Switch Theme:

No models on table = YOU LOSE!  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Denver

So just a quick question to clarify some potential issues with running a drop pod list.

1. My list includes 3 drop pods and a 10 man squad of TH/SS termies with a Libby in terminator armor. All declared in reserves (this can be done right? since they can all be taken in reserves no matter what right?)
2. My opponent deploys/goes first.
3. Turn 1 starts, I have nothing on table. Opponent moves a couple things, ends his player turn.
4. Bottom of turn 1, I deep strike 2 Drop Pods. Both Mishap, get delayed results.
5. Top of turn 2. I lose?

Is this accurate?

Not that it will happen very often, just want to be sure I am clear on this.

::1750:: Deathwatch 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





yup!! Tough break on the scatter rolls :(

Dang near impossible to Mishap with Drop pods though.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/13 20:05:20


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

If you have no models on table at the end of any game turn you auto lose.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Yes, you lose.

"'players must agree how they are going to select their armies, and if any restrictions apply to the number and type of models they can use."

This is an actual rule in the actual rulebook. Quit whining about how you can imagine someone's army touching you in a bad place and play by the actual rules.


Freelance Ontologist

When people ask, "What's the point in understanding everything?" they've just disqualified themselves from using questions and should disappear in a puff of paradox. But they don't understand and just continue existing, which are also their only two strategies for life. 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





The terminators (or librarian) have to be deployed.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 NickTheButcher wrote:
1. My list includes 3 drop pods and a 10 man squad of TH/SS termies with a Libby in terminator armor. All declared in reserves (this can be done right? since they can all be taken in reserves no matter what right?)

It's not because they 'can' always be in reserve... The Pods must stay in reserve. As per the FAQ, squads embarked into the pods don't count towards the number of units you can reserve, so that leaves you with one unit (the terminators) ... Half of 1, rounded up, is 1... so the Terminators can also be kept in reserve.


3. Turn 1 starts, I have nothing on table. Opponent moves a couple things, ends his player turn.
4. Bottom of turn 1, I deep strike 2 Drop Pods. Both Mishap, get delayed results.
5. Top of turn 2. I lose?

That would be correct.

 
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Denver

 insaniak wrote:
 NickTheButcher wrote:
1. My list includes 3 drop pods and a 10 man squad of TH/SS termies with a Libby in terminator armor. All declared in reserves (this can be done right? since they can all be taken in reserves no matter what right?)

It's not because they 'can' always be in reserve... The Pods must stay in reserve. As per the FAQ, squads embarked into the pods don't count towards the number of units you can reserve, so that leaves you with one unit (the terminators) ... Half of 1, rounded up, is 1... so the Terminators can also be kept in reserve.


3. Turn 1 starts, I have nothing on table. Opponent moves a couple things, ends his player turn.
4. Bottom of turn 1, I deep strike 2 Drop Pods. Both Mishap, get delayed results.
5. Top of turn 2. I lose?

That would be correct.


Perfect, the clarification on what can/has to be in reserve also clears up quite a bit.

And as I said, I'm fairly certain this will be an extremely rare case if it were to happen. I usually have a squad of scouts or something else that's on the table to begin with anyway.


::1750:: Deathwatch 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




gtjormungand wrote:
The terminators (or librarian) have to be deployed.


Not true. Terminators may ALWAYS start in DS reserve
   
Made in us
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker




South Chicago burbs

Wouldn't the terminators count towards the 50% that you MUST deploy, even if they MAY always DS?

insaniak wrote:
YMDC has plenty of room for discussion veering away from the RAW, particularly in cases like this where what is being put forward as the RAW is absurd.

11k
4K
4k
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 BarBoBot wrote:
Wouldn't the terminators count towards the 50% that you MUST deploy, even if they MAY always DS?

Yes.

You can always choose to keep Terminators in reserve, but you're still limited by the 50% rule.

 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





 insaniak wrote:

It's not because they 'can' always be in reserve... The Pods must stay in reserve. As per the FAQ, squads embarked into the pods don't count towards the number of units you can reserve, so that leaves you with one unit (the terminators) ... Half of 1, rounded up, is 1... so the Terminators can also be kept in reserve.


Except the librarian counts separately. 1 unit of terminators + 1 librarian = 2 units that could be deployed at the beginning of the game, so one of those groups must be deployed.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Yeah, I missed the Librarian. Assuming there is room, though, he could go into one of the Drop Pods instead.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: