Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/27 04:33:34
Subject: Model Grouping and charging
|
 |
Irked Blood Angel Scout with Combat Knife
|
My friend plays orks and he often spreads his boys out, so they are just within the squad group distance limit, to avoid blast templates etc.
He will then charge one of my units, with the first few boys within the charging distance and the rest out, saying that as long as the first one is whithin the distance it is within the rules.
I have had instances where the last boy of his squad has ended moving 18" to get into combat. I just think it seems a bit fishy
Is this whithin the rules?
any help is greatly apreciated
thanks
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/27 04:35:54
Subject: Re:Model Grouping and charging
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Models can only move the distance they roll for the charge plus their 3" pile-in move at their Inititive level.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/27 04:38:04
Subject: Re:Model Grouping and charging
|
 |
Irked Blood Angel Scout with Combat Knife
|
Sweet, thanks for the quick reply. So does that mean that they get to move 3" for each point of initiative?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/27 04:41:34
Subject: Model Grouping and charging
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
No. They move 3" for their Pile In at their Initiative step (aka when they fight). If you add in the end of combat Pile In of 3", It will take a guy who is 18" away 3 rounds to get into BTB contact with one of your models.
Remember anyone over 2" from a model in BTB cannot fight, so that guy 18" cannot swing.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/27 04:44:36
Subject: Re:Model Grouping and charging
|
 |
Irked Blood Angel Scout with Combat Knife
|
Ok that makes sense. It was crazy what he was doing. Can this guy that is 18" away shoot in the shooting phase?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/27 04:46:15
Subject: Model Grouping and charging
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
No, the unit is locked in combat and cannot shoot, regardless of whether of not that guy is actually in BTB or not.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/27 04:47:47
Subject: Re:Model Grouping and charging
|
 |
Irked Blood Angel Scout with Combat Knife
|
Ok cool. Thanks for the help
|
|
|
 |
 |
|