Switch Theme:

Engaged models in close combat  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan






Minnesota, land of 10,000 Lakes and 10,000,000,000 Mosquitos

Situation: one big unit (a squad of Ork boyz) is locked in combat with two separate units (two separate squads of Assault Marines). The Nob is currently fighting squad 1.

Now, when the Assault Marines roll their attacks, squad 2's sergeant rolls a 6 to hit, thus making it a precision strike. Is he allowed to then allocate that wound against the Ork Nob, who is ONLY engaged with squad 1?

Logic says that no, he can't, but unless I'm missing something (or misreading it, that might be the case), so long as a model is engaged, period, anything with precision can strike against him. Could someone point me in the right direction here?

My Armies:
Kal'reia Sept Tau - Farsight Sympathizers
Da Great Looted Waaagh!
The Court of the Wolf Lords

The Dakka Code:
DT:90-S+++G+++MB-IPw40k10#++D++A+++/sWD-R++T(Ot)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Pg 63, under precision strikes, must be engaged.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/23 22:47:56


 
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran





I think the relevant rules are p63, Precision Strike, and p23 that defines who is engaged. The PS can only be against an engaged opponent, so you need to work out if the nob is engaged with the sgt's unit (within 2" of a model in b2b contact with a model from the sgt's unit). From what you've described, it sounds like it wasn't.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




With precision strikes he can allocate to any legal target. To be a legal target, the enemy must be Engaged with the unit the Character is attacking from.

So, by your example, the Nob is engaged with Squad 1. Is the Nob also Engaged with the Squad 2?(that has the sergeant that was attacking). From your example, that would be no.

The Multi assault muddies the waters a bit regarding actual RAW, because the Nob is "engaged", but he is not "engaged" with the attacking unit, so I would say its not legal.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: