Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/21 16:36:06
Subject: Disruption pods
|
 |
Stabbin' Skarboy
|
Ok. Sice disruption pods now give shrouded I have to ask to clarify.
For the purposes of combining with shrouded, jink does not count as a cover save correct?
Or does simply moving gain me a 3+ save from 13" away.
|
The tide is coming
http://alt40k.blogspot.com/ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/21 16:45:50
Subject: Disruption pods
|
 |
Terminator with Assault Cannon
|
docbrown wrote:Ok. Sice disruption pods now give shrouded I have to ask to clarify.
For the purposes of combining with shrouded, jink does not count as a cover save correct?
Or does simply moving gain me a 3+ save from 13" away.
Jink does count as a cover save. So yes, moving grants you a 3+ cover save from 13" away.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/21 16:48:20
Subject: Disruption pods
|
 |
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot
|
Yes, they stack.
Put those hammerheads with dpods behind an ADL and get a 2++! They become some of the hardest to kill tanks in the game!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/21 20:17:41
Subject: Disruption pods
|
 |
Terminator with Assault Cannon
|
Marshall Ragnar wrote:Yes, they stack.
Put those hammerheads with dpods behind an ADL and get a 2++! They become some of the hardest to kill tanks in the game!
Note though that the Hammerhead's flying stand may make it difficult to gain cover from an Ægis Defense Line.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/21 22:41:33
Subject: Disruption pods
|
 |
Proud Triarch Praetorian
|
Landing gear. take it off the stand.
|
Experience is something you get just after you need it
The Narkos Dynasty - 15k
Iron Hands - 12k
The Shadewatch - 3k
Cadmus Outriders - 4k
Alpha Legion Raiders - 3k |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/21 22:44:44
Subject: Disruption pods
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Landing Gear does not give you permission to modify your model mid-game. Only an immobilised or Wrecked Skimmer has permission to remove the base.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/21 22:48:45
Subject: Disruption pods
|
 |
Proud Triarch Praetorian
|
No, but you may just not have it on the stand in the first place. Deploy it in cover, leave it there
|
Experience is something you get just after you need it
The Narkos Dynasty - 15k
Iron Hands - 12k
The Shadewatch - 3k
Cadmus Outriders - 4k
Alpha Legion Raiders - 3k |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/21 22:48:58
Subject: Disruption pods
|
 |
Legendary Master of the Chapter
|
The short flying base it comes with doesn’t even raise the model by 1/4 of an inch
Though the model is still gigantic would taking it off the stand make any difference? I don’t have a aegis to compare it with
|
Unit1126PLL wrote: Scott-S6 wrote:And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.
Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/21 22:51:31
Subject: Disruption pods
|
 |
Proud Triarch Praetorian
|
I dont imagine so, but It dosent need to be on the stand at all because of the Landing gear
|
Experience is something you get just after you need it
The Narkos Dynasty - 15k
Iron Hands - 12k
The Shadewatch - 3k
Cadmus Outriders - 4k
Alpha Legion Raiders - 3k |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/21 22:52:50
Subject: Disruption pods
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
IHateNids wrote:No, but you may just not have it on the stand in the first place. Deploy it in cover, leave it there
So you are proposing to play without the base a model is supplied with? Tau skimmers come with a base (unless bought second-hand without a base). The vehicle is required to be on the base while in play unless wrecked/immobilised. Automatically Appended Next Post: IHateNids wrote:I dont imagine so, but It dosent need to be on the stand at all because of the Landing gear
Besides, Landing Gear cannot be used in the first turn of the game.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/21 22:54:15
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/21 22:54:28
Subject: Disruption pods
|
 |
Proud Triarch Praetorian
|
evidence please?
|
Experience is something you get just after you need it
The Narkos Dynasty - 15k
Iron Hands - 12k
The Shadewatch - 3k
Cadmus Outriders - 4k
Alpha Legion Raiders - 3k |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/21 22:58:46
Subject: Disruption pods
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
For which part?
Skimmers and bases? Page 83 of the BRB.
Landing Gear not usable in the first turn? Tau codex, page 30.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/21 23:05:05
Subject: Disruption pods
|
 |
Proud Triarch Praetorian
|
At no point does pg 83 say you have to have it on a base.
I accept the tau point, but there is again nothing dictating you have to move.
|
Experience is something you get just after you need it
The Narkos Dynasty - 15k
Iron Hands - 12k
The Shadewatch - 3k
Cadmus Outriders - 4k
Alpha Legion Raiders - 3k |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/21 23:09:06
Subject: Disruption pods
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
IHateNids wrote:At no point does pg 83 say you have to have it on a base.
I accept the tau point, but there is again nothing dictating you have to move.
Page 83 specifically states you cannot remove the base for any reason other than Wrecked/Immobilised. Additionally the rules assume that models are on the base they are supplied with (page 3).
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/21 23:11:59
Subject: Re:Disruption pods
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
This is what its says for the landing gear on pg30 tau codex
Thought they utilse advanced anti-gravitic technology, tau vehicles are fitted with basic landing gear in case they should suffermalfuction.
In any turn that the vehicle dose not move, it may choose to no longer count as a skimmer until it moves again.
This benefit dose not apply on the first turn of the game.
This to me means you can take it off the base on any turn apart from turn 1, because it dosn't count as a skimmer anymore until you move again overwise it will still be a skimmer.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/21 23:13:01
Subject: Disruption pods
|
 |
Proud Triarch Praetorian
|
Thanks Puretide, thats what Im trying to say.
Happyjew, could you please point me to exactly which paragraph, cos im not seeing it
|
Experience is something you get just after you need it
The Narkos Dynasty - 15k
Iron Hands - 12k
The Shadewatch - 3k
Cadmus Outriders - 4k
Alpha Legion Raiders - 3k |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/21 23:14:37
Subject: Disruption pods
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Every model is aassumed by the rules to be mounted on the base provided, if it has one (page 3). Skimmers have to be on their skimmer base. Page 83 says skimmers have flying bases under their hull. There's no option given there to not use it. Page 83 also explictly says that if it's immobilized or wrecked, the base is removed, and goes on to say that it's "not otherwise permitted" to be removed.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/21 23:15:13
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/21 23:18:06
Subject: Disruption pods
|
 |
Proud Triarch Praetorian
|
Except Landing gear. Well, from turn 2 anyway...
|
Experience is something you get just after you need it
The Narkos Dynasty - 15k
Iron Hands - 12k
The Shadewatch - 3k
Cadmus Outriders - 4k
Alpha Legion Raiders - 3k |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/21 23:18:40
Subject: Disruption pods
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Page 3, bottom left MODELS AND BASE SIZES: Page 83, SKIMMERS AND DAMAGE RESULTS, second paragraph, first sentence and last sentence. Caps not for emphasis, but for continuity with the BRB. Edit: Oh, and the very first paragraph under SKIMMERS AND MEASURING on page 83. Automatically Appended Next Post:
Again, Landing Gear does not give you explicit permission to actually remove the base.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/09/21 23:20:26
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/21 23:21:51
Subject: Disruption pods
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Mannahnin wrote:Every model is aassumed by the rules to be mounted on the base provided, if it has one (page 3). Skimmers have to be on their skimmer base. Page 83 says skimmers have flying bases under their hull. There's no option given there to not use it. Page 83 also explictly says that if it's immobilized or wrecked, the base is removed, and goes on to say that it's "not otherwise permitted" to be removed.
I thought specific codex rules trump BRB?
Thought they utilse advanced anti-gravitic technology, tau vehicles are fitted with basic landing gear in case they should suffermalfuction.
In any turn that the vehicle dose not move, it may choose to no longer count as a skimmer until it moves again.
This benefit dose not apply on the first turn of the game.
So my codex wargear allows me to choose to not be a skimmer, just not on the first turn; seems pretty clear to me. If I'm not a skimmer then I don't need the skimmer base.
C'mon we're Tau players, we need all the help we can get. ;-)
|
Six mistakes mankind keeps making century after century: Believing that personal gain is made by crushing others; Worrying about things that cannot be changed or corrected; Insisting that a thing is impossible because we cannot accomplish it; Refusing to set aside trivial preferences; Neglecting development and refinement of the mind; Attempting to compel others to believe and live as we do |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/21 23:32:17
Subject: Disruption pods
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
In 4th edition, Landing Gear allowed Tau vehicles to be safe if they were in difficult terrain and not moving (as in that situation Immobilised became Wrecked).
In 5th edition Landing Gear did nothing.
In 6th edition Landing Gear has some use by providing protection against Skyfire (without Interceptor).
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/21 23:38:18
Subject: Disruption pods
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Crawfordsville Indiana
|
You can always just glue the gear to the base. It is "on" the base, as it does not state that it must be on the flying stand. Either way all you really get with the gear or the short bar for the flying stand is less than a quarter of an inch, the gear will typically be about an infantry base height from the ground, not much difference.
|
All the worlds a joke and the people merely punchlines
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/22 00:48:36
Subject: Disruption pods
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
agnosto wrote:So my codex wargear allows me to choose to not be a skimmer, just not on the first turn; seems pretty clear to me. If I'm not a skimmer then I don't need the skimmer base.
Not true. It's a model. Models are required to use the bases they're supplied with.
C'mon we're Tau players, we need all the help we can get. ;-)
Yeah, 5 points for a 4?+ cover save just for moving is so bad you need the 3+ for hiding behind an aegis line.
Once you resort to this it pretty much means you know your argument is bunk.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/22 01:48:23
Subject: Re:Disruption pods
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
2+ can be achieved probably easier and cheaper with a simple ruins.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/22 02:54:37
Subject: Disruption pods
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Please present the rule that says when it does not count as a skimmer, you have permission to remove the base that the model came with.
Not what you think a rule really means, or how it should maybe be interpreted; but an actual rule that says the above.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/22 03:18:10
Subject: Disruption pods
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
coredump wrote:Please present the rule that says when it does not count as a skimmer, you have permission to remove the base that the model came with.
Not what you think a rule really means, or how it should maybe be interpreted; but an actual rule that says the above.
Bear in mind that what I said above was tongue in cheek.
It's logic. Skimmers have flight stands. Non-skimmers don't have flight stands. Since it's not a skimmer it's not eligible to use a flight stand.
In fact, the "rule" that people are bandying about doesn't state that a model "must" use the stand that is provided; what it actually says is this:
The rules in this book assume that models are mounted on the base they are supplied with.
In fact it's quite arguable that since this is not presented as a rule in and of itself, it's simply presented for informational purposes in that bases relate to such things as measuring distances, range of weapons, line of sight and so on. In fact, later in the paragraph it even takes back what was said earlier by adding:
Sometimes, a player may have models in his collection on unusually modelled bases. Somemodels aren't supplied with a base at all. In these cases (which are, in all fairness, relatively few and far between), you should always feel free to mount themodel on a base of appropriate size if you wish, using models of a similar type as guidance.
Note that the bolded text above is my emphasis.
Where does that leave us? Oh yes. The age old discussion of specific versus general in which specific allowances in a codex override the rulebook. Though you could argue that it would still have to utilize the flight base, if the Tau player uses the landing gear and the vehicle is no longer a skimmer, it would make sense that you remove the flight stand to indicate this.
Either way, I don't particularly care, just playing devil's advocate in that I can actually see how this would work.
|
Six mistakes mankind keeps making century after century: Believing that personal gain is made by crushing others; Worrying about things that cannot be changed or corrected; Insisting that a thing is impossible because we cannot accomplish it; Refusing to set aside trivial preferences; Neglecting development and refinement of the mind; Attempting to compel others to believe and live as we do |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/22 04:17:42
Subject: Disruption pods
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
If a Skimmer is Immobilised or Wrecked, its base is removed, if possible.............(edited out other text.).........Note that it is not otherwise permitted to remove the flying base, as Skimmers cannot land in battle conditions.
... pg 83
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/09/22 04:19:07
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/22 04:58:11
Subject: Disruption pods
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Fragile wrote:If a Skimmer is Immobilised or Wrecked, its base is removed, if possible.............(edited out other text.).........Note that it is not otherwise permitted to remove the flying base, as Skimmers cannot land in battle conditions.
... pg 83
Yes, but if landing gear are used on turn 2+ the vehicle is no longer a skimmer until it moves again.
|
Six mistakes mankind keeps making century after century: Believing that personal gain is made by crushing others; Worrying about things that cannot be changed or corrected; Insisting that a thing is impossible because we cannot accomplish it; Refusing to set aside trivial preferences; Neglecting development and refinement of the mind; Attempting to compel others to believe and live as we do |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/22 06:58:53
Subject: Disruption pods
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You have yet to provide a rule that says you are to stop using the base.
There is no rule that says 'only skimmers can use X base"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/22 14:04:40
Subject: Disruption pods
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
agnosto wrote:In fact it's quite arguable that since this is not presented as a rule in and of itself, it's simply presented for informational purposes in that bases relate to such things as measuring distances, range of weapons, line of sight and so on. In fact, later in the paragraph it even takes back what was said earlier by adding:
Sometimes, a player may have models in his collection on unusually modelled bases. Somemodels aren't supplied with a base at all. In these cases (which are, in all fairness, relatively few and far between), you should always feel free to mount themodel on a base of appropriate size if you wish, using models of a similar type as guidance.
Note that the bolded text above is my emphasis.
In that case I will not mount any of my shooting units on bases, that way they can never be assaulted since the enemy cannot get in base to base contact with them.
See how silly this is?
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
|