrote:
Just wanted clarification people at my local club say as you don't need line of sight you can still fire indirectly

You don't need line of sight.
Unfortunately you do need permission to target the unit - and Night Fighting forbids targetting farther than 36" away.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

You don't need line of sight, but you still need to be able to target the unit.

Edit: Curses that rigeld2 is fast on the keyboard.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/12 18:23:32


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: