Switch Theme:

Tyranids and weapon emplacements?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Douglas Bader






So, we all know how this works according to GW, but where exactly did the FAQ that Tyranids can't use emplaced weapons come from? Was there actually a rule that excluded them, and, if so, where can I find it? Or was this just another one of those "the fluff doesn't work that way" things? I've been trying to find it myself and had no luck with it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/17 05:32:26


There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Tyranid FAQ, first question on the FAQ part.
   
Made in us
Douglas Bader






I know where the FAQ entry is found, what I want to know is what rule GW based that FAQ entry on. Was there actually a rule in the Tyranid codex and/or 6th rulebook, or was this just something they invented because "the fluff says so"?

There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Same reason our IC's cant join units in spore pods. :(

aka... no reason
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




California

 Peregrine wrote:
I know where the FAQ entry is found, what I want to know is what rule GW based that FAQ entry on. Was there actually a rule in the Tyranid codex and/or 6th rulebook, or was this just something they invented because "the fluff says so"?

i guess because gw feel like it, i really dont see a reason why the shouldnt some tyranids should be able to...hopefully they will bring in genestealer cults again.
   
Made in gb
Helpful Sophotect





Hampshire

Or just look forward to future codices having a section with codex-specific terrain. I'm betting Tyranids will get "Spore Chimneys" that fulfil the anti-flier role automatically (read: Venom Cannon, BS2). Or maybe a "Fungal Spire" that causes all enemy fliers to take a dangerous terrain test each turn.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





The Infinite wrote:
(read: Venom Cannon, BS2).

I hope not. Blast markers can't hit fliers - even with Skyfire.
Also, a bs2 blast marker is nothing to rely on.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: