Hi all,
Apologies for posting a current rules question in this forum but for some reason I couldn't post a new topic "in you make da call". I guess because I'm a new member. Anyway....
My understanding of models that grant benefits to units is that those benefits are removed from the unit when the granter either leaves the unit or is removed as a casualty. A friend of mine seems to think that the unit retains the benefit because in the case of icons it was bought with the unit when the unit as a whole was purchased, similarly if a pain boy is removed as a casualty the nob unit still gets
FNP (I have the chaos codex but not the ork codex - he does and this is what he's angling for....

). So in effect he's saying the effect is granted on purchase and then can't be taken away. I've done a brief search on the web and I all can find is the old codex debate because it specifically states that the benefit is removed, and it's this specific wording that seems to be causing confusion as the new codex, I think, doesn't mention it. My personal opinion is that the unit always loses the benefit as this is logical and makes commen sense, but I can't find it anywhere in the
BRB, Codex or
FAQ's, and rules don't have to be logical or use common sense!
TIA