Switch Theme:

Rerolling and Jumping terrain  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Alright. I am a new player and these may seem like odd questions but here it goes.

Vespid stingwings are Jump units with Fleet. So does that mean if you use your reroll from the Jump unit you can then use your Fleet to reroll a die from that?

Finally

I cannot find any SPECIFIC entry about this. But I may just be blind. But if Jump infantry use their Jump packs in the assault and go "Through" Terrain by jumping over it are they subject to the rule in the main rule book on p 22 under Charging Through Terrain in the third paragraph which says that if going through difficult terrain all units attack at INIT 1? The only thing about this that I could find is a vague reference on p 47 under the Skyborne heading in the Jump Unit sections starting on the third line stating Jump units "...can move over all other models and all terrain freely."

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/29 04:56:12


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Re-roll entry on Page 5 answers your first question.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




You can only reroll a die roll once. You must take the second result.


The second point is debatable, without a clear answer. Many are leaning towards JI being able to strike without the INI penalty.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Thank you both.
   
Made in us
Slippery Scout Biker




Just thought I'd attempt to help add some validity to charging through difficult terrain with jump packs.

On pg. 47 Jump Units, Skyborne it states:

"When using its jump pack (whether moving, charging or falling back, as we'll discuss in a moment) a model can move over all other models all terrain freely. However, if the model begins or ends its move in difficult terrain it must take a Dangerous Terrain test."

So from my interpretation this would allow JI to 'jump' in their assault phase given that they did not use it in their movement phase.

I see two real uses for this: 1) bypassing bubble wrap (assuming you can ensure you have the room to 'fit') and 2) bypassing difficult terrain.

It does also state that if you land or take off in difficult terrain you need to roll a dangerous terrain test, which negates the purpose of the second use.

Hope this helps!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/29 08:35:22


***Warning New Player: I will try to help anyone that has a unanswered question if I think I know the answer. I mean only to help so if I'm wrong please correct me.*** 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: