Switch Theme:

Kharn and challenges  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say






If Kharn is in a challenge and he rolls a 1 to hit, does he still hit friendly models or is it ignored?

“Because we couldn’t be trusted. The Emperor needed a weapon that would never obey its own desires before those of the Imperium. He needed a weapon that would never bite the hand that feeds. The World Eaters were not that weapon. We’ve all drawn blades purely for the sake of shedding blood, and we’ve all felt the exultation of winning a war that never even needed to happen. We are not the tame, reliable pets that the Emperor wanted. The Wolves obey, when we would not. The Wolves can be trusted, when we never could. They have a discipline we lack, because their passions are not aflame with the Butcher’s Nails buzzing in the back of their skulls.
The Wolves will always come to heel when called. In that regard, it is a mystery why they name themselves wolves. They are tame, collared by the Emperor, obeying his every whim. But a wolf doesn’t behave that way. Only a dog does.
That is why we are the Eaters of Worlds, and the War Hounds no longer."
– Eighth Captain, Khârn 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Seeing as how a Challenge is considered to be its own combat, and there would be no friendly models within said combat...it appears that he would not hit anybody.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Terminator with Assault Cannon






OKC, Oklahoma

Or it's an epic fail and he hits himself......?

Of all the races of the universe the Squats have the longest memories and the shortest tempers. They are uncouth, unpredictably violent, and frequently drunk. Overall, I'm glad they're on our side!

Office of Naval Intelligence Research discovers 3 out of 4 sailors make up 75% of U.S. Navy.
"Madness is like gravity... All you need is a little push."

:Nilla Marines: 2500
:Marine "Scouts": 2500 (Systemically Quarantined, Unsupported, Abhuman, Truncated Soldiers)

"On one side of me stand my Homeworld, Stronghold and Brotherhood; On the other, my ancestors. I cannot behave otherwise than honorably."
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




He cannot hit himself
   
Made in gb
Jealous that Horus is Warmaster







 helgrenze wrote:
Or it's an epic fail and he hits himself......?


Me likes the sound of that!...

Revilers 6,000pts
Dark Eldar 4,000pts
Cadian 229 regiment 3,000pts 
   
Made in ca
Veteran Inquisitorial Tyranid Xenokiller






He does still hit a member of his unit, a challenge isn't an entirely separate combat, it's a special part of whatever assault is going on around them. There is also no requirement for Kharn to be in b2b with the friendly models he hits, they just have to be the unit he is with and within 6" of him.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





If it wasn't a separate combat, wounds would overflow.
Wounds don't overflow.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in se
Been Around the Block




But if it IS a separate combat, you can never declare a Glorious Intervention because it requires the second character to be in the same combat as the character who is already in a challenge.
   
Made in us
Terminator with Assault Cannon






OKC, Oklahoma

nosferatu1001 wrote:
He cannot hit himself


Unless he is attacked by MSS....

Of all the races of the universe the Squats have the longest memories and the shortest tempers. They are uncouth, unpredictably violent, and frequently drunk. Overall, I'm glad they're on our side!

Office of Naval Intelligence Research discovers 3 out of 4 sailors make up 75% of U.S. Navy.
"Madness is like gravity... All you need is a little push."

:Nilla Marines: 2500
:Marine "Scouts": 2500 (Systemically Quarantined, Unsupported, Abhuman, Truncated Soldiers)

"On one side of me stand my Homeworld, Stronghold and Brotherhood; On the other, my ancestors. I cannot behave otherwise than honorably."
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 helgrenze wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
He cannot hit himself


Unless he is attacked by MSS....


Out of context and doesn't belong in this thread. No need to go find loopholes where Nos is "wrong" just because he's normally right.

IIRC Kharns roll of a 1 now does not hit models in the same unit, however friendly models in the same combat within 6" of him.

A roll of a 1 in a challenge would still kill some friendlies imo

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Not sure it was meant maliciously. I should have known not to make absolute statements about 40k rules, there is always an exception ()

I personally woul dhave Kharne hit someone friendly even in a challenge, as well - he's the betrayer. He's not exactly honourable.
   
Made in us
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'




Kansas City, Missouri

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Not sure it was meant maliciously. I should have known not to make absolute statements about 40k rules, there is always an exception ()

I personally woul dhave Kharne hit someone friendly even in a challenge, as well - he's the betrayer. He's not exactly honourable.


I just see it as someone potentially trying to muscle in on his action or him taking out his anger in the middle of the duel.

Kharn charges a space marine captain with a storm shield As he rushes in to lunge suddenly a brilliant pivot takes place by his enemy as Kharn is shield slapped back into his own crowd with a thunderous boom. The grizzled growl of Kharn turns into a howling rage as he sits up only to see one of his own foolish clods in the way of him and the semi-circle around their battle (or maybe the berzerker was fighting for his life and managed to repulse Kharn in the midst of combat) Either way he plunges Gorechild into the back of his enemy rending him to bits and drenching himself in blood before lunging low and resuming the attack with just as much frenzy as before.

" I don't lead da Waagh I build it! " - Big-Mek Wurrzog

List of Da Propahly Zogged!!!
 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Burtucky, Michigan

jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
 helgrenze wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
He cannot hit himself


Unless he is attacked by MSS....


Out of context and doesn't belong in this thread. No need to go find loopholes where Nos is "wrong" just because he's normally right.

IIRC Kharns roll of a 1 now does not hit models in the same unit, however friendly models in the same combat within 6" of him.

A roll of a 1 in a challenge would still kill some friendlies imo



If this is what his rules say, then Id also agree with the above.
   
Made in us
Terminator with Assault Cannon






OKC, Oklahoma

Might need a FAQ about this one, but, yeah... I could see him clouting one of his own with a bad swing, even in a Challenge.

Of all the races of the universe the Squats have the longest memories and the shortest tempers. They are uncouth, unpredictably violent, and frequently drunk. Overall, I'm glad they're on our side!

Office of Naval Intelligence Research discovers 3 out of 4 sailors make up 75% of U.S. Navy.
"Madness is like gravity... All you need is a little push."

:Nilla Marines: 2500
:Marine "Scouts": 2500 (Systemically Quarantined, Unsupported, Abhuman, Truncated Soldiers)

"On one side of me stand my Homeworld, Stronghold and Brotherhood; On the other, my ancestors. I cannot behave otherwise than honorably."
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




 KingCracker wrote:
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
 helgrenze wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
He cannot hit himself


Unless he is attacked by MSS....


Out of context and doesn't belong in this thread. No need to go find loopholes where Nos is "wrong" just because he's normally right.

IIRC Kharns roll of a 1 now does not hit models in the same unit, however friendly models in the same combat within 6" of him.

A roll of a 1 in a challenge would still kill some friendlies imo



If this is what his rules say, then Id also agree with the above.


The rules state any unmodified rolls of 1 are not discarded blase blah they automatically hit a friendly model (but not Kharn) locked in the same combat.


So no, he cannot hurt anyone with a roll of 1 in a challenge.
   
Made in us
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'




Kansas City, Missouri

kenc wrote:
 KingCracker wrote:
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
 helgrenze wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
He cannot hit himself


Unless he is attacked by MSS....


Out of context and doesn't belong in this thread. No need to go find loopholes where Nos is "wrong" just because he's normally right.

IIRC Kharns roll of a 1 now does not hit models in the same unit, however friendly models in the same combat within 6" of him.

A roll of a 1 in a challenge would still kill some friendlies imo



If this is what his rules say, then Id also agree with the above.


The rules state any unmodified rolls of 1 are not discarded blase blah they automatically hit a friendly model (but not Kharn) locked in the same combat.


So no, he cannot hurt anyone with a roll of 1 in a challenge.


I'll look over the exact wording today.

" I don't lead da Waagh I build it! " - Big-Mek Wurrzog

List of Da Propahly Zogged!!!
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




 Big Mek Wurrzog wrote:
kenc wrote:
 KingCracker wrote:
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
 helgrenze wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
He cannot hit himself


Unless he is attacked by MSS....


Out of context and doesn't belong in this thread. No need to go find loopholes where Nos is "wrong" just because he's normally right.

IIRC Kharns roll of a 1 now does not hit models in the same unit, however friendly models in the same combat within 6" of him.

A roll of a 1 in a challenge would still kill some friendlies imo



If this is what his rules say, then Id also agree with the above.


The rules state any unmodified rolls of 1 are not discarded blase blah they automatically hit a friendly model (but not Kharn) locked in the same combat.


So no, he cannot hurt anyone with a roll of 1 in a challenge.


I'll look over the exact wording today.


That is the exact wording... that's why I said the rules state
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

kenc wrote:
 Big Mek Wurrzog wrote:
kenc wrote:
 KingCracker wrote:
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
 helgrenze wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
He cannot hit himself


Unless he is attacked by MSS....


Out of context and doesn't belong in this thread. No need to go find loopholes where Nos is "wrong" just because he's normally right.

IIRC Kharns roll of a 1 now does not hit models in the same unit, however friendly models in the same combat within 6" of him.

A roll of a 1 in a challenge would still kill some friendlies imo



If this is what his rules say, then Id also agree with the above.


The rules state any unmodified rolls of 1 are not discarded blase blah they automatically hit a friendly model (but not Kharn) locked in the same combat.


So no, he cannot hurt anyone with a roll of 1 in a challenge.


I'll look over the exact wording today.


That is the exact wording... that's why I said the rules state


it's funny because other models are still locked in the same combat eh?

   
Made in ca
Thrall Wizard of Tzeentch




I think you're missing the most important information. The rulebook FAQ states:
"Q: Can Wounds caused by a character in a challenge only be
allocated to the opposing character in the challenge? (p64)
A: Yes."

So, even if the 1s are not ignored and he does hit friendly models, he cannot allocate any wounds other than to the opposing character.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
kenc wrote:
 Big Mek Wurrzog wrote:
kenc wrote:
 KingCracker wrote:
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
 helgrenze wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
He cannot hit himself


Unless he is attacked by MSS....


Out of context and doesn't belong in this thread. No need to go find loopholes where Nos is "wrong" just because he's normally right.

IIRC Kharns roll of a 1 now does not hit models in the same unit, however friendly models in the same combat within 6" of him.

A roll of a 1 in a challenge would still kill some friendlies imo



If this is what his rules say, then Id also agree with the above.


The rules state any unmodified rolls of 1 are not discarded blase blah they automatically hit a friendly model (but not Kharn) locked in the same combat.


So no, he cannot hurt anyone with a roll of 1 in a challenge.


I'll look over the exact wording today.


That is the exact wording... that's why I said the rules state


it's funny because other models are still locked in the same combat eh?


No, a CHALLENGE is treated as a SEPARATE COMBAT.
Pg64 BRB Outside Forces.

Why do people fail to understand this?
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

kenc wrote:
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
kenc wrote:
 Big Mek Wurrzog wrote:
kenc wrote:
 KingCracker wrote:
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
 helgrenze wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
He cannot hit himself


Unless he is attacked by MSS....


Out of context and doesn't belong in this thread. No need to go find loopholes where Nos is "wrong" just because he's normally right.

IIRC Kharns roll of a 1 now does not hit models in the same unit, however friendly models in the same combat within 6" of him.

A roll of a 1 in a challenge would still kill some friendlies imo



If this is what his rules say, then Id also agree with the above.


The rules state any unmodified rolls of 1 are not discarded blase blah they automatically hit a friendly model (but not Kharn) locked in the same combat.


So no, he cannot hurt anyone with a roll of 1 in a challenge.


I'll look over the exact wording today.


That is the exact wording... that's why I said the rules state


it's funny because other models are still locked in the same combat eh?


No, a CHALLENGE is treated as a SEPARATE COMBAT.
Pg64 BRB Outside Forces.

Why do people fail to understand this?


Ok I read it, in no way does it say it's a seperate combat. It just places restrictions about placing wounds onto the challenger and challengee.
So Kharne still kills friendlies thanks

   
Made in us
Missionary On A Mission




Richmond Va

kaisshau wrote:
I think you're missing the most important information. The rulebook FAQ states:
"Q: Can Wounds caused by a character in a challenge only be
allocated to the opposing character in the challenge? (p64)
A: Yes."

So, even if the 1s are not ignored and he does hit friendly models, he cannot allocate any wounds other than to the opposing character.


Actually I think this one kills the argument for him killing friendlies while in a challenge. Its pretty black and white here. The question I want answered now is, since the 1's still hit but must hit the enemy in the challenge, does that mean that he always hits the enemy in the challenge? A bit of ing there but think about it.

My Overprotective Father wrote:Tyrants shooting emplaced weapons? A Hive Tyrant may be smarter than your average bug, but that still isint saying much

Pretre: Are repressors assault vehicles? If they are, I'm gonna need emergency pants.
n0t_u: No, but six can shoot out of it. Other than that it's a Rhino with a Heavy Flamer thrown on if I remember correctly.
Pretre: Thanks! I guess my pants are safe and clean after all.
 
   
Made in us
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets





Berkeley, CA

kaisshau wrote:
I think you're missing the most important information. The rulebook FAQ states:
"Q: Can Wounds caused by a character in a challenge only be
allocated to the opposing character in the challenge? (p64)
A: Yes."

So, even if the 1s are not ignored and he does hit friendly models, he cannot allocate any wounds other than to the opposing character.


And I think this answers the question.

However, some people might fall back on the old go-to, that codex trumps rulebook. Ultimately, the answer is a house rule until there is an FAQ.

Paul Cornelius
Thundering Jove 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:


Ok I read it, in no way does it say it's a seperate combat. It just places restrictions about placing wounds onto the challenger and challengee.
So Kharne still kills friendlies thanks


Edited by Mannanin

http://i.imgur.com/exheR.png
http://i.imgur.com/xfE6m.png

In bold, not hard to understand. Right after that, clearly states SIMPLY RESOLVE AS IF THE TWO CHARACTERS WERE NOT THERE.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2012/10/15 02:41:33


 
   
Made in ca
Thrall Wizard of Tzeentch




 Vindicare-Obsession wrote:
kaisshau wrote:
I think you're missing the most important information. The rulebook FAQ states:
"Q: Can Wounds caused by a character in a challenge only be
allocated to the opposing character in the challenge? (p64)
A: Yes."

So, even if the 1s are not ignored and he does hit friendly models, he cannot allocate any wounds other than to the opposing character.


Actually I think this one kills the argument for him killing friendlies while in a challenge. Its pretty black and white here. The question I want answered now is, since the 1's still hit but must hit the enemy in the challenge, does that mean that he always hits the enemy in the challenge? A bit of ing there but think about it.


Well, he can potentially hit friendly troops while in a challenge, which could result in wounds. Now, the question is, what do you do with those wounds? According to the FAQ, Kharn must allocate his wounds to the enemy in the challenge.
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






kenc wrote:
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:


Ok I read it, in no way does it say it's a seperate combat. It just places restrictions about placing wounds onto the challenger and challengee.
So Kharne still kills friendlies thanks


Edited

http://i.imgur.com/exheR.png
http://i.imgur.com/xfE6m.png

In bold, not hard to understand. Right after that, clearly states SIMPLY RESOLVE AS IF THE TWO CHARACTERS WERE NOT THERE. Hurr, you are beyond bad at this.

But that's not actually what the quote says...

"...only the challenger and challengee can strike blows against one another."

This is not the same as saying that they can only strike blows against one another. Subtle difference in placement of the word "only" completely changes the meaning of the sentence. Yay for the English language. As for the second part, it is clearly in the context of other models outside the challenge trying to allocate wounds to those that are in it.

But the FAQ quote given already closes this argument. Kharn's rolls of 1 can't be used to allocate wounds to friendly models.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/10/15 00:47:29


 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 Cheexsta wrote:
kenc wrote:
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:


Ok I read it, in no way does it say it's a seperate combat. It just places restrictions about placing wounds onto the challenger and challengee.
So Kharne still kills friendlies thanks


Edited

http://i.imgur.com/exheR.png
http://i.imgur.com/xfE6m.png

In bold, not hard to understand. Right after that, clearly states SIMPLY RESOLVE AS IF THE TWO CHARACTERS WERE NOT THERE. Hurr, you are beyond bad at this.

But that's not actually what the quote says...

"...only the challenger and challengee can strike blows against one another."

This is not the same as saying that they can only strike blows against one another. Subtle difference in placement of the word "only" completely changes the meaning of the sentence. Yay for the English language. As for the second part, it is clearly in the context of other models outside the challenge trying to allocate wounds to those that are in it.

But the FAQ quote given already closes this argument. Kharn's rolls of 1 can't be used to allocate wounds to friendly models.


thanks cheexsta, I hadnt seen the faq which does sum it up.

However to kenc, remember not to insult other posters and in the future posting rules helps a ton. Especially the faq which you hadnt done ...

1a. Don't say that someone is wrong, instead you explain why you think their opinion is wrong. Criticize the opinion, not the person.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/15 01:58:06


   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: