Switch Theme:

Multi Unit Challenges  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Alluring Mounted Daemonette






Can a unit who's character or IC is in a challenge attack models of a different unit in the combat if the character or IC is the only one in base contact with the other unit?

Example Diagram wraiths and d-lord are all one unit.
The wraiths are all in b2b with the trygon, the d-lord is b2b with trygon and termagaunts.
BRB page 28 says
Model in b2b or engaged with just one unit when it comes to strike must attack that unit.
A model that is in b2b or engaged with more than one enemy unit when it strikes blows can split its attacks freely between those units, declare how each model is splitting its attacks immediately before rolling to hit.

In my example, green wraiths are b2b with trygon but engaged (in 2 inches of dlord who is b2b) with termagaunts, yellow wraith is outside 2 inches.
since the dlord and trygon are in challenge does the green wraiths get to swing on the gaunts????????


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Sorry. it was a tervigon. the Character MC. got my giant bugs mixed up when making the diagram.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/15 03:36:29


 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

I don't think the wraith can do anything. Unless the pile in move can bring them into b2b with the guants then no attacks can be struck. Though since the MC is in b2b wiht the wraiths the destroyer lord may be able to strike first(I assume he's I2).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/15 03:40:37


It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Alluring Mounted Daemonette






We played it as they did not get to attack, but I dont believe they could make a pile in move to engage the gaunts as they were already b2b with a model

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/15 03:54:15


 
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

 liturgies of blood wrote:
I don't think the wraith can do anything. Unless the pile in move can bring them into b2b with the guants then no attacks can be struck. Though since the MC is in b2b wiht the wraiths the destroyer lord may be able to strike first(I assume he's I2).


The models involved in a challenge are considered to only be in Base to Base with each other. So the Trygon won't be subject to Whip Coils, and likewise the Wraiths aren't considered to be in B2B so can make pile in moves towards the gaunts (and vice versa.)
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






Somewhat related question: if two units, each with two characters, get into an assault, who challenges whom? This came up last night in a chaos on chaos battle. A Lord charged with his chosen into Abbaddon's squad of marines. Two ICs and two characters, should they have all challenged each other?
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 keltikhoa wrote:
We played it as they did not get to attack, but I dont believe they could make a pile in move to engage the gaunts as they were already b2b with a model

But they are not in base contact with a model, as the models in the challenge "are considered to be in base contact only with each other."

So the wraiths must make a pile in move towards the gaunts.
 SoloFalcon1138 wrote:
Somewhat related question: if two units, each with two characters, get into an assault, who challenges whom? This came up last night in a chaos on chaos battle. A Lord charged with his chosen into Abbaddon's squad of marines. Two ICs and two characters, should they have all challenged each other?

Only 1 challenge can be active in a combat.

The "active" player gets to declare a challenge, if none is offered then his opponent can issue a challenge.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/15 04:14:23


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal





Washington, USA

Chrysis wrote:

The models involved in a challenge are considered to only be in Base to Base with each other. So the Trygon won't be subject to Whip Coils...


From the FAQ
Page 44 – Canoptek Wraiths, Whip Coils.
Change the second paragraph to read “Any enemy model that is
in base contact with a Canoptek Wraith with whip coils at the
beginning of the Fight sub-phase counts their Initiative value as
1 until the end of the Assault phase, regardless of their actual
Initiative.”

If it is your turn, you get to choose the order of simultaneous events, yes? You could choose for the Challenge to happen after the coils. Wouldn't work on turn 2 as the challenge is already instated, but good for a single turn advantage.


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

The wording of the OP (to me anyway) implies that the challenge was already on-going.

If not then the owning player would choose the order (would have to be necrons in the picture as otherwise the tervigon made an illegal charge).

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Happyjew wrote:
The wording of the OP (to me anyway) implies that the challenge was already on-going.

If not then the owning player would choose the order (would have to be necrons in the picture as otherwise the tervigon made an illegal charge).


How do you figure?
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

 Kevin949 wrote:
Happyjew wrote:
The wording of the OP (to me anyway) implies that the challenge was already on-going.

If not then the owning player would choose the order (would have to be necrons in the picture as otherwise the tervigon made an illegal charge).


How do you figure?


Because if the trygon charged it would only be in btb with one model.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






 don_mondo wrote:
 Kevin949 wrote:
Happyjew wrote:
The wording of the OP (to me anyway) implies that the challenge was already on-going.

If not then the owning player would choose the order (would have to be necrons in the picture as otherwise the tervigon made an illegal charge).


How do you figure?


Because if the trygon charged it would only be in btb with one model.


I see nothing that limits you to only being in b2b with the one model for the initial charger, you just have to GET into b2b with the closest enemy model. Shortest distance, yes, but with oval bases when you pivot it makes a large sweep.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





BRB page 21 wrote:Move the initial charger into contact with the nearest enemy model in the unit being charged, using the shortest possible route.

Find permission to contact more than one model.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

 Kevin949 wrote:
 don_mondo wrote:
 Kevin949 wrote:
Happyjew wrote:
The wording of the OP (to me anyway) implies that the challenge was already on-going.

If not then the owning player would choose the order (would have to be necrons in the picture as otherwise the tervigon made an illegal charge).


How do you figure?


Because if the trygon charged it would only be in btb with one model.


I see nothing that limits you to only being in b2b with the one model for the initial charger, you just have to GET into b2b with the closest enemy model. Shortest distance, yes, but with oval bases when you pivot it makes a large sweep.


Well, as stated, the initial charger only has permission to contact one enemy model, the closest. With nothing that grants him any ability to contact additional models. So no 'pivot', no adjusting to hit additional models, etc.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





The wraiths should be able to attack the gaunts because they are within 2" of a model that is in btb with the enemy unit.

The wraiths themselves are "engaged" as defined by the brb and should be able to swing at the gaunts who are also "engaged."
While the challenge is going one neither side can interfere with that combat but you still have two units locked in CC.

Just my two cents.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Except as it stands the Gaunts are not in b2b contact with anyone due to the Lord being in a Challenge.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Happyjew wrote:
Except as it stands the Gaunts are not in b2b contact with anyone due to the Lord being in a Challenge.
but they are within 2" of their Trygon and thus engaged.

Look at pg 23 for an example of what I mean.

They do not have to be in btb with each other directly, they just have to be within 2" of a friendly model, i.e. Trygon for the Gaunts and DLord for the Wraiths, that is in BTB, which is met by the two fighting in the Challenge.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/15 20:09:39


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Happyjew wrote:
The wording of the OP (to me anyway) implies that the challenge was already on-going.

If not then the owning player would choose the order (would have to be necrons in the picture as otherwise the tervigon made an illegal charge).


I just realized that the challenge has to be ongoing. If the Tyranids charged then the Trygon (or Tervigon) made an illegal charge. If the Necrons charged then the Dlord made an illegal charge.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Alluring Mounted Daemonette






It was an ongoing, the dlord and wraiths charged the tervigon, in the folowing tyranid turn the gaunts assaulted into the d-lord.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
That being said... can the gaunts successfully assault by going b2b with a person that is in a challenge?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/16 15:18:31


 
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Peoria IL

 keltikhoa wrote:
It was an ongoing, the dlord and wraiths charged the tervigon, in the folowing tyranid turn the gaunts assaulted into the d-lord.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
That being said... can the gaunts successfully assault by going b2b with a person that is in a challenge?


No, as they cannot count as being b2b with that model (as per challenge rules). If that was as far as their charge could take them, it would be a failed charge, if they can go farther, they have to.

DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0

QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: