Switch Theme:

Tau forgeworld Remote Sensor Tower rules problem  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Monstrously Massive Big Mutant





Canada

Hey guys, I'm in a bit of awe at the rules for this particular "model" and was wondering if a Tau player could enlighten me on it's rules...

Currently I have a friend who plays Tau, and just bought a few of these Towers, specifically for his Broadsides. The rule with the sensory tower reads as follows ;

Multi-phasic Sensor Suite: Once per turn per Sensor Tower a unit within 6" of a Remote Sensor Tower may re-roll all failed to hit rolls in its owning player’s Shooting phase and gains the Night Vision/Acute Senses special rule.

He plans to place these next to his Broadsides. Where I have a problem is that he's saying he gets to, Roll to hit, roll Twin-Linked, and if those both fail to hit, then the tower kicks in, adding another hit chance, but because he has Twin-Linked on his Broadsides, he says he technically gets 4 chances to hit.... Essentially rolling 4 separate times if he uses the rules for the tower..

Is this true? I have a hard time believing it =/ It seems to me that the special rules for Twin-Linked are separate from your normal Roll to Hit as it incurs it's special rule only once. But he states that if he misses his normal hit + TL he would simply be able to shoot again and gain TL once more?...


Life: An incomprehensible, endless circle of involuntary self-destruction.

12,000
14,000
11,000

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




You only get to reroll any die roll once. So either tower or twinlinked, but not both. Pg 5
   
Made in se
Been Around the Block




You can only re-roll a dice once regardless of the source. Pg 5 in rulebook.
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

GoliothOnline wrote:
Hey guys, I'm in a bit of awe at the rules for this particular "model" and was wondering if a Tau player could enlighten me on it's rules...

Currently I have a friend who plays Tau, and just bought a few of these Towers, specifically for his Broadsides. The rule with the sensory tower reads as follows ;

Multi-phasic Sensor Suite: Once per turn per Sensor Tower a unit within 6" of a Remote Sensor Tower may re-roll all failed to hit rolls in its owning player’s Shooting phase and gains the Night Vision/Acute Senses special rule.

He plans to place these next to his Broadsides. Where I have a problem is that he's saying he gets to, Roll to hit, roll Twin-Linked, and if those both fail to hit, then the tower kicks in, adding another hit chance, but because he has Twin-Linked on his Broadsides, he says he technically gets 4 chances to hit.... Essentially rolling 4 separate times if he uses the rules for the tower..

Is this true? I have a hard time believing it =/ It seems to me that the special rules for Twin-Linked are separate from your normal Roll to Hit as it incurs it's special rule only once. But he states that if he misses his normal hit + TL he would simply be able to shoot again and gain TL once more?...



Yea no dice, you may never re-roll a re-roll

FW stuff isn't even codex so it has no shot 0/100 trying to overrule ^^

   
Made in gb
Junior Officer with Laspistol





Desperado Corp.

Fragile's got it right. Your friend gets precisely this:
1 shot per broadside (assuming he's using railguns). He may re roll that shot if it misses, as the railgun is twin-linked. Bear in mind, there are no sensor towers involved. Hewould definitely not get an extra to hit roll for being near a tower.

I believe the sensor towers come into play when multiple units are around a tower. It only gives one unit a re-roll per tower, so he'd have to pick out of, say firewarriors A and B if he only had one tower. If two or more towers were there, then it would be one per turn. However, I will admit that I could be wrong on this part.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/20 18:56:50


Pretre: OOOOHHHHH snap. That's like driving away from hitting a pedestrian.
Pacific:First person to Photoshop a GW store into the streets of Kabul wins the thread.
Selym: "Be true to thyself, play Chaos" - Jesus, Daemon Prince of Cegorach.
H.B.M.C: You can't lobotomise someone twice. 
   
Made in ca
Trustworthy Shas'vre




Basically the tower gives the unit Twin-Linked for a turn. If you already have Twin-Linked on the weapon in question, there is no extra benefit. Now it does mean his SMS can take advantage of it nicely.

Personally, as a Tau player I would position a nice big Firewarrior or Kroot gunline next to the towers. Alternatively Sniper Drone Teams, Pathfinders or maybe even a Hammerhead. An Ethereal's BS 4 Firewarriors could be fun too.

Oh one other thing to watch for with the towers is that they can only be chosen once per FOC as a squadron of up to 3. This means if he is fielding multiple towers he'll need to keep them within 4 inches of each other.

Tau and Space Wolves since 5th Edition. 
   
Made in pe
Human Auxiliary to the Empire




Lima, Peru

As everyone has said, you can only get one re-roll on any dice ever.

Oddly enough, the best thing to twin-link with Sensor Towers might be a tetra team. (I mean.. you're doing FW already). Three tetras with two Target Locks get you 12 rerollable BS4 Markerlights that can be used to paint three different targets with the output of a single tower.

As to deployment, I love the Sensor Towers, but there's something funky about deploying them in squadrons... since they're immobilized vehicles.. and immobilized vehicles in squadrons get abandoned/destroyed as per the rules. We've house-ruled it in my local FLGS to make them work as independent vehicles (believing that's what was intended during design), but that's just us.

   
Made in gb
Junior Officer with Laspistol





Desperado Corp.

In 6th Immobilised vehicles count as a separate squadron. They were only abandoned in 5th.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/21 09:53:18


Pretre: OOOOHHHHH snap. That's like driving away from hitting a pedestrian.
Pacific:First person to Photoshop a GW store into the streets of Kabul wins the thread.
Selym: "Be true to thyself, play Chaos" - Jesus, Daemon Prince of Cegorach.
H.B.M.C: You can't lobotomise someone twice. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: