Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/15 20:36:05
Subject: Astropath and Officer of the Fleet question.
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
The codex says their +1 and - 1 to reserve rolls works as long as they are alive. A friend of mine said they faqed it to say that it only works when they are alive and on the table, but I can't find this anywhere in the errata/faq or the codex. Can anyone tell me where it says they have to be on the table?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/15 20:39:40
Subject: Astropath and Officer of the Fleet question.
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
There is no requirement for a model to be on the table in order for a special rule to be used if the rule states that while the model is alive.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/15 23:14:11
Subject: Astropath and Officer of the Fleet question.
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Is your friend querying the models being in reserves, or in a vehicle/building, or something else? I'm pretty sure I'm with happyjew, but knowing the context might help confirm.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/16 00:21:15
Subject: Re:Astropath and Officer of the Fleet question.
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
They were in reserves. Thanks for the input. I think they were thinking about where the errata/faq says you can not stack the +/- 1 with a second Astropath and Officer of the Fleet.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/16 01:14:52
Subject: Re:Astropath and Officer of the Fleet question.
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
WolvesForTheWolfGod wrote:They were in reserves. Thanks for the input. I think they were thinking about where the errata/ faq says you can not stack the +/- 1 with a second Astropath and Officer of the Fleet.
Im fairly certain it used to FAQ'd that they needed to be on the table. I used to play guard and remember the rule myself.
However it appears it no longer exists and as such no longer applies.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/16 08:47:21
Subject: Astropath and Officer of the Fleet question.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
That has not been in any FAQ i am aware of. The only FAQ that concerned them was stacking.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/16 12:35:52
Subject: Astropath and Officer of the Fleet question.
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Well, it was (is) in the INAT. Oldest I can find in my files is 4.0 and it says they count while in reserves. But the text is in red indicating new or changed ruling, so it may at one time have been called otherwise in the INAT. That's the only one I can think of.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/17 09:09:03
Subject: Astropath and Officer of the Fleet question.
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Well in my defense I did play IG 30 days prior to 5th almost into 6th. There were alot of faq's and some quick changes to those faqs in that long time span.
The only thing that matters now is that it's not in the faq. That he only has to be alive.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/17 10:05:43
Subject: Astropath and Officer of the Fleet question.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
That would be two different codexes then, when the astropath wasnt in the first 4th edition one.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/17 15:11:52
Subject: Astropath and Officer of the Fleet question.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I can't remember an official FAQ regarding them having to be on the board, rather than just alive. I think people are getting mixed up with the INAT FAQ.
|
Unnessesarily extravegant word of the week award goes to jcress410 for this:
jcress wrote:Seem super off topic to complain about epistemology on a thread about tactics. |
|
 |
 |
|