Switch Theme:

Multiple characters with Warlord Trait  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fi
Sniping Gŭiláng






The new Chaos codex has multiple special characters with Warlord traits.

Do you get benefit from all your warlord traits you have, or do you only get to use the one with your designated Warlord?

For example: I have Kharn the betrayer & Ahriman as HQ-choices. Do I benefit from both "Hatred Incarnate" & "Master of Deception"?
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine




Nocturne

Only a single character in your army may be nominated as the warlord. Your choice of warlord dictates which warlord traits you benefit from.

Sun Tzu "All warfare is based on deception"

Into the Fires of Battle! Unto The Anvil of War!

2500 pts
1500 pts
 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Bit hard to tell as the Codex hasn't been released yet.
I would say that only the Warlord would have a Warlord trait. And there's only one Warlord.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






WARLORD TRAITS
To determine which trait your Warlord has, you need choose
which table to roll on at the start of the game. Roll on the
table before you deploy your army (see page 121). Sometimes,
a codex will present an alternative Warlord Traits table that you
can choose to roll on instead.

And yes, only one warlord.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/10/05 22:00:45


 
   
Made in fi
Sniping Gŭiláng





 Kevin949 wrote:
WARLORD TRAITS
To determine which trait your Warlord has, you need choose
which table to roll on at the start of the game. Roll on the
table before you deploy your army (see page 121). Sometimes,
a codex will present an alternative Warlord Traits table that you
can choose to roll on instead.

And yes, only one warlord.


That rule gives you one Warlord trait to your warlord. It doesn't prevent you from having more than 1, or remove/disable Warlord traits from non-warlords, who have one.

FUN RAW SHENANIGANS: If Kharn is your Warlord, he gets to roll a warlord table for 2nd warlord trait. No rule currently disallows you from rolling one, if you have a fixed warlord trait in your unit entry.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/10/05 23:15:36


 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






 adhuin wrote:
 Kevin949 wrote:
WARLORD TRAITS
To determine which trait your Warlord has, you need choose
which table to roll on at the start of the game. Roll on the
table before you deploy your army (see page 121). Sometimes,
a codex will present an alternative Warlord Traits table that you
can choose to roll on instead.

And yes, only one warlord.


That rule gives you one Warlord trait to your warlord. It doesn't prevent you from having more than 1, or remove/disable Warlord traits from non-warlords, who have one.


FUN RAW SHENANIGANS: If Kharn is your Warlord, he gets to roll a warlord table for 2nd warlord trait. No rule currently disallows you from rolling one, if you have a fixed warlord trait in your unit entry.


Sorry, you lost me on that. I posted that up to show that you can either take the one in the codex (so long as it is actually listed as a warlord trait) or you can choose to roll on the chart. You do not get both, no warlord can have more than 1 warlord trait.

And no, you can't use warlords traits available to an HQ if he's not your warlord. Which, again, you can only ever have 1 warlord on the table (unless you're playing by different rules).

*edit*
To add to your edit - Ya, except for that crazy little word in there that says "instead".

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/05 23:18:11


 
   
Made in fi
Sniping Gŭiláng





 Kevin949 wrote:

Sorry, you lost me on that. I posted that up to show that you can either take the one in the codex (so long as it is actually listed as a warlord trait) or you can choose to roll on the chart. You do not get both, no warlord can have more than 1 warlord trait.

And no, you can't use warlords traits available to an HQ if he's not your warlord. Which, again, you can only ever have 1 warlord on the table (unless you're playing by different rules).

*edit*
To add to your edit - Ya, except for that crazy little word in there that says "instead".

I'll try to explain my RAW logic:

1. Warlord gains 1 (one) warlord trait by rolling from any table available. *That's the quoted rule.
2. Nothing removes or restricts this rolling. (not even having a warlord trait from other sources, like unit entry)
3. Nothing restricts using Warlord traits. Only 'limitations' is that, only warlord can *roll* one for free.
4. Chaos codex has 5 HQ choices, that have "Warlord trait: Name" line in them.

Basically BRB lacks following on the Warlord entry: "Some characters may have a Warlord Trait in their unit entry. They do not roll from a table and instead use that one. If the character isn't a warlord, disregard its warlord trait."

Basically I agree on RAI, but I'm interested on how it actually is on RAW.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





You only have one warlord, so warlord traits on non-warlord charectors are ignored.

Unnessesarily extravegant word of the week award goes to jcress410 for this:

jcress wrote:Seem super off topic to complain about epistemology on a thread about tactics.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




It appears to me that the Named Chaos guys have fixed Warlord Traits. You do not appear to roll for them. However, the book does not spell that out nor does it even have a reference section for the mobs.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Fragile wrote:
It appears to me that the Named Chaos guys have fixed Warlord Traits. You do not appear to roll for them. However, the book does not spell that out nor does it even have a reference section for the mobs.


Perhaps there is something in the codex that references these warlord traits and how (or if) they interact with the ones in the BRB. Since it's not officially out, it's not readily available to everyone so there's little point continuing this line of discussion at the moment.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: