Switch Theme:

Catacomb Command Barge Questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Ultramarine Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





North Carolina

1. Catacomb command barge assaults a unit, the unit does not flea, turn ends. During the following turn a unit wishes to initiate an assault against the barge (that has not moved) can it fire overwatch (the guy inside)? My play group wasn't sure because technically it is a vehicle and it not locked in combat.

2. If the Catacomb Command Barge is destroyed in an assault does the unit consolidate if there is an occupant or do they pile into the lord that was riding inside?

   
Made in ca
Dakka Veteran





1. No, it's still locked in combat. -- I'd have to check my rulebook, but the squad it was locked in has to move away from the barge to not be locked in combat. If it's not locked in combat, you can fire overwatch (only the guy inside can, which means he'd need a Gaze of Flame, which means you're a bad player. *just teasing* )

2. Yes, assuming the Lord lives. Now, if the lord dies, and makes his ever living roll, he does not pile in, he just gets back up within 3" of where he died and stands there.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




1. The unit is not locked in combat, because it is a vehicle. However, if they are still in BTB with the vehicle during the next assault phase they can swing normally.

2. There is no consolidation after destroying a vehicle. The rider is would have to disembark as normal.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Fragile wrote:
1. The unit is not locked in combat, because it is a vehicle. However, if they are still in BTB with the vehicle during the next assault phase they can swing normally.

2. There is no consolidation after destroying a vehicle. The rider is would have to disembark as normal.


Just to reaffirm, what fragile said is correct.
   
Made in us
Furious Raptor





1. The unit is not locked in combat, because it is a vehicle. However, if they are still in BTB with the vehicle during the next assault phase they can swing normally.

2. There is no consolidation after destroying a vehicle. The rider is would have to disembark as normal.
-Fragile


I agree with Fragile on both points. As to point 1, I'd add that the unit does not count as charging the vehicle if they remained in base combat, as it is treated like an ongoing combat (see BGB p. 76). So the unit doesn't get bonus attacks for charging, and the barge's passenger would not get to fire overwatch.

only the guy inside can, which means he'd need a Gaze of Flame, which means you're a bad player. *just teasing*
-loreweaver


Or the overlord could be firing overwatch with his standard-issue Staff of Light.


Willydstyle wrote:Giantkiller, while those were very concise and logical rebuttals to the tenets upon which he based his argument... he made a post which was essentially a gentlemanly "bow out" from the debate, which should be respected.

GiantKiller: beating dead horses since 2006. 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






 GiantKiller wrote:
1. The unit is not locked in combat, because it is a vehicle. However, if they are still in BTB with the vehicle during the next assault phase they can swing normally.

2. There is no consolidation after destroying a vehicle. The rider is would have to disembark as normal.
-Fragile


I agree with Fragile on both points. As to point 1, I'd add that the unit does not count as charging the vehicle if they remained in base combat, as it is treated like an ongoing combat (see BGB p. 76). So the unit doesn't get bonus attacks for charging, and the barge's passenger would not get to fire overwatch.

only the guy inside can, which means he'd need a Gaze of Flame, which means you're a bad player. *just teasing*
-loreweaver


Or the overlord could be firing overwatch with his standard-issue Staff of Light.


Gaze of flame is also not a weapon...
   
Made in us
Ultramarine Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





North Carolina

 GiantKiller wrote:
1. The unit is not locked in combat, because it is a vehicle. However, if they are still in BTB with the vehicle during the next assault phase they can swing normally.

2. There is no consolidation after destroying a vehicle. The rider is would have to disembark as normal.
-Fragile


I agree with Fragile on both points. As to point 1, I'd add that the unit does not count as charging the vehicle if they remained in base combat, as it is treated like an ongoing combat (see BGB p. 76). So the unit doesn't get bonus attacks for charging, and the barge's passenger would not get to fire overwatch.

only the guy inside can, which means he'd need a Gaze of Flame, which means you're a bad player. *just teasing*
-loreweaver


Or the overlord could be firing overwatch with his standard-issue Staff of Light.


He is using the staff of light, and the reason this came up is because of this:

Barge assaults unit 1, during the opponents turn units 2 now assaults the barge thus having 2 units in melee with the barge, one of which that was not in base to base. Does the lord get overwatch since he is 'not locked in combat' (even though unit 1 is still based) or does he not because unit 1 is still base to base? It seemed like a logical question since the vehicle cannot be locked in combat. Furthermore, if you cannot fire overwatch because you are 'locked in combat' with the barge, would that not also mean if you took out the barge you were 'still in combat with the lord whom you've been considered based to the whole time' ?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/10/06 18:15:14


   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Page 76 is very clear about the vehicle not being "Locked-in" as is 82 with Chariots. It seems like the Lord embarked on the CCB should be able to Overwatch, but I'd argue he could only do so against "unit 2" and not "unit 1" in Jstncloud's scenario; because:

Unit's that still have models in base contact with a vehicle during it's assault phase may atack it again, just as in a normal ongoing combat...


So while they are NOT locked in combat, the combat is ongoing because no one moved/no assault move was made.
   
Made in us
Ultramarine Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





North Carolina

NeoParn wrote:
Page 76 is very clear about the vehicle not being "Locked-in" as is 82 with Chariots. It seems like the Lord embarked on the CCB should be able to Overwatch, but I'd argue he could only do so against "unit 2" and not "unit 1" in Jstncloud's scenario; because:

Unit's that still have models in base contact with a vehicle during it's assault phase may atack it again, just as in a normal ongoing combat...


So while they are NOT locked in combat, the combat is ongoing because no one moved/no assault move was made.


That makes sense, and unless unit 1 backed up and re-assaulted then they wouldn't qualify for overwatch or the +1 attacks anyways. However we were unsure what to do with the second unit assaulting in (as described in my example) so we went with no overwatch until we found out otherwise.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: