Switch Theme:

Look Out Sir and Scrolls of Magnus  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




The rule on the Scrolls of Magnus (SoM from now on) artefact in the new chaos codex says that every time the bearer uses the scrolls he takes a Str 3 AP 1 hit with the ignores cover special rule. Can this hit be resolved against a different model in the character's squad following a successful LoS roll?

My understanding is dangerous terrain tests and Gets Hot wounds can't utilize LoS is due to the fact that these rules state the model takes a wound, not that it takes a hit. Therefore there is no wound allocation going on, which is necessary to attempt a LoS roll, and therefore these wounds must be resolved against the model that caused them. For the SoM though, the user takes a hit, which presumably must be allocated to him as normal before being resolved, similar to a precision shot.

To recap, based on RAW, I should be able to LoS hits taken from the SoM. Thoughts?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/12 20:57:04


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, because the wound was never allocated, meaning it cannot be reallocated.
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




Maybe I have this wrong, but don't you roll to wound, and then allocate?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




When rolling to hit a unit, yes. You have instead hit a model, not the unit, and therefore have no rule allowing you to allocate
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




It seems to me from rereading pages 13-15 in the rulebook, that you must first hit a unit, and then roll to wound. If you wound, the wound is then allocated to the closest model, and saves are taken against the allocated wounds.

In our case, you would roll to wound, and then allocate successful wounds to the sorcerer who used the scrolls.

Of course, we aren't shooting, but I don't see anything that clearly states that the hit is either allocated, or not allocated in our example. But if we assume the hit is not allocated, when does the sorcerer take a wound? Suffering a wound is the result of the combined process of rolling to wound, and allocating the successful rolls. Gets hot and similar rules get around allocation by specifically stating that the model suffers a wound. If this is not explicitly sated, how else could a model suffer a wound but through the process on page 15?

You raised a good point but I don't think the issue is as clear as you are making it sound. I suspect a FAQ would support not being able to LoS the hit, but RAW it seems to me that you still can.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/12 21:52:04


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: