Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/09 03:28:02
Subject: GK Dreadknights CCW question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Hello dakka, my question is about the GK Dreadknight: Why does a Dk equipped with a greatsword has 4 S10 attacks that re-roll to Hit, to Wound, and Armor Pen rolls?
As per the BRB page 51:
If a model has more than one Melee weapon, he must choose which one to attack with when he comes to strike blows-he cannot mix and match the abilities of several different melee weapons.
However, the v1.1 GK FAQ states on page 5:
Q: Does a Nemesis Dreadknight armed with a Nemesis greatsword have
4 Attacks at Strength 10 that, because of the Nemesis greatsword, can
re-roll To Hit, To Wound and Armour Penetration rolls?(p54)
A: Yes.
As the Dreadknight only has 6 Strength as per his profile and only doubles his strength to the cap of 10 via the Doomfist. I know he has 2 CCWs so he gets the +1 making him 4 attacks, 5 on the charge, but how does he receive the bonuses of BOTH his CCW when RAW states he can only strike with one?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/09 03:30:55
Subject: GK Dreadknights CCW question
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
The rules for the Greatsword say a model equipped with one can re-roll etc.
So you do not have to attack with the Greatsword to gain its benefits.
Which really makes Hammerhand useless on a Dreadknight.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/09 03:52:43
Subject: GK Dreadknights CCW question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
DeathReaper wrote:The rules for the Greatsword say a model equipped with one can re-roll etc.
So you do not have to attack with the Greatsword to gain its benefits.
Which really makes Hammerhand useless on a Dreadknight.
according to the codex: GK page 94, you are replacing one of two pre-stock doomfists with the greatsword. Meaning you DO choose to attack with the greatsword in order to gain its ability. What the FAQ has created according to the rules in another circumstance, is if a space marine armed with a plasma pistol (can be counted as a CCW) and a power weapon, and the controlling player, for w/e reason chooses to use the pistol in CC, then it becomes a power pistol following the rules of power weapons without the pistol itself being a power weapon. This following the logic of the Dreadknight....honestly if the greatsword gets S10 hits regardless, then why even bother allowing them to buy a hammer, when the doomfist and the Hammer essentially do the same thing.
And a little off topic, I agree, Hammerhand is a useless addition to a DK, they should have Hallocaust instead but eh...why bother when you can get a psycannon.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/09 03:57:29
Subject: GK Dreadknights CCW question
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
No, you don't have to choose to attack with the great sword - yes it replaces a Doomfist but the swords benefit works if the model is armed with it, not attacking with it.
Your example doesn't fit because a power weapon doesn't work unless you attack with it.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/09 04:01:11
Subject: Re:GK Dreadknights CCW question
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
And neither weapon is a specialist weapon so you get +1A for each other.
And the Sword's benifit applies no matter if you actually use it to make your attacks or not.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/09 04:04:25
Subject: GK Dreadknights CCW question
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
And the hammer grants Concussive. Up to you if it's worth the points or not.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/09 04:07:40
Subject: Re:GK Dreadknights CCW question
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Which basically boils down to, "The Hammer is useless, buy the Sword instead"
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/09 04:16:58
Subject: Re:GK Dreadknights CCW question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
No, you don't have to choose to attack with the great sword
Before you strike blows, you have to make clear what CCW you are using if there are multiples. Here's a better example that was FAQd in the Eldar Codex:
Q: If a Striking Scorpion Exarch with a scorpion’s claw and scorpion
chainsword chooses to attack with the scorpion’s claw, does he still
benefit from the scorpion chainsword’s +1 Strength bonus? (p33)
A: No.
A literal copy and past situation of the Dreadknight being ruled differently.
Dreadknight armed with 1 N Doomfist and 1 N Greatsword (2 CCW) > gets the bonus effect from both weapons
Striking Scorpion Exarch with 1 Scorpion's Claw and 1 Scorpion Chainsword > has to CHOOSE which bonus he gets
the only difference rule wise between the two is that the GK DK is a MC, and thats irelevant. I simply cannot simplify this any more. It's a simple breaking of the RAW that just s happens to be legal. If it was legal in the first place, why FAQ it? I can understand if they ammended something to be different, but to my knowledge nothing has changed to allow only MCs both effects of their melee CCW.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/09 04:20:48
Subject: Re:GK Dreadknights CCW question
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
overlordweasel wrote:No, you don't have to choose to attack with the great sword
Before you strike blows, you have to make clear what CCW you are using if there are multiples. Here's a better example that was FAQd in the Eldar Codex:
Q: If a Striking Scorpion Exarch with a scorpion’s claw and scorpion
chainsword chooses to attack with the scorpion’s claw, does he still
benefit from the scorpion chainsword’s +1 Strength bonus? (p33)
A: No.
A literal copy and past situation of the Dreadknight being ruled differently.
Dreadknight armed with 1 N Doomfist and 1 N Greatsword (2 CCW) > gets the bonus effect from both weapons
Striking Scorpion Exarch with 1 Scorpion's Claw and 1 Scorpion Chainsword > has to CHOOSE which bonus he gets
the only difference rule wise between the two is that the GK DK is a MC, and thats irelevant. I simply cannot simplify this any more. It's a simple breaking of the RAW that just s happens to be legal. If it was legal in the first place, why FAQ it? I can understand if they ammended something to be different, but to my knowledge nothing has changed to allow only MCs both effects of their melee CCW.
Read the rules of the great sword. Note the difference in wording. Become enlightened.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/09 04:30:04
Subject: GK Dreadknights CCW question
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
It works similar to how nid weapons work. The effect is on all attacks made by the model, not attacks made by the weapon.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/09 04:34:34
Subject: Re:GK Dreadknights CCW question
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Exactly, except it also has the added bonus of being a NFW at the same time. Not that it comes into play ever.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/09 08:46:10
Subject: GK Dreadknights CCW question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I regularly use it to squash Trygons and other T6 beasties.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/09 09:13:48
Subject: GK Dreadknights CCW question
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I think Grey Templar meant that Greatsword being NFW doesn't matter, as all other CC weapons DK can have are also NFW.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/09 10:02:11
Subject: GK Dreadknights CCW question
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Ah, fair enough
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/09 12:44:18
Subject: GK Dreadknights CCW question
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
As of last posting, iv'e been delving into all the codexes i had, and FAQs at that...and its all about the wording. To be honest I wasn't debating as to DO the DKs get both bonuses, but WHY do they get it, and its apparently the wording of the effect on the GS as nid weapons, as already stated, works the same. although looking at it in that perspective, it seems to me kinda counter-intuative to have a rule like that in place, but FAQ the opposite ruling on every army/model that the rule would actually have a purpose on. A rule in place that doesnt effect anything that just gets FAQd off any model that it come into question should just be FAQd and removed all together. it'd be less complicated. Tho watd I expect from GW's rule making
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/09 17:40:58
Subject: GK Dreadknights CCW question
|
 |
Furious Raptor
Fort Worth, TX
|
Why do they get it? GW loves them some GK. Or something
|
I out with in both 40k and WHFB.
Co-host of the HittingOn3s Podcast
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/09 17:43:29
Subject: GK Dreadknights CCW question
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
kcwm wrote:Why do they get it? GW loves them some GK. Or something 
They get it because of the way the rules for the Greatsword are worded.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/09 18:32:04
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
|