Switch Theme:

LOS! 2+, then a LOS! 4+ then, oh! I get a 4+ invuln on a beast? (DE beast squads and ICs)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Boom! Leman Russ Commander





Brisbane, Australia

So, today, I played a game against a heckuva lot of beasts, twice. (twice!)

In one group he ran clawed fiends, which were easy enough to mush with Hammers once enfeebled. (Thank god for enfeeble.)

On the other, however, he ran a mix of Khymerae (?) and Razorwing flocks (lots of wounds, but they fell easy enough to flamer templates, especially redeemer flamers.)

Anyway, he had this cheesy 105 special HQ with a 2+ invuln (I think if he failed it once he couldn't take it again, but that didn't matter - he died to ID anyway.) in this squad with the Razorwings.

Okay, fine. they get Stealth, they get a guy with a 2+ Invuln.

But, then it turns out that my weapons are becoming less effective because he's basically wound allocating - he's feeding wounds down the line to Khymerae through Look out sir! rolls.

He'd take all the hits on his 2++ (except on a few occasions where I got round the side.) guy, then LOS! them down to his Beast masters, who'd LOS! them down to his Khymerae. In this way, the wounds would go on the guys with Invulns that were removeable, without ever affecting his razorwings.

So, I guess this is my question. Is it legal to Look out sir for a model that is look out siring? I mean, He had the BM Right up next to the guy and then the Khymerae were always close behind, so he wasn't cheating by allocating to models that weren't the closest, but is allowed?

 
   
Made in nl
[MOD]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Cozy cockpit of an Archer ARC-5S

No, you may only Look Out Sir! once. I think the rulebook takes specific care to clarify that.



Fatum Iustum Stultorum



Fiat justitia ruat caelum

 
   
Made in au
Boom! Leman Russ Commander





Brisbane, Australia

I'm afraid I'm not much of a 'Look out sir' user. I guess maybe I should take the time to actually read the rules in more detail.

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You look out sir before rolling saves. That was their first issue
   
Made in nl
[MOD]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Cozy cockpit of an Archer ARC-5S

You can find it explained on page 16 and page 26, page 26 in particular should clarify the matter.



Fatum Iustum Stultorum



Fiat justitia ruat caelum

 
   
Made in nl
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine





The Netherlands

Aye, so basically, if you inflicted a wound on the unit and the 2++ guy is the closest, he has the option to either take on the guy's 2++ save, or use a 2+ Look Out Sir! to try to reallocate it to the closest model to the 2++ guy.
If the Look Out Sir! is successful, he cannot reallocate it again with a new Look Out Sir!, and the model it was reallocated to has to make his own save.
If the Look Out Sir! roll was unsuccessful, or he opted not to use the Look Out Sir! rule, only then does he get to roll his 2++ save.
So no failing the 2++ save and then taking a Look Out Sir!.

   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Denver

 BrookM wrote:
No, you may only Look Out Sir! once. I think the rulebook takes specific care to clarify that.


So just to clarify (I don't have my rulebook at work) AND I have yet to actually use this, how does this work with multiple wounds.

Example:

I have an IC closest to the firing squad. Shooting yields 5 wounds on my unit. I decide to LOS and am successful. I pass wounds to the poor soul next to me, who makes an armor save and fails. There are 4 more wounds.

Who do these remaining wounds go to? If they go to the IC, am I able to LOS again?

Thanks in advance!

::1750:: Deathwatch 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




They go to the IC, as he is still the closest model. You choose to LOS! again, or not, and carry on from there until the IC is dead or the wound pool is empty
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 NickTheButcher wrote:
 BrookM wrote:
No, you may only Look Out Sir! once. I think the rulebook takes specific care to clarify that.


So just to clarify (I don't have my rulebook at work) AND I have yet to actually use this, how does this work with multiple wounds.

Example:

I have an IC closest to the firing squad. Shooting yields 5 wounds on my unit. I decide to LOS and am successful. I pass wounds to the poor soul next to me, who makes an armor save and fails. There are 4 more wounds.

Who do these remaining wounds go to? If they go to the IC, am I able to LOS again?

Thanks in advance!


Wounds are allocated and resolved one at a time. So you LOS the first one and the closest guy dies. Then you LOS the second one and the next closest guy (closest is already dead) saves or dies. You keep repeating until all the wounds are allocated or there are no legal LOS targets in the unit.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




 Redemption wrote:
So no failing the 2++ save and then taking a Look Out Sir!.

Actually, this is not true. Unless this was FAQ'd, you choose to LOS! a wound before or after it has been inflicted.

That is what makes it kind of broken. You can have Ghaz (or a similar model) try and save with a 2+, and then if they fail that they can LOS! it to another model.

What is unclear to me, is if the second model gets any saves other then FNP.

EDIT: Nevermind, this was FAQ'd, I knew that it was too good to be true!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/02 14:35:59


 
   
Made in us
Badass "Sister Sin"






Camas, WA

FenixZero wrote:
Actually, this is not true. Unless this was FAQ'd, you choose to LOS! a wound before or after it has been inflicted.

That is what makes it kind of broken. You can have Ghaz (or a similar model) try and save with a 2+, and then if they fail that they can LOS! it to another model.

What is unclear to me, is if the second model gets any saves other then FNP.

This entire statement was wrong before the FAQ and is still wrong now after it.

Before the FAQ it was:
Mixed Save Unit: roll LOS then take saves
Same Save Unit: Take saves then roll LOS

After the FAQ it is:
Same Save Unit: No such thing as LOS
Mixed Save Unit, Unit with any models with FNP or Unit containing at least one character: Roll LOS then take saves.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
FNP is after an unsaved wound has been allocated. So after you LOS it to someone and they fail their save.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/10/02 14:38:10


Looking for great deals on miniatures or have a large pile you are looking to sell off? Checkout Mindtaker Miniatures.
Live in the Pacific NW? Check out http://ordofanaticus.com
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

FenixZero wrote:
 Redemption wrote:
So no failing the 2++ save and then taking a Look Out Sir!.

Actually, this is not true. Unless this was FAQ'd, you choose to LOS! a wound before or after it has been inflicted.

That is what makes it kind of broken. You can have Ghaz (or a similar model) try and save with a 2+, and then if they fail that they can LOS! it to another model.

What is unclear to me, is if the second model gets any saves other then FNP.


It has always been true.
Prior to the FAQ, you did LOS! when wounds are allocated. If the unit had different saves, you allocate then roll saves (so LOS would be done before saves are rolled). If the unit had identical saves, you would roll saves before allocating, so LOS would be done after saves are already rolled.

With the new FAQ the order is (for each individual wound):
Allocate wound to nearest model.
If the model is a character, roll LOS!
If LOS! is passed, reallocate wound to nearest model.
Roll save as applicable.
Finish resolving the Wound
Repeat.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




FenixZero wrote:
 Redemption wrote:
So no failing the 2++ save and then taking a Look Out Sir!.

Actually, this is not true. Unless this was FAQ'd, you choose to LOS! a wound before or after it has been inflicted.

That is what makes it kind of broken. You can have Ghaz (or a similar model) try and save with a 2+, and then if they fail that they can LOS! it to another model.

What is unclear to me, is if the second model gets any saves other then FNP.

EDIT: Nevermind, this was FAQ'd, I knew that it was too good to be true!


Nope, you took the LOS! on allocation, which in a mixed save unit was BEFORE rolling saves. You still do this, as you assume that, with LOS!, the unit is always a mixed save unit.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Happyjew wrote:

With the new FAQ the order is (for each individual wound):
Allocate wound to nearest model.
If the model is a character, roll LOS!
If LOS! is passed, reallocate wound to nearest model.
Roll save as applicable.
Finish resolving the Wound
Repeat.

And that is the case for a unit with Mixed saves? Like say Ghaz with a unit of Cybork Nobs with a Painboy?
   
Made in us
Badass "Sister Sin"






Camas, WA

Yes.
Ghaz is closest?
Allocate to him.
LOS to Nearest Nob.
Nob attempts save.
If failed, Nob attempts FNP.
If failed, wound is applied to Nob.
Repeat.

Looking for great deals on miniatures or have a large pile you are looking to sell off? Checkout Mindtaker Miniatures.
Live in the Pacific NW? Check out http://ordofanaticus.com
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

Ya look out sir can only be taken once, all los are done before save rolls are made, its to the closest model till he's dead then next so on so forth.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





FenixZero wrote:
Happyjew wrote:

With the new FAQ the order is (for each individual wound):
Allocate wound to nearest model.
If the model is a character, roll LOS!
If LOS! is passed, reallocate wound to nearest model.
Roll save as applicable.
Finish resolving the Wound
Repeat.

And that is the case for a unit with Mixed saves? Like say Ghaz with a unit of Cybork Nobs with a Painboy?

Any unit with a character is by definition a unit with mixed saves, according to the BRB FAQ/Errata.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: