Switch Theme:

Dedicated transport glitch  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Been Around the Block




Following the RAW, it looks like I can disembark a unit off of its dedicated transport on the 1st turn and embark a different unit the same turn and move normally with that transport.

Anyone can refute that?

Sorry for my writing, I'm french and trying the best I can. 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

How is this a glitch?

It states you move as normal on both counts.
So working as intended


It's not like you're trying to move unit A from Rhino1 into Rhino2 or anything. Which for what it's worth you cannot do in the same turn.

   
Made in gb
Daemonic Dreadnought





Derby, UK.

So as an example....you are lookign at bringin a sqaud of terminators out of their Land raide rin turn one (so right after deployment), then moving a sqaud fo berzerkers INTO the Land raider, then moving off in the Land Raider.

Sounds viable to me and a handy way of saving a HS slot if you want your 'zerkers in an assault vehicle.

Armies:

(Iron Warriors) .......Gallery: Iron Warriors Gallery
.......Gallery: Necron Gallery - Army Sold
.......Gallery: Crimson Fists Gallery - Army Sold

Iron Warriors (8000 points-ish)

 
   
Made in us
Sergeant First Class





You've been able to do this... since 5th edition?

This is an intended mechanic, not a glitch.
   
Made in us
Huge Hierodule





Louisiana

Yea it's the 40k equivalent to a 'Chinese fire drill'

Been out of the game for awhile, trying to find time to get back into it. 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





So its ok to have a IC next to a DT (with troops inside) on turn 1 and move the IC into the transport (before it has moved) and then move the DT as normal?,

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in fi
Regular Dakkanaut




MarkyMark wrote:
So its ok to have a IC next to a DT (with troops inside) on turn 1 and move the IC into the transport (before it has moved) and then move the DT as normal?,


Yes, but you can start the game with the IC already inside the transport.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Thanks for that!

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

LOL chinese fire drill.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

But why wouldn't you just start the Terminators outside the Land Raider so they could get a head start on walking to where they need to go?

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in ca
Been Around the Block




Because you want to use the Land Raider as a dedicated transport for your terminators, just to save a HS slot

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/25 05:21:28


Sorry for my writing, I'm french and trying the best I can. 
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






A unit does not need to begin the game on their dedicated transport.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

You can even deploy the transport, and reserve the terminators to Deep Strike. Or deploy a squad and reserve their transport (as I sometimes do when going second to reduce the chances of my opponent getting First Blood).

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in ca
Been Around the Block




Waw, that's right! I didn't even realized that.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
That brings another question.

May I take a dedicated Land Raider for my terminator unit even if my unit has more than 5 termi and start the game with an empty LR? The entry for their dedicated transport is as followed : «The unit may take a Chaos Land Raider as Dedicated Transport». It doesn't specify you can only take it if the unit is 5 models or less.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/25 06:55:14


Sorry for my writing, I'm french and trying the best I can. 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Citabogue wrote:
Waw, that's right! I didn't even realized that.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
That brings another question.

May I take a dedicated Land Raider for my terminator unit even if my unit has more than 5 termi and start the game with an empty LR? The entry for their dedicated transport is as followed : «The unit may take a Chaos Land Raider as Dedicated Transport». It doesn't specify you can only take it if the unit is 5 models or less.


than yes, you may

   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran





The only thing to be careful of, if you are dealing with big units getting on and off, is that you leave a "hole" for the disembarking unit to use. This isn't a problem with vehicles with multiple access points, but if your boarding unit is clustered around the only access point, there might not be room to disembark the current passenger. Easy to avoid, but something to keep in mind.
   
Made in ca
Been Around the Block




Snapshot wrote:
The only thing to be careful of, if you are dealing with big units getting on and off, is that you leave a "hole" for the disembarking unit to use. This isn't a problem with vehicles with multiple access points, but if your boarding unit is clustered around the only access point, there might not be room to disembark the current passenger. Easy to avoid, but something to keep in mind.


That's a good point especially for the LR having only 1 access point

Sorry for my writing, I'm french and trying the best I can. 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Citabogue wrote:
Snapshot wrote:
The only thing to be careful of, if you are dealing with big units getting on and off, is that you leave a "hole" for the disembarking unit to use. This isn't a problem with vehicles with multiple access points, but if your boarding unit is clustered around the only access point, there might not be room to disembark the current passenger. Easy to avoid, but something to keep in mind.


That's a good point especially for the LR having only 1 access point


Odd that Chaos have so many than
"Chaos Land Raiders have one Access Point on
each side and one at the front." pg 55 C:CSM


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Hmm odd, Grey Knights have that many as well.

Guess you're just mistaken

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/25 20:13:23


   
Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




LRs have 3 access points.
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Its more of a deal for Chimeras, they only have 1 access point IIRC>

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran





Yes, chimeras have only one. As you only have to have each model barely within 2" of the AP to board, it still gives a fair bit of scope, but if you're trying to do a switcheroo with 10-12 man units, things might be tight.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: